Daniel B. May: His Story Continues

in #history5 years ago

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas!

I started this series a few days ago about an unsung hero of the Old
West who worked fearlessly to protect the stagecoach running from
Deadwood, South Dakota to Cheyenne, Wyoming.

He was a Kansas farmboy who moved West with two of his brothers
to find fortune and success. His name was Daniel Boone May, not to
be confused with the famous frontiersman Daniel Boone. The original
Boone passed on some 50 years before Mr. May.

Boone is the name he went by and he surprised many robbers by
riding inside the coach or riding in front of or behind it. He was hired
by the stagecoach company and deputized by the United States
Marshall service to "ride shotgun" in the protection of the coach.

This is one of the stagecoachs of the Cheyenne and Black Hills
stage line:

5236a23caa18114d63974324011cb33d.jpg
source

There is an article which we have that was posted about May and the
writer, Johnson, gave this description of him:

"May was the most noted scout, detective, Indian fighter and
shooting man of the Black Hills…[who] has had more fights with
Indians, road agents and desperadoes, captured more stage robbers
and horse thieves, and killed more men than any other man in the
Black Hills.

A tall, impressive figure, May wore a long linen duster with a red silk
handkerchief at his throat. Strapped to his waist was a cartridge belt
and ivory-handled six-shooter. His eyes, recalled Johnson, were
peculiar, an indescribable hue between yellow, green and gray and
had a curious, restless look about them. He summed up May as a
man he “would instinctively fear.”

Wow, I wish I had a photo or painting of this guy in his "work" clothes!
All we have is him in his "Sunday best" outfit. But anyway it was a
good thing he was deadly because he was up against some bad dudes
like this guy that I showed you yesterday known as Black Bart:

source

Black Bart was said to be from England but he looks Irish to me.
Should ask @blanchy. Maybe Black Bart is his long-lost Uncle.

Ha! Well folks something came up and I gotta run and take care of
something but since I'm trying to shorten my posts I'll go ahead
and post this and write the second part later.
DQmaGiJ5Exn5zL4cJEFVahrn96ozJ8bVTWeXhqznp28SYy2_1680x8400.png

Thanks for reading folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy Texas

Sort:  

When I saw black bart I thought Irish too! Maybe they are just using English as a blanket term 😂😂😂

ah ha! I'm not the only one, that's hilarious. We'll have to see what blanchy thinks! lol. Black Bart's a real charmer ain't he?

And we were getting on so so well badger!

Hahaha maybe it was a compliment??? 🤪

Look at that stage coach, do you think those guys are on there just for the photo shoot or did they rid up there? Looks awfully uncomfortable.
PS. That is a 6 horsepower stagecoach, my lawnmower has 23, Haha ;)

sir hhayweaver! I know, alot of the photos I found with old stages have like 15 people crammed in and on them, it's possible that sometimes they were that jammed. At 5 miles per hour they could be piled on top and probably wouldn't get knocked off!
ha! your lawn mower..lets see your lawn mower pull a stagecoach. lol.

Wonderful content! Congratulations!

well howdy there museuminsights! I appreciate the kind words. Thanks for reading and commenting!

Ha! Well folks something came up and I gotta run and take care of
something

I always assumed that the only thing that comes up for @janton is another Steemit post to comment on. :-)

#reallifeisreal

Posted using Partiko Android

hahaha! sir ironshield! yeah that is normally the case, as silly as it sounds! lol.

Black Bart sounds like he could be a pirate janton!

haha! howdy again angiemitchell! yes Ma'am he was a land-based pirate for sure, he looks like one doesn't he? He looks like a cartoon character of a bad guy!

That is a heart moving picture of Black Bart. I heard his name several times but never saw a picture.

haha! howdy sir mineopoly! yes sir that Black Bart is a real charmer isn't he? lol. How you doing? I know they have you working more. Have you posted lately?

I think I posted more this week than last week. I should really concentrate on work, but I can't take anything very serious. I will post something new in about 20 minutes. I also have a post on Daniel Boone you will probably like.

what? you're posting stuff about Daniel Boone? I'm following you I don't understand how I'm missing your posts, I'm going over there right now sir mineopoly!
hey, what does this mean? "but I can't take anything very serious". are you talking about teaching or steemit?

Ha... both teaching and Steemit. I get stress too easily if I take anything too serious. I have an open class coming up and some other things but try not to think about it. I need to see things in perspective. When it comes down to it I need to restore a prayer life.

About the posts... my activity has decreased. Gina bot give so many notifications I probably get lost in there. I usually post in the afternoon in Korea which after midnight in most states so when you wake up the post will be about five or six hours old. No worries. I write for myself but enjoy hearing your comments. The Daniel Boone post has a two fold purpose. I have a cool Texan friend named Daniel who moved to Boone and now is on to do some exploration of his own.

sir mineopoly! I agree that stress is not good but very difficult to not be stressed. And since teaching is a very serious business then how do you not take it seriously?
What is an "open class?"

Ah.... this means teachers and administrators are welcome to come and enjoy the class and critique it latter through verbal and written evaluation. They almost always say good things.

Teachers is serious. I see at least 200 eyeballs in the classroom each day, over 100 students. Have a good weekend. Take your time with the replies. I'm headed to bed now. You are one cool Texan and ask good questions.

howdy again sir mineopoly! well you are too kind, I've been called alot of things but cool isn't one of them! lol.

Initially not the picture of the guy i had in my mind, but nevertheless, a fitting character...

howdy sir preppervetuk! well like I was saying, I wish we had a photo or a painting of him in his "work" clothes outfit instead of the Sunday clothes! lol.
I think the image then would be more fitting.
thanks so much for reading and commenting! have you posted recently?

Black Bart does look more Irish than British...nasty character he was. Boone certainly worked for his pay!

hahaha! cecicastor thank you! that's what I thought and you are another one who agrees with me. lol. Yeah he had the right idea in just killing the robbers.

Don’t know what Is being implied here . But There are many history books available in libraries across the world that will prove who were nastier!

lol! nothing is being implied sir blanchy!

That will give you a good taster!

sir banchy! a taster for what? what is this? no one has time to watch a full movie! is this that Irish actor in this, the one we talked about before, he's really good. I could watch it in small bites.

It’s a film @janton! Put your feet up and gun in the holster and relax for a while and watch some Irish history !

gee sir blanchy is that what that thing is, a film? since I was born in the 1800's I had no idea! lol. I will watch it in little bites but it better be good! and it better be about Irish history and not some snowflake love story! lol.
by the way i hear alot of people complaining about the Irish winters over there, all it does is blow cold wind, is cloudy and raining all the time, is that true? I need to know when to plan my next visit! can I carry my six shooter in case I run into hooligans?

Hahahah I can see a resemblance . I’d prefer to Ben Black Barts nephew than a relation of Big noses Kate! 😜😜

haha! what a pair to chose between! I would probably go with Black Bart also but they both had ambition at least and made their mark on history!

My guess is "Black Bart" was a leftover from The Black Watch (Scottish!)...lol...

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Black_Watch

haha! howdy sir mepatriot! that is possible isn't it? how interestings, I had to read about these guys, thank you!

Pure speculation, but the timing is about right.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70597.89
ETH 3559.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.77