Frank's Unlikely But Remarkable Friendship With A Young Black Kid

in #history5 years ago (edited)

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas!

We're in a series about one of the top Texas Ranger lawmen to ever wear the badge, the great Frank Hamer, who was brought out of retirement to take down Bonnie and Clyde.

Recap

In the last post Frank began establishing himself in his new town by using brute force to intimidate the bullies, ruffians and hateful racists.

His being a former Texas Ranger was a big advantage because most townspeople were familiar with him due to his visits during the last two years when he and other Rangers were stationed there to help the Sheriff keep violence under control.

So they knew that if they forced his hand he could send for the Texas Rangers again and they'd be in even more trouble. So they reluctantly put up with him while he hammered away at the criminal elements in town.

Today's story

One of the most interesting aspects of Frank's time in Navasota was his unusual friendship with a 14 yr old Black kid named Mance Lipscomb, the son of an ex-slave.

Oh, I forgot to mention that the Blacks in town were elated about Frank being there because they quickly saw that he would arrest white members of the White Man's Union and they'd never seen those racists being arrested before!

When Frank was stationed in Navasota the year before, young Mance(that is such an unusual name, has anyone ever heard that name before?) was totally fascinated with Frank's presence, his fighting ability, toughness, and his fairness.

Frank's biggest fan

So when he saw Frank the next year and learned that he was the new Marshal he was over the top about it. He shadowed him everywhere, he idolized him.

The two got to be friends and a very unlikely pair. Mance would drive him all over town and the county in the Marshal's buggy, he was like Frank's personal chauffeur! lol.

This scene alone HAD to have driven the hateful white racists crazy!

Mance in his own words

Years later Mance talked about Frank in some interviews. He had a thick, Southern, rural East Texas drawl. Here's a little of what he had to say, I think you'll like this:

"He was a BAD man. He was a Ranger. You know what they is? Texas Ranger...No purdy in 'im. He's as bad as they git." Mance talked about trouble makers who resisted arrest. The real hardcases Frank would kick all the way to the city jail.

"But if he hit ya, he knock you down. He did'n have no branch or nothin, just his fists. One lick, you goin down."

A great role model

Mance was also amazed at Frank's attitude toward Black women because he treated them with the utmost respect just like white women and Mance had never seen that before either.

That was part of the Cowboy Code which Frank lived by. All females were to be honored and treated with great respect. Mance and Frank became fast friends. Mance was astounded at Frank's skill with guns and would take him out in the country to practice.

Here's more of Mance on Frank's character: "Now he wad'n fraid a black or white. He wad'n no PIECE of a man, he was a WHOLE man. See, the people runnin this place..the white folks...said, Well, I'm gonna run this place."

Mista Hayman say, "I think you got that pitched over some ways. I'M running this place. When you do wrong, you got to go to jail. Don't care how much money you got."

Mance said Frank told him, " I'm for RIGHT, not white. If you don't do what I say, I'm gonna put you in jail, black or white."

A common interest

Mance was a music lover, always singing and many times playing the guitar when they were together. Frank also loved music.

Remember when Frank was shot by that crazy rancher when he was 17 years old? Well, while he was recovering he taught himself to play the fiddle, and was darn good at it! lol. The guy was amazing. So anyway, he had that music bond with Mance.

Mance actually went on to become one of America's legendary Blues muscians and influenced a generation of artists like Janis Joplin and Bob Dylan, so he made it big.

download (7).jpg

download (6).jpg

download (8).jpg
source

Here's one of his songs if you wanna hear some classic Blues:

a0esw215rr.png

We'll talk more about Frank's time in Navasota in the next post. And Mance has more comments too.

Thanks for reading folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy
Texas

uvsylyennv.png

l1xgphrt5d.png

ak059z170l.png

Sort:  

Cowboy, my grandmother’s brother was called Rance. That’s as close to Mance as I ever heard.

Mance made a name for himself. I really liked him singing the blues.

I'm glad you liked the song, he was very unique. Rance is a great name too that I never heard of!

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

There's just nothign quite like a blues song with only a straight up guitar as accompaniment. That was great to listen to.

I really liked it too sir wwwiebe, I listened to a couple of his songs to see what they were like and they're very distinct and unique! I'm glad you liked it.

Love this story! Mance was destined for success!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Howdy cindyhartz! I agree about Mance and the story is great too, I'm so glad you like it!

I have never heard the name Mance before. Thanks for including the song... It really beings the story to life.

Howdy Melinda! I haven't heard it either, makes me wonder what it means or if there is a story behind it. How are you doing tonight and how was your day?

It was a dark rainy day here and I spent much of it watching TV! I have hardly been on here at all. I am so tired of rain and storms! I simply can't get motivated to get anything accomplished.

And I finally get back to you after 12 hours sorry! I know what you mean, that is very depressing. Yeah lots of days I don't even look at the leaderboard but I saw it last night and you had like 33 comments or something!

So I figured things were a little off or you were doing something else. Rainy days are great for tv though! What about today, more rain?

Yeah.. It was down in the 20s this morning!
Cool and cloudy here today. Temps in the 50s and going down into the 40s tonight.

20's!! already? Dang. We're looking forward to getting into the 60's at night so we don't have to run the air. At least it's not raining today right?

Sorry... I meant 20s on the leaderboard.. Not temps! 😕😂

oh! lol..it fit so well in talking about temps! Well that IS a little shocking. lol. That is a true anomaly. You can do that much in your sleep.

Hi, @janton!

You just got a 6.63% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Isn't it interesting janton how the most unlikely people connect and become friends through common interests. Nice to see Frank was more than a Texas Ranger and Sherif.

I love listening to the Blues, thanks for providing the entertainment.

Howdy angiemitchell! I agree about Frank, He was actually smart enough that he could have been anything he wanted but he loved being an officer of the law.

Good afternoon @janton. I enjoy your stories very much, I like that you do the recap, keeps me up on the story. We have been really busy on the #farm, harvesting the rest of our #veggies and #herbs.
We are preparing for the cold months coming our way, this past week, HEAT was our focus. Wood splitting and stacking was the theme here. But that's off the list now and boy am I glad...lots of lifting.
Have a wonderful day my friend.

Howdy farm-mom! Sorry I haven't kept up with your posting, I've been working outside and all I get done is my post and then a few commments it seems.

So you guys are getting ready for the long, cold winter! You have a woodburning stove?
Thanks so much for contacting me and for the kind words!

Yes, we have a nice big wood burning stove, we keep the fires going all through the winter. It can heat the whole house, but we do keep Amish made electric heaters for back up, they are very efficient and can heat the bathroom in minutes.
Hey @janton you don't ever have to apologize about responding, I know "busy" so I get how you're working outside and all, life is busy!
Have a great week catch you later.

Oh I love that heating system because I love the smell of a fireplace or woodstove! I'll get over to your blog as much as possible, this is a great reminder. Thanks for understanding, winter will cut back some of the outside work for me.

Cool story about Mance and Frank. Loved the tune too. thanks.

I'm so glad you enjoyed it owasco, they made quite the pair!

Howdy Janton! I am so happy Frank had a good buddy to keep him company. Nonetheless such a talented musician. He definitely needed something to balance that roughness from his job with something soothing such as music.

That is a great point Miss Lena, he had a friend to talk to and probably sing with and it was a way to get away from some of the stress.

Absolutely Janton! I am glad you see it that way too.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.34
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66344.62
ETH 3214.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.37