EIP: Will convergent lineair reward curve + dust level treshold kill social interaction for bottom-halve minnows?steemCreated with Sketch.

in #hf215 years ago (edited)

I currently have two main STEEM accounts, both holding about 2000 SP worth of voting power. I like up voting people who comment on my post in order to show how much I appreciate feedback on my post, and I often let my voting strength go down to just above the 2 ct threshold, but then I usually stop up voting comments because if I remember correctly, anything below $0.02 is deemed dust and is never paid out.

Looking at the EIP curve that is to be part of HF21, the proposed curve has a shape defined by:

  • n * (n+c)/(n+2c)

This means, while for large n, (n+c)/(n+2c) will be approximately n/n = 1, but for smaller n, (n+c)/(n+2c) should approximate c/2c = 0.5

Now, if dust level remains at $0.02, the reward curve for a single social interaction vote for lower-half minnows might shift from something close to the orange line, to something closer to the blue line.

If this assessment is correct, and I want to keep giving meaningful up votes to comments on my post, even if STEEM drops further, it seems I might need to consolidate my two accounts back into one. Something I would prefer not to do because I feel having a mostly technical and a mostly creative account on this platform makes sense. I've been trying voting for comments from both my accounts for a bit, but is cumbersome, so I'll have to give it a long and careful thought before I choose to give up one of my accounts.

But then, at least I have the choice to turn two bottom-half minnow sized accounts into a single top-half minnow account. Many others don't. So while it is a bit of a pain for me, having to make a choice I don't wish to make, for others, the combination of the EIP convergent linear reward with the dust level threshold I believe might be a huge blow to social interaction.

It could be that I am wrong about the dust level threshold and that this is something from the past. But if it isn't , I really hope Steemit Inc will see it fit for HF21 to reduce dust level to half its current level as to keep social interaction for all minnows alive.

Sort:  

I think part of the idea is to incentivize the centralization of stake into fewer accounts and incentivize the purchase of more stake with the new curve. I thought they got rid of dust voting threshold in the last hardfork, but I might be wrong. I still think there is a bottom arbitrary limit (something like 0.001 Steem) but I could be wrong. The economics are hard to keep track of considering all the ideas that have been tossed around the last couple of years.

The proposal isn't for small accounts.
So much for mass adoption.
But you already knew that.
I'm excited for the increased curation that will be happening ;)
I hope this is the last time I comment on this topic.
Minds are already made up. No need for me to get upset about it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70638.80
ETH 3565.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73