Old dog (1915) with new tricks

in #history6 years ago

Blast from the Past

When I was younger, the local supermarket would have photographs of the town from back the 1950's as the wallpaper decor and I would lose my mind just gazing at them, wondering what life was like back in that era. So, when I see photographs from such a long time ago, I think it's so special to capture them and afterwards I find myself studying the people's facial expressions, clothing and surroundings, trying to see the world through their eyes. There are photographs of old, dotted all around the world, often used to remind people of what a place was like many years before, so I'll try and capture as many as I see on my travels. I have started with my favourite, which is a photo of what looks like a German Shepherd, and as much as I like seeing people in these old photos, I love seeing the animals from all those years ago, so heartwarming.

I have left all the photographs as large as possible for you to appreciate them and they are from an exhibition located around certain farms in Friesland, The Netherlands.

1915

1925

History Pic 18.JPG

1925

History Pic 1.JPG

1925

History Pic 2.JPG

1925

History Pic 3.JPG

1925

History Pic 4.JPG

1925

History Pic 5.JPG

1925

History Pic 8.JPG

1925

History Pic 9.JPG

1925

History Pic 10.JPG

1.png

Look at their faces

1925

History Pic 11.JPG

1925

History Pic 12.JPG

1925

History Pic 14.JPG

1925

History Pic 15.JPG

1925

History Pic 16.JPG

1925

History Pic 17.JPG

1925

History Pic 18.JPG

1925

History Pic 19.JPG

As you can see, times have really changed and I wonder what this lot would have thought of Steemit and crypto at their time of living? Remember, there were no televisions, Internet, mobile phones, nothing that we all take for granted today, those were the horse & cart days.

Thanks for stepping back in time by viewing this post.


Logo.jpeg

Sort:  

That was a great idea that the supermarket had. I really enjoyed looking at these old photos and of course, my favorite was the German Shepard. I do the same thing as you @flatrider, looking at the clothes people wore back then, etc. A blast from the past. I bet if you told them what the future would hold, they would have said you were crazy. : )

Thanks @whatisnew and it's a super idea when businesses do that for their shops and observing is what I love to do, so I love looking back in time with those golden oldies. I would have definitely been "horse & carted" off to the "Funny Farm" for sure @whatisnew! ;-D

HaHa! I love your last sentence. Thanks for the laugh! : )

What a great post with old photos and full of style and cultural change. I love to see old pictures!

Me too dude, glad you liked them. ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77