:: Song Of The Day :: "Stop Trying To Be God" by Travis Scott

in #hiphop6 years ago (edited)

Yo, I'm back with another song review! So today, I wanted to share the new visual to Travis Scott's latest single "Stop Trying To Be God" from his new album Astro World Travis Scott drafted an all-star line up on this one featuring legendary Stevie Wonder, Kid Cudi, and UK singer James Blake who ends the song melodically asking a pair of thought-provoking questions.

This song and video has been the topic of a lot of controversy to say least. Why? Well, because we all know that when people hold certain beliefs, they cling to and defend them with great passion. In the song, we can hear that his lyrics are discouraging trying to be God or having a grandiose or superior sense of self. In his visual, he actually depicts himself as the person who is trying to be God--and because of it, you can see in numerous scenes that he is chastised for it.

Some people think that him deciding to play God in the video, as well as other scenes are a sign that he is blatantly attempting to disrespect God and have gone as far as to call the video blasphemy. Then, there are others who simply feel like the video is more of a representation of who he may have been before. His attempt to show that due to some of his own decisions and attitudes, he paid the price and was punished for it.

What do I think? I actually don't know what to think. What I will say is that I think it's very interesting how he chose to visually represent the song. Very. What do y'all think? Tell me about it in the comments section!

Thanks for taking the the time to check out this post! If you enjoyed what you read, be sure to update, resteem and follow me @talea.monet

:: Song Of The Day :: "Sweet You" by Phonte

My newbie coding journey...Monday is the big day!

My newbie coding journey...organizing my first tech event--PyLadies SF Parent/Child Code Night was a success!

My newbie coding journey...apprenticeship has finally come to an end."

NEW MUSIC: Check out "Die Alone" by Ms. Incredible

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27