The Odd One Out

in #history5 years ago (edited)


Regency House Goes For A Different Look


As you will no doubt have noticed, from my previous posts, the Regency architecture around Brighton and Hove tends to be fairly uniform in it's construction.

However, every now and again you come across a house such as this one that has a curved rather than flat facade. Is this just a preference the architect has or does it have some other significance?

I carried out some research but was unable to find out and now I'm wondering whether this is actually a Regency house.

It's amazing how posting here on Steemit has shown me how ignorant I am about certain things and the many assumptions I make. 😁

I have some neighbours who are architects so, next time I see them, I will ask their opinion. In the meantime enjoy this example of a "Regency" curved facade house. 😊


to post regency house.jpg

Be sure to click on the image to view it full screen!

Sort:  

Seems to me a curved facade — especially in a place like Brighton where you have eater views — may simply be a choice made to "show more coast" to a potential homeowner. Maybe that's also what the original builder had in mind... given the age of the house, I imagine it was built specifically for someone.

Could be @denmarkguy but I wonder why others didn't do the same. 😁

I'm not sure if it was built specifically. Most of the research I've done says that the buildings were built by developers in whole terraces or crescents etc. This one might well be different though.

Are those your books on the steps @gillianpearce? 😊
Maybe some clues in the Land Registry?

Not my books @shanibeer. I never even noticed them until you said. 😁

Thank you gillianpearce! You've just received an upvote of 65% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Hi @gillianpearce!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.258 which ranks you at #2748 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 195 contributions, your post is ranked at #83.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70455.47
ETH 3561.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71