The James Younger Gang Goes Whole Hog On The Banks

in #history5 years ago

Howdy folks and greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas!

We have a log floating around on our pond and the turtles use it to sun themselves and today it was in the 50's but sunny so this guy was out there warming up. Normally he's so skittish that as soon as I open the door he dives off the log but he must have been cold this morning because he just stayed there but was keeping an eye on me!

turtle.jpg

Well folks, I've been talking about the crazy life of Cole Younger who was one of America's premier criminals of the Old West in the late 1800's. I hope that title makes sense, I reckon it might be a tad redneck but Whole Hog just means the Boys were tearing it up in their profession.

The bank robbing business was very good to them financially and I don't think there was a bank they didn't successfully rob. The heat on them was mounting though. I don't know how many Pinkertons were hired to track them down, they seemed to be everywhere. So far three of the Pinkertons had found them and the Boys had shot and killed all three.

The gangs' affect on banks

With pressure increasing they expanded into other areas and states. What's amazing to me is that where ever they robbed a bank, then that town would increase the security of the banks dramatically but they could stroll right into a bank in a town that they hadn't robbed before and there was no security at all! lol. So this was usually a ridiculously easy situation for them.

It had been almost ten years since they robbed their first bank in Liberty, Missouri in 1866 and they continued robbing at will for almost ten years! Their gang was becoming famous too with all the newspaper stories for each robbery and dime store novels were being written about the gang and sold like hot cakes back East.

In some ways they helped the banking business by making them aware of the lack of security but the bankers across the country seemed mighty slow to adopt new measures. Probably didn't want to spend the money.

Easy pickins

When the Boys would scope out a target bank they'd just walk in and ask the teller to change a $100 bill. The teller would usually turn around and head for an open vault door and if that was the case then the gang would know it was an easy target bank that left the bank vault door open.

Then obviously next time they just walked in and demanded the money from the vault, handing the teller a grain sack to fill up. So easy it wasn't even funny. If a customer came in they'd take whatever money they had too, then tie the teller and any customers up in a back room or the vault and ride off.

Fear, loyalty and love

And forget about getting a good posse together. By this time everyone knew about the gang, that they were the toughest outlaws in the country and none of the townspeople wanted to go on a suicide mission. This made fear a big part of their success.

Also loyalty. The people of Clay and Jackson counties were loyal to the Boys and loyal to the Confederates so the Pinkertons could never get any cooperation from the locals. Jesse James even got married during this reign of financial destruction.

Cole talked all the time to his friends about going back to Texas for Belle and Pearl but like all bank robbers he needed to make one more big score so he could go back to her in style.
QmP4XWrKhEyctSdKwPXzgJStaaib5GRAczyRhSaSaSMjQp.png

Thanks for reading folks, Cole's story continues tomorrow.
-jonboy Texas
the gentleman redneck

QmV1rirc4aVwh5NVurSGyHWRg81cAiro8rA2TaeWCPVLtV.png

ps- ya know...you might just be a redneck if:

Your moms been involved in a fistfight at a high school sports event!

steemitbloggers.gif

QmTYUoxpK2LHgoiePLMao9UEPVBChXDMcvH2YgojQYTAfq.png

Sort:  

All caught up! It is funny how some things never change. Referring to banks. Even back in the day people had a mistrust for banks. I forget which episode it was that stated that banks would lend farmers money in anticipation of knowing that the farmer would more than likely default on the loan. When they did, the banks would be ready to spring into action, repossessing the farmer's land, robbing them of the ability to make a living.

lol. yes sir thebigsweed, the banks were really hated back then, well obviously they didn't have anything in place to make it less difficult for the land or home owners.
For instance, my wife and I were in the real estate business handling the foreclosed properties for the banks and when people got foreclosed on they could still live in the house totally free for up to 2 years!

But thank you so much for reading and commenting!

Haha, what a wonderful and romantic picture you have painted janton. All is well in the world of robbers in this period of history!

By the way I can honestly say that I am not a redneck!!!

haha! Well you don't have to qualify in all areas to be a redneck. I'm a redneck but my mom sure never got into any fist fights! lol. some of us rednecks are real laid back.

Is that right janton? I think I need more education about rednecks, lol.

That logs gonna disappear sooner or later :P Wonder what he will do then?

lol. howdy sir dollarsandsense! well, that log was there when we got here and probably many years before that and it doesn't have any signs of deterioration so it will most likely outlast the turtle. lol.

No kidding? Wow, must be made of something pretty hardy. All our logs rot away up here in the damp cold north 😅

howdy again sir dollarsandsense! I wonder if you're working this weekend at the ambulance. Anyway, yes sir..there is a tree here that farmers and ranchers use for fence posts because it lasts for over 100 years without rotting. It's so hard you can't use a chainsaw on it or it'll ruin the blade. I think it's called the Texas Ironwood tree.

We have a stump on our property that is sitting there with several big roots going out, it's all blackened from someone trying to burn it up but it wouldn't burn I don't think. I got real agressive with my axe one winter and the axe just bounced off of it like it was titanium, bout killed my arms! lol.
So it's just sitting there and being ugly. Anyway I think that's what kind it is.

It would take a backhoe to dig it out or a stick of dynamite to blow it out! but knowing that tree it might take 2 sticks of dynamite, lol.

So he still didn't make the trip to Bell Star? Is he ever will? I am starting to loose hope. Don't disapoint me Janton, even if that wouldn't be your fault, lol.

haha! What can I say, the guy was addicted to robbing banks. If he wanted to see her bad enough he could have. so sorry.

That turtle was eyeballing you alright. So much easier back then to be an outlaw than now.

Oh yeah those guys had it made. It's like the banks never thought that people would actually rob them until the Younger gang came along! No cameras jeez, piece of cake.

Ah the good old days!

haha! hey squirrelbait you could disappear without going into the woods, just go to another town or state!

Awww! I love your turtle! The water in my spring must be too cold for them. I never have turtles.
Those bank presidents must have been thinking '0H, it can never happen to me!' Or they were just slow on reading the news! They should have had the internet. Then they could have kept track of what was going on around them!🤣

haha! it's nuts, they were robbing these banks for years! I thought it would be a tight knit community, the banks, and they'd all be alarmed and take steps to stop them before they got robbed but I guess that would have been too logical!

They probably didn't even have locks on their doors at home! They were thinking it could never happen in our sleepy little town.

yes, I'm sure you're right. we never used to lock our doors at night when I was a kid, did your family?

Never. Although I remember that when I was in high school and my dad would be working out of town and away overnight, my mom started latching the screen door before we went to bed. But it was never locked if we were going downtown or if we were over at a neighbor's house, as long as it was daylight. And the main door that you needed a key to unlock was never locked.

ha! That figures..how big was the town that you grew up in?

3 thousand people, and I think I knew them all! And even if I didn't know them, I knew which house was theirs.

That's a major city compared to our local town but I didn't grow up in a town but out in the country with a little bitty town of a hundred people about 10 miles away, that's the closest I was to a town.

I just had a funny conversation with the garage door repairman. He had just come from a job where he had gotten called out by a woman who used her garage to go in and out of her house and her garage door broke and she could not get the door open. So she called him. And he had to explain to her that if she couldn't get in the garage door, he couldn't get in the garage door either. There was no magical tool for that. She was upset because she did not have a key for her front door. He had to suggest that she should call a locksmith. Not him. It turned out to be a good story for me. My spare hidden key was inside the garage, where all the kids knew where it was. I was glad that he told me that story!

howdy again melinda010100! that was funny, I bet those guys have funny stuff happen to them alot. Well, it may not be that funny to THEM...lol.
So you got a spare key that people can actually get to?

I do now! I didn't want to be the woman that the garage door man was telling a story about next week!

hahaha! ok I get it, I wasn't sure but you got it fixed after hearing that story so that story may save some big hassles some day.
How has your day gone?

Congratulations @janton! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 23000 comments. Your next target is to reach 24000 comments.
You got more than 61500 replies. Your next target is to reach 62000 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Be ready for the next contest!
Trick or Treat - Publish your scariest halloween story and win a new badge

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I am guessing that one last one is not going to go well!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Cool turtle pond. My cousins used to drag me fishing. I hated it lol. Anyways I caught three snapping turtles that day.

haha! sir cosmicrimes...you didn't catch any fish, just turtles?
Hey are you posting again or still buried at work?

I don't know what kind of material it is. No, I don't care for fishing I used to get dragged into it. I about forgot how. Actually, I was pretty good at it. I caught a lot of fish. I caught 15 yellowbellies at a golf course lake one time. My cousin is the master at catching catfish.

well if the stuff hits the fan and people are short of food you can catch fish I think.

I just found out that my family bought 100 acres of land deep in the mountains and it has a river that goes through it. I do not know what kinds of fish are there. I do know they are a lot of turkey on that land.

wow cosmiccrimes..you mean they bought it a long time ago? that sounds like the place to be if you need a getaway in case the country collapses.

I think it was last spring. They purchased it to sell the trees for wood. It was a business venture.

oh, is the business venture working?

No, I'm off today. I'm just low on RC today.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28