Where is going Steemit popularity?

in #hf205 years ago

Alexa.png

Dear Steem-bountiers

today i just watched the Steemit popularity in Alexa rating site and you can see what is going on.
Here is the link where i got it: https://www.alexa.com/siteinfo/steemit.com

These days are really full of fighting after HF20 between who is getting benefit after this change (all users over 200SP) and who is getting trouble (pour users...).
Anyway the numbers are the main thing, now Steemit popularity is going down and down, why?

I try to interact with many people as it was possible with my RC and i ask them what about my possible solution about this RC trouble.

In my opinion if there is a reputation in Steemit should be used for something and i think this is the time to use it for recharge RC as another component with SP.
I do not mean reputation of UA-Steem, but i means which start from 25 when you get subscription.

So this is my question to all my Steem-bounty friends:

DO YOU THINK THAT RC COULD BE CALCULATED WITH SP AND REPUTATION?

I would like to say thank you to @bigdeej and @stellabelle for their support to us as super users, they keep up the soul of Steemit!

Sort:  

RC SHOULD BE CALCULATED WITH ....REPUTATION?

Pardon me, sir, but this is a very very silly idea.
REP has been so much discredited.
Or maybe you have never heard of H A E J I N ???

@intellihandling has set 2.000 SBD bounty on this post!
logo_for-light-bg_1000.png

Bounties are a new way you can earn rewards irrespective of you Steem Power. Go here to learn how bounties work.

Earn the bounty by commenting what you think the bounty creator wants to know from you.

Find more bounties here and become a bounty hunter.

Happy Rewards Hunting!

Congratulations to the following winner(s) of the bounty!

upvote from @betgames . Visit us to get more upvotes and SBD. You will get upvotes until we recover your bets

regards,
@betgames

Having reputation is a component of RC isn't a bad idea but it then opens up a space for abuse because if im a large account I could just make alt accounts make a simple post, upvote it and drive my rep up and now have access to additional RC. We saw this with the whole byteball saga and we all know rep is a flawed system that why UA is being punted the way it is.

So perhaps it can be factored in but it should not have a large influence over the RC allocation

Dear @chekohler, thank you for your comment, i know there could be some liers but in front of a big problem we need to find the solution. Regarding UA i do not understand how it is working, the only thing i know is that i got more reputation in 2 week of power delegation to them than 9 months of daily use if Steemit, thats is free service or is a biz?

Well reputation doesn't mean much at the moment its more of a vanity metric than anything else. Like you could be a 60 by luck or you could be a 60+ because you worked hard or you bought upvotes, there is no way to differentiate between how you got there. Steem-UA is more an activity based model and looks at how you contribute to steem regularly and rewards you for it, its not really an alternative but a way to reward users and measure engagement between other active users

Well look at this:
image.png
This is my Smartsteem account and you can see there is my User Authority position since i started to give them 25SP and 25SP to Steem-UA 3 weeks ago.
Now my situation is:
image.png
So in 3 weeks i deserved almost what i got in 9 months?
I am not so sure...

The question would be:
Where is smartsteem pulling their data for the UA Score?
Is it being updated? If so, how often?

I would use the direct site from steem-ua to determine UA score. I have smartsteem on my personal account, and my ranking on the smartsteem site shows as 1 something. When steem-ua stopped by my post, my ranking showed as being around 3 something.

Going directly to the source with steem-ua is best, imo.

Dear @beeyou, i see it too, look at it:
image.png
But my real UA score is:
image.png
I think Smartsteem do not upgrade UA

exacly. that would open space for abuse

you're very right @chekohler

thx for great post @intellihandling. I hope you're not frustrated with HF20 so much anymore

yours,
Piotr

Plain and simple: Many people just see the potential money the can earn here on Steemit and with the plummeting of STEEM, SBD and basically every Cryptocurrency these days those people are not really interested to post anymore (maybe this is good since those who are left are here for some other reason and the so called "shitposts" are declining.

Will end this with a phrase I often read here in the past and it is so true: "Come for the money, stay for the community"!!!

The reputation system is not perfect because it can be gamed by buying upvotes, but it is better than nothing.

I think the Steem-ua system is much better but it requires more testing

Posted using Partiko Android

The reputation system....is better than nothing.

Better then nothing? I DON'T THINK SO.

Not at all.

Reputaion is meaningless. Just look who is at the TOP. That donkey !

Ant there is maybe 5-7 more in the TOP20, to whom I would never give a "reputable" tag
REP these days is nothing more than "how much one invests"

@intellihandling have you any profit to delegate 25SP to Steem-UA? i am also in smartsteem but i want to know if there is any profit.

I think smartsteem is giving good profit, look at this:
image.png

I understood.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hmmm does anybody have numbers for the RC cost of a vote, comment etc? I know that maaany ppl had big problems directly after the hf, me included, because the costs were very high and 2 days after the hf I could only do 2 votes and then I couldn't do shit.
But they multiplied the RC by 10 and atm I can't use up my RC.

So has anybody numbers so that we can have a look at how much a new user can interact here before he gets to take a pause?

I know that the spam bots had to stop with their "resteem service" spam and that's good. But do new people have enough RC to do 10 votes and some comments/posts per day?

Posted using Partiko Android

You can check your conditions here:
https://steemd.com/@dera123
We are trying to ask to fix this trouble and it seems something is moving...:)))

Hmm I just took a look at the acc of an inactive friend of mine who has 1.6SP atm and he can do 2 comments or 12 votes with his RC. So a new acc has roughly 10 times that: 20 comments/120 votes until it's depleted.
Does it regenerate 20% per day? Because then a new person can only do 4 comments per day or 24 votes or something in between.

Posted using Partiko Android

I think the popularity of steemit is getting a downtrends as the prices of the coins is in decay. But the prices will go up again and the popularity will grow in short time.

DO YOU THINK THAT RC COULD BE CALCULATED WITH SP AND REPUTATION?

If you say COULD, my answer is yes

If you say SHOULD, my answer is no.

Here's how I see it. An increase in rep score comes from upvotes. And unless you're declining rewards, each upvote should give you some SP.

So those with high (organic) rep score should have acquired a bit of SP (if they don't power down).

On the other hand, if you decide to calculate RC based on rep score, then you could whitewashing on your hand. Spammer would simply use bid bots, power down their SP and use the liquid Steem for bid bots, again and again until it spirals out of control.

What I would suggest us that each new user has enough RC to make at least 5 posts and 100 comments daily.

That's my uniformed opinion though.

I'm not a tech guy

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89