Captured By The Apache: Hermann's Tribe Takes A Beating

in #history5 years ago

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas! We're in a series about the Wild West and the story of an 11 year old German boy, Hermann, who was captured by an Apache war party from his family's farm in 1870 in Central Texas.

For Hermann it's been the Wild Wild West! The kid has been through an awful lot in a short period of time but has proven himself to be a tough little warrior even though he's been forced into it.

He still has his White Man's thinking at the same time. In other words, he's still a reluctant warrior after being with them for several months.

In the last post he narrowly escaped getting scalped by Comanches and his tribe battled them all day before they withdrew. Well, since they didn't much like the idea of the Comanches coming back in greater numbers they decided to leave and made another camp farther North.

Today's story

Their scouts found two Comanche scouts, one was ambushed and killed and the other was taken captive and brought back to camp.

Apache trackers:

d1stxm30at.jpg
source

Hermann's "owner/chief/adopted father" Carnoviste, cut holes in the Camanche's arms and rawhide cords were passed through those holes and he was hung on a tall Mesquite tree.

A shunned squaw joins the enemy

The idea was that he die a slow and painful death but during the night a squaw without a nose cut him down and ran off with him. Now, I don't know if this was the same squaw who had been punished for adultery in an earlier post and had her nose cut off as the penalty. Maybe there was more than one.

At any rate, he was gone but that incident comes back to haunt them later in the story. The tribe moved on for another sixty miles and found an ideal camp with a spring. It was perfect and they wanted to make it a permanent settlement or base camp.

The only problem is, one of the warriors had a dream that they were overpowered by Camanches and suffered a huge defeat. So they leaders got together and decided to move on. When they got another 20 miles or so they were surrounded by a large Comanche force.

Comanche warriors:

download (7).jpg
source

Apparently they hadn't found all the Comanche scouts and their movements had been tracked. They lost dang near everything in the battle that followed. All their horses and supplies were taken, they lost about 40 warriors, almost all their women and children were taken too!

Hermann survives again

Amazingly Hermann was spared again without harm but it was only him, about 100 warriors, 6 women and some kids. Oh, and the chief, Carnoviste. But they had no supplies and were on foot. They were in despair but survived, wandering toward the South for about a month.

Finally they were found by a group of 150 Apaches who had surplus horses and supplies as well as guns.

A distress call goes out to the tribes

Hermann's band were determined to get their women and children back so they sent scouts out in all directions to tell the story and for all Apache to gather at one of the lakes.

Messengers were sent to all tribes:

xhnwprhnvc.jpg
source

Hermann didn't say which lake it was but over the weeks warriors came in from all directions and numbered in the thousands to help them rescue their women and children. The great chiefs like Geronimo and Victorio and Red Wasp also arrived and gave speeches.

o1AJ9qDyyJNSpZWhUgGYc3MngFqoAMxodQF1jJNdfpHTCGove.png

Here's a picture of Victorio on a book written by Kathleen Chamberlain. I haven't read it but I bet it's a great book.

Victorio was a legendary leader and warrior who was never caught or defeated by the United States Army, he turned himself in when Geronimo eventually surrendered.

image.png
source

o1AJ9qDyyJNSpZWhUgGYc3MngFqoAMxodQF1jJNdfpHTCGove.png

Here's a little of what Victorio said:

I fear not the Comanches myself, neither am I afraid of their allies, the Kiowas; but these tribes are strong among themselves and greatly outnumber us. Besides, the whites furnish them with guns and powder and lead, to help exterminate our tribe.

The white man is the Indian's enemy, and the Indians must quit fighting among themselves and all go together to fight the palefaces. While I was gone I saw as many palefaces as there are sprigs of grass on the plains or stars in the sky, and if we continue to fight each other we will all be exterminated by the white men."

And here was Red Wasp's opinion:

"We do not fear the cowardly palefaces. The have robbed us of our hunting grounds, they have destroyed our game, they have brought us disease, they have stirred up discord among our own race, they have intimidated our braves, they have made profligates of our children, reprobates of our wives and destroyed our traditions.

They have wrought despair and desolation to our tribe and for my part I am ready to fight until I fall. As to the Comanches, our grievances are great and the cause of the war is just, and I'll be glad to kill them when they come, kill them as they killed our companions..kill them...kill them.

And if we must die, let us fight to the bitter end. I want to fight."

a0esw215rr.png

Will the tribe agree with Victorio's logical call-to-arms for all Indians to unite against the whites or will they vow to continue their age-old blood feud? And how do they get their women and children back?

We'll find out in the next post. Thanks for reading folks!
-jonboy
Texas

uvsylyennv.png

l1xgphrt5d.png

ak059z170l.png

Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Howdy esteemapp! And thank you for the upvote and great platform!

Reading this just gave me a huge chill!

Howdy sir rossfletcher! Thanks for commenting but is that a good chill or a bad chill? lol.

Oh, i suppose it's both!

haha! I know what you mean, thank you!

Howdy Janton! Oh Dear! What a turn of events! Now I feel bad for the Apache! Honestly, living life like this is better not to live at all. However, I would be interested to know, how this war between them and Comanche started. Whether it was before the whites arrived or after. Anyway, right now I just hope they get their women and children back.

The problem is though, that violence begets violence; unfortunately, in this case there is no way to stop it.

howdy Miss Lena! well they had been fighting each other for generations, depending on the tribe. Because remember the Comanches that had Adolph with them were friendly and they weren't fighting with them. With hundreds of tribes and sub-groups within those tribes it was very confusing. But I'm sure their arguments with each other went back probably hundreds of years!
But you are so right, violence leads to more violence because revenge leads to more revenge. But who knows, they may decide to stop fighting each other and concentrate on the palefaces who are the real enemy.

I have a feeling that Apache were more open to make apiece than Comanche, but you are right about the fact that depend on the tribe. One way or the other, it was a mess!

yes Ma'am one of the problems was that the United States government and settlers treated them all the same most of the time. Which meant the good, peaceful tribes got the same rough treatment that the warring tribes got, it was so wrong and like you said, "messed up."
I think the government should give the heirs of those tribes reparations in the form of land. The federal government owns tens of millions of acres of wilderness and other lands for no reason, they aren't doing anything with it. Might as well give some of it back to the original owners that we stole it from.

They really should! However, based on this story, the whites were pals with Comanche, giving them weapons and such. So it seemed they wanted them to fight with Apache.

By the way, I did not get notification about you replying to my comment. So I was wondering what happened and after I checked I found it. Strange isn't it?

Howdy Miss Lena! Yes strange things are always happening it seems like.
The white's were deadly enemies with the Comanche, every bit as much or more so
than with the Apache so I don't know what situation Victoria was referencing, there
must have been a deal with someone to trade for guns if they used them against
another tribe.

Seems like another mystery of the Wild West.

exactly. that would have been my shortest comment every if I hadn't said this! lol.

Hermann has been lucky not to be captured by the Comanches. They certainly dish out terrible punishment to each other. They had to be tough as nails to withstand all the torture....’cut holes in his arms and passed rawhide through.’ Ouch!
I was happy he escaped with the woman, no-nose.
Victorio sounds like an intelligent man. He was right in thinking to stop fighting among themselves and band together.

Howdy redheadpei! yes it was some serious stuff they did to each other back then! wow. so glad we live in our posh, luxurious society now. yes ol no-nose saw and opportunity to escape and she took it and saved a life at the same time.
Victorio was a great leader and strategist that's for sure, Amazon had like 6 books about him, I was surprised.

Morning janton, now I am feeling very sorry and sad for the Apache tribe, what a terrible war and fight. One can feel their despair. Well worded and written janton. Have a good day.

Howdy tonight angiemitchell! Yes they were devastated but that won't last long. lol. I shouldn't have said that but it's true, things will get better for them. Thank you for the kind words.

You are welcome. janton, there are always twists and turns, good times and bad times in everyone's lives. So I am not surprised to hear that the Apache will rise again. I look forward to reading about it.

howdy angiemitchell! yes they did well for awhile until they finally had to surrender to the U.S. government, they were the last tribe to do so. Thanks so much for commenting!

Victorio was a very wise man but he could have no idea how many palefaces had already taken over the land. In 1870 the California Gold Rush had already happened and Wisconsin had been a state for over 20 years.

Yes good points, I wonder if they had heard that California was all taken over? He must have gotten a glimpse of the huge numbers though, I wondered where he had been to see them.

I'm guessing that their world was pretty local. Can you travel 50 miles on a horse in a day?

Howdy back Melinda...yes you can do that but horses need to stop every 20 to 40 miles for rest and water. But the Apache were runners and were trained from early ages both male and female on distance running in the desert so they could actually stay ahead of a mounted calvary that was chasing them for instance by just keeping ahead of them and not stopping.
On my posts I'm going to get into the training they did but military records detail accounts of Apache scouts and warriors running 70 miles in a day!

Wow! That seems unimaginable. A Marathon is 26 miles

I know, they were legendary and their extreme training from a young age made them almost superhuman!
and I'm going to get to that part of their history someday on my posts. lol.

So instead of one post a day, I should do one a week, and just keep adding to it? ROFLOL!

I like History, so I enjoyed it.

:)>*

you ARE history. lol. I reckon it don't make that much difference anymore how often you post as long as you don't stop. I mean once a day is a good long-term goal and would allow you to have a few spares laid up for a back up in case real world things happen to interfere with your schedule.
I know it takes a ton of time and we still aren't sure if it's going to be worth it.

If a little thing like an apocalypse can interfere with your schedule, you have not planned well enough, ROFLOL!I am toying with posting daily in several areas. @informationwar @naturalmedicine and a random just to keep the brain running.

I decided I should when I was watching a youtube on my phone, posting on my computer, and watching Second Hand Lions last night.

I never got anything but grief from FB, so Steemit is a breeze! If there is money there, when it is said and done, good, If not, I won't cry; fun is it's own reward!

:)>

only you would say such a thing sir smithlabs! Now I can see why fb didn't like you, it's amazing steemit still tolerates you! lol. But I like the idea of doing several specialty areas. What is Second Hand Lions?

It is a Movie you must see, buy a copy; you will not regret it! :)

One of the great parts is that steemit does not have to agree with what I post. THAT is why I am still here!

My last post was selected as the best yesterday on journalism-io on weku. I have been number one, twice in 10 days, and in their top twelve stories four times. I will get by....

:)>

oh man, weku is more of a basketcase than I thought then! lol.
what kind of movie is it and where do you watch it? I don't like no boring movies.

Yes weku is at $42.08, and stemit is $0.01 on the same post. Even at the current 10 weku to one steem; weku is not the basket case....

:)>

Hi, @janton!

You just got a 5.89% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Howdy there steem-plus! Thanks for the upvote and for all you do to help members!

You got a 28.11% upvote from @ocdb courtesy of @janton! :)

@ocdb is a non-profit bidbot for whitelisted Steemians, current max bid is 45 SBD and the equivalent amount in STEEM.
Check our website https://thegoodwhales.io/ for the whitelist, queue and delegation info. Join our Discord channel for more information.

If you like what @ocd does, consider voting for ocd-witness through SteemConnect or on the Steemit Witnesses page. :)

Howdy there ocdb! thank you so much for the upvote!

I am glad they were able to rescue the women and children. What Carnoviste did to that Camanche is horrific and I must get that image out of my head. What a rough life!

yes Ma'am it's a story filled with both good and evil. yes that was commonplace to do really bad things to the enemy. Don't worry though, I won't go into the really horrendous things they did to each other.

What you have told us so far is bad enough and I don't even want to think that things were worse. Thanks for sparing me.

haha! yes I could tell you things that would make your hair stand on end and give you nightmares, stuff that only the devil himself could come up with. This story has some gruesome stuff that I'm not sharing even though I said it's the hard, unvarnished truth as told by Hermann and I was going to share it. I guess I lied. lol. to spare people from having nightmares.

IMHO, I think it is best that you spared all of your readers the gruesome details. For me, I would just have to stop reading your story if that was the case. I don't know if that is just me or if others would stop reading too. We can't have that now, can we? I know that I speak for all of your fans that you and your stories surely would be missed. : )

haha! well that's not an issue with this story, it doesn't get graphic and hasn't been anything very horrific. Even then I soft peddle it for the wimps out there. lol.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66038.71
ETH 3178.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05