My Apothecary - Horsetail

in #herbal6 years ago (edited)

I have decided that Mondays I will be sharing My Apothecary.
I have been foraging for plants for many years, and I have decided to share what I have been collecting.
This is also helping me get everything catalogued and organized. Seems like a win win for everyone!

Please know that I do not sell my remedies, and I am not a doctor. My advice is to research everything. We should always be mindful in what we do to heal our vessels, our body. Many of these remedies are good for the spirit to. We are all spiritual beings, the plants are just and connected to mother earth as we are. Even more so.

It is very important to honour all beings, with respect and love. There have been times that I have gone to pick medicines, and I have heard NO. I offer the tobacco and give thanks for the wisdom.

Everyone has the knowledge to their own path of well being.


source

Benefits of Horsetail:

Hair Care
Skin Care
Increases Cognition
Boosts Immunity
Kidney Health
Prevents Cancer
Inflammation Relief
Strengthens Bones
Respiratory Issues

This was one of my favourite plants as a kid! I used to go down to the ditchbanks, and pull the straws apart. I loved the taste of it. Very grass like. I still add it to my salads today.
I just read another article today about horsetail being good for removing aluminum from the body. Hmmmmmm CHEMTRAILS? That is why it is good for Increasing cognition and decreasing dementia.

I have used this plant for years, as a strong tea for a hair rinse. It is gentle, but strong. Because it is such a rich source of silica, it is good for nails, and bones. I often soak my feet in a horsetail bath. :) I would be mindful using it daily for long periods of time.
I dry alot of horsetail, and add to my greens jar. It has such a neutral taste that most people just assume it is another herb out of my garden. When my kids use to ask what it was, it was always 'italian parsely'! Anything that I added that was foraged was called that! ;)
I also dry it and add it to my animal feed in the winter. I figure what is good enough for me. Is good enough for them! They seem to be grateful! :)

20180501_124217.jpg

I have used fresh, dried, and tea.

Dried
I pick the plants around 10 am. After the dew and moisture are off the plants. I hang them upside down in small bunches to dry in a warm area out of the sun. You could also use a dehydrator.

Tea
Using fresh or dried flowers/stems/leaves, lightly crush and add to boiled water. Let steep for desired time. Teas are good for internally. I also use strong teas for baths, compresses, and washes.


Sort:  

I need to get myself some of this. I need to get myself everything you have been sharing!
I have been mean to my hair, dying it so many times. This would be a great thing to use and my hair will be thankful :p

I am working on it!!! lol This summer will be alot of fun!!! Gather your jars to keep it all in!

I always look forward to your apothecary posts every week.

The horse tail.. I'm wondering where it's indigenous to; I'll have to look it up in my midwest herb and plant book.

Kind of curious about the tea being used for hair care. I'll have to see if it's good for dry hair- in the winter my hair gets REALLY dried out due to no natural humidity in the air.

Horsetail tea is a natural conditioner and can be used regularly as a rinse after shampoo to make hair soft and shiny! its great for dry hair!
I suspect that you have it where you are! It grows close to water, likes its roots wet! there are many different varietie, but i suspect that the medicines are pretty similar for this plant! :)
I am so glad that you like the posts. I love doing them!! :)

Oh that is exactly what I am looking for!! Soft and shiny- healthier looking hair!

We have a small creek that runs along the edge of our property in the back. I'm betting along there I'll find some. Maybe one morning this week I'll take a stroll down there. Thanks!!

looking forward to seeing how you make out!!!

I didn't know it could be used as a conditioner! I've been looking for alternative hair products, I'll have to give it a try! Great article!

It makes my hair naturally soft...not greasy soft. If that makes any sense? LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85