Beating Out Plymouth Rock: Florida was First, and our Peaceful Place

in #history6 years ago

We stood at the metal gates and listened to the sound of a woman screaming “Help!” It didn’t sound exactly like a woman—more like if a cat could shrilly meow “Help!” The peacocks were feisty this morning.

rsz_img_20180602_140545.jpg

We entered the grounds of our peaceful place. Calling it hallowed ground might be more accurate, but often hallowed goes along with peaceful, so I suppose the words agree. By daylight it is peaceful; by dark it is spooky. Small paved paths twist and intertwine, leading around the grounds of the first thanksgiving in North America.

Last fall when I was researching some Thanksgiving materials to do for my son’s homeschooling, I stumbled across the fact that the first thanksgiving took place half a century before that iconic American story of Plymouth Rock. And it happened right here on the coast of Florida. It must be a downer for the folks up north to find the true first thanksgiving involves Spanish soldiers and salted pork with garbanzo beans.

Our peaceful place is the location of the first thanksgiving in addition to the first mass, and therefore is a religious site. I am not a particularly religious person, but I don’t dislike the fervor that other people experience. As a child I went to a Catholic church, where I did learn to love the peaceful sense of power that emanates from such places. This is a place that feels sacred.

rsz_img_20180602_140510.jpg

We passed the old shrines made of coquina blocks. Long, tall sable palms stretched for the sky, scattered here and there with old cedars. Those cedars looked like war heroes, limping along in bandages of orange tape and lost limbs. The tiny paths cross each other, wrapping around ancient gravestones. This is yet another place that strongly reminds me of Europe, with a Floridian flair. We stopped to look at some of the stones, so worn by weather that the engraved letters are difficult to read.

“This one is a man that died before your great grandfather was born,” I said to my four-year-old son. “And this one was a boy that died at only age seventeen.” We bent down on the cement, leaning over the sod to look at the white stones too close to the path. We might have been standing above old bones. “Life is tricky. Sometimes it is short. Nobody knows how long they will live.”

This was a discussion I’ve never had with my son, and not one I really want to burden him with at such a young age. But the theme is everywhere. I have been blessed to experience very little loss, and only in the last couple of years. I made it almost to age thirty before I experienced the first loss that sunk in as a reality—a person was gone forever. I hope that my children can live in that blissful ignorance of knowing but not really knowing for as long as they can. Once you’ve experienced it, there is always a small part of sadness at the loss that lasts forever, even though acceptance comes.

The toddler was dancing around, desperate to run off the paths and parade around the gravestones, so we moved on. It was a welcome disruption, although I spent thirty seconds uselessly but sternly trying to explain to the toddler why we don’t run amok in an ancient graveyard.

We moved on toward the altar of the first mass. An old, rusty fat chain hangs around it in protection. There isn’t much to see about it, and I felt nothing toward it. Just beyond, in the waters that likely the Spanish descended from, were dolphins gliding around. We stopped and admired their shining black fins peeking out every so often.

rsz_img_20180602_140924.jpg

We moved on to the central sacred part of my peaceful place, the chapel. As stated, I am not a deeply religious person—I feel God more strongly away from church—but in places like this you can feel the devotion pulsing off of it. Rows of candles burned brightly and a kind looking woman sat to one side, counting on a beautiful blue rosary and chanting softly to herself, or rather, to Mother Mary. The positivity was pulsating off of her, mingling with the energies of devotion in that tiny chapel. The children sensed it and were hushed, only making noise by inelegantly bumping into the pews.

We left it, and walked around the old graves of the nuns that came to teach the newly freed slaves after the civil war. We passed the memories of unknown people, some of which that had lost the top half of their gravestone. They will be nameless for the rest of time. In a way it is kind of sad, but there is no one left that remembers them, so now it is only a fact.

We walked to the bridge to look down at the water trickling in from the waterway connection between ocean and a tiny pond. An egret stood tall, elegant, and perfectly still. Next to it, a sea turtle on the slick cement that water trickled across before entering the pond. He looked trapped, continually slipping off the cement as though he was desperate to make it back to the waterway. I watched for several minutes, wondering if I should try to help him. I am growing wiser by bits and pieces as I age, so I had the good sense to wait and watch. As it turns out, he was only climbing up with his clumsy curved front legs so that he could get his mouth on the slimy plants that were growing there. I’m glad I didn’t try to tip-toe through those perilous oyster beds to save a sea turtle from his breakfast. It seems to be a theme in life: Just wait and watch. Most things work themselves out.

rsz_img_20180602_140838.jpg

Apparently, in June my peaceful place is also a place of sweat. Lots and lots of sweat, pouring from anyone standing there as the morning turns to afternoon. The children started to complain.

“We will be sweating until October, possibly November,” I said in that know-it-all motherly sort of voice, but I agreed. It was time to head home. We passed some more stones, and I thought on how both of my children have a cough, but I have the blessing of living in this era, where a cough means very little.

My daughter was whining on the way out, and it being hot, naturally I had less patience. I was getting aggravated, but then she tripped and fell on the cement. I held her close to me, her little chest heaving in sobs against mine, and thought how grateful I am for whining, meaningless coughs, and fall downs. I squeezed their little hands on the way back to the van.

Sort:  

Nice meandering flow of thoughts... Perfect for Sunday afternoon reading... (I'm hiding at home from the hot hot sun outside...)

Thanks. I'm hunting down some Steemit Sunday evening reading as well.

Do you want me resteem your post to over 72,500 followers? Go here: https://steemit.com/@a-0-0

Sweat... Yeah, I know about that...

Sweat...does the body good. Wait, no, that is milk.

Well, sweat takes the crap out of the pores and I bet it does some good stuff to the body too.... pffff, that doesn't make me like sweating.

True, on both counts.

Happy first Sunday
It's a sad thing to lose a loved one
I pray we never lose again
Sometimes i feel they might be knocking right in the ground hoping someone would open the casket for them
😞😞

Graves have a way of really playing on our imaginations. I have had that thought cross my mind too.

@imohsaviourwisdo @ginnyannette Are we watching too many zombies movies?

Sigh. I loved reading this today. I loved everything about it. You have a way with words that cause me to walk with you through your experience , the weather, the sculptures, the dead.

You said

Once you’ve experienced it, there is always a small part of sadness at the loss that lasts forever, even though acceptance comes.

I especially loved this line. It gave me great pause today. Thank you.

This comment makes me really happy. Thanks for your support, my friend.

Visiting those kinds of places can get you a new fresh perspective, make you think and like you said, make you feel grateful. Thank you for sharing this, it was very lovely to read. 💚

Thanks. It was a fun outing.

Old cemeteries are interesting places.

Yes, they get interesting with age. Like most things I guess.

A beautiful, meditative piece of writing, Ginny, artfully illustrated with a few well-chosen photos. Your post unfolded like a narrative essay; it reminded me of a summer creek gently meandering, following its own stream of consciousness. Your tags were accurate but you might have attracted even more readers if you used writing, story or photography (I'm assuming the photos are yours.) Some tags have wider readership and hence, are more likely to result in higher rewards. A great piece of writing.

Your comment is beautiful. Thank you so much. I really appreciate your support. Good point about the tags. I'm not sure where I was going with the ones I chose :)

you're welcome - your tags made sense, but they only made cents. Find out which tags pay the best rewards and have the most visits. Try to shoehorn your post to fit. You could have used any of the tags I suggested b/c they all describe your post and pay well - Also, if you promote on a certain channel on Steem Chat and come back a day later and still see your post sitting there, that channel doesn't get many visitors. Your work is too good to go unrewarded

I love a good play on words. Yes, making only cents is what I have currently mastered. :)

Thanks for your advice, I will put it to good use.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66753.89
ETH 3256.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.34