Henna Stories - My Memoirs

in #henna6 years ago

2B5228D0-447D-4682-999C-E1FDBB954F0A.jpeg

Hey Friends! I love to hear stories as I henna clients. Sometimes I can share empathy when tales of sorrow or heartache are being shared. Sometimes I can belly-laugh when a comedy is being shared. I have heard countless stories as I ‘work’ and some in particular stick in my mind.

There are many many many reasons that people have for wanting henna. Sometimes it’s to cover the scars of self-harm, sometimes it’s to treat oneself, sometimes it’s a personal reminder to stay strong, sometimes it’s to celebrate an upcoming wedding.

Last year, I was adorning the hand of a lady with a gorgeous delicate design, almost like a beaded chain of jewelry. As I henna’d her, she told me that she would would be visiting her partner that week, in prison. She went on to say that she was not allowed to wear any jewelry during the visits in prison and that she was having henna on her hand to wear instead.

My heart deeply warmed to this lady. I have no idea of why her partner was in prison or what their back-stories were. But here she was, driving hours each week to visit him, and shyly being adorned to feel feminine and pretty without her usual jewelry.

Whatever their stories, I wish them both well, and they have left an imprint in my heart.

This photo is not related to this memoir...it was taken yesterday at a different event

I’ll share more stories along the way...

Until then, Peace Out✌️🐝🌞
Jessi

Sort:  

I think at the last meet up, I discussed how that while henna doesn't interest me personally as a hobby, it has value in that it can give people something to do and share. Here you've shown that the activity itself can facilitate someone opening up about their lives, getting stuff off of their chest, or revealing how henna is valuable to them.

Real clever and creative way to dodge that limitation. I'm sure he appreciated the extra effort she went to.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85