My Apothecary - Cedar

in #herbal6 years ago (edited)

I have decided that Mondays I will be sharing My Apothecary.
I have been foraging for plants for many years, and I have decided to share what I have been collecting.
This is also helping me get everything catalogued and organized. Seems like a win win for everyone!

Please know that I do not sell my remedies, and I am not a doctor. My advice is to research everything. We should always be mindful in what we do to heal our vessels, our body. Many of these remedies are good for the spirit to. We are all spiritual beings, the plants are just and connected to mother earth as we are. Even more so.

It is very important to honour all beings, with respect and love. There have been times that I have gone to pick medicines, and I have heard NO. I offer the tobacco and give thanks for the wisdom.

Everyone has the knowledge to their own path of well being.


source

Benefits of Cedar:

anti fungal
expectorant
improves focus and wisdom
promotes hair growth
anti-inflammatory
toothaches/strengthens gums
natural bug repellant
reduces skin irritations
relieves spasms
diuretic
cold sores

do not use when pregnant

I remember my first smell of cedar. My mom's old cedar hope chest. That she kept for years. I would often just open it for the smell.
My first true interaction with cedar was at a sweatlodge many years ago. Cedar was placed on the floor by the women. Oh the medicine!
I have used cedar for many things over the years. When the air feels stale, I put cedar on the woodstove to boil. It clears the energy, welcomes and shifts positive energy.
I have cedar in my smudge medicines, but it needs to be ground into a powder, as it won't smoke, it just crackles.
When I am feeling a cold coming on, I actually crave cedar tea. Be mindful, as it is a VERY powerful medicine. Start with a weaker tea, and no more than a cup a day. Cedar is very high in vitamin C, it was once referred to a scurvy tea.
I also bath in it. One branch in a tub of water, will do wonders!

I have also used homeopathic remedy Thuja occidentalis for cold sores, skin tags and warts.

I have had to transplant cedar to this property. It grows in the bush up here. It is such an important medicine, that I like to have it close by!

20180501_123953.jpg

I have used fresh, dried, and tea.

Dried
I pick the plants around 10 am. After the dew and moisture are off the plants. I hang them upside down in small bunches to dry in a warm area out of the sun. You could also use a dehydrator.

Tea
Using fresh or dried flowers/stems/leaves, lightly crush and add to boiled water. Let steep for desired time. Teas are good for internally. I also use strong teas for baths, compresses, and washes.

Sort:  

Morning my fellow healing mama! I have cedar here...this tree has always been more of a teacher to me... Come sit upon my lap and dream... I am curious to incorporate it into more of my world. I have a list of questions...this week I hope to make the time to find the answers.

I have one in fruit right now...
KIMG3863-01.jpeg

Happy plant working this week! Hugs

OHHHHHHHH how I cant wait to do that!!! Sit with Cedar! How beautiful!! (you can put those berries in a light syrup, and use as cold/cough/sore throat remedies!!!) I miss the berries.
There is such a feel of the teacher in cedar. A calm opening for questions to be answered. xoxox
huge love sister!

CONGRATULATIONS!!
Your post is featured in my Preppers' Curation Day- Weekly Edition 11 POST!!

Thank you so much @goldendawne !! I have resteemed and upvoted! I support all the hard work that you do!

Congratulations @earthmother! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Beautiful! ❤️🐾

Thank you so much for stopping by, the upvote and the resteem!! :) Love connecting with like hearts!

I love reading your apothecary posts.
Cedar here is a bit harder to find (unless it has been planted in someone's yard), but if I drive about 2 hours south I will start seeing them along the highway. I plan on planting a few in the yard here, probably next year though.
Thanks for sharing :)

they are such a great Medicine and easy to grow! :) Thanks so much for dropping by! means alot to me! how are things going at your place? getting anything close to ready to be in the ground? xoxo

Did some garden work yesterday(border) but I don't have anything in yet, it rained/snowed a bit last night. I have asked a few people around here that garden and they say that they plant seeds long weekend and any plants a week later, so this weekend I will get some seeds planted. :)

That sounds like a great plan!! I try to work for that too. I have my seed that i started indoors out in the sun during the day. It's getting exciting! :) Looking forward to the pictures!

Thank you again for sharing more medicines. Something I wish I knew about when I was pregnant. All those leg spasms... They hurt! And lasted so long too.
It is wonderous with all that we are given and offered from mother earth. It amazes me.

:) We will make sure that you get your apothecary filled up!! This is also good for kids with growing pains :)
Big pharma has been using the derivatives of these medicines for years. Isolating the medicinal factor and mass producing it in a labratory.

I never knew that about the plant ❤ thanks for the info. My grandmother use to have a hedge of it in the yard and i just always loved the smell . Pain in the butt to always trim but i sure miss it.

Isn't it the best smell ever????!!! LOL Mine were always filled with mosquitoes! :) How awesome to have memories of your gramma and her place! xoxo

Yes they did smell so good. And ill never forget my memories of her and the house 💜. I was trying to buy the house up unit Jan of this year but because my income changed and i had to move i lost my chance. 😞 but i had what ever i could afford shipped to me last week from the house before the sale so im a little more at ease. 💜

I am glad you were able to get those things shipped. I can imagine it was costly. Huge love my sister!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 65012.58
ETH 3101.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86