The Trek Home Gets Underway

in #history5 years ago

Just a cool picture I found, I like the painted and decorated horse.

bbwhuwomns.jpg
source

Howdy folks, greetings from the Great Plains of North Texas!

We're in a series about the Wild West and the incredible story of an 11 year old German boy, Hermann, who was captured by an Apache war party from his family's farm in 1870 in Central Texas.

He's now 18-19 years old at this point in the story and has become a full blown warrior who hates and fears the White man. And in fact, has taken many a scalp. He's been with the Comanche for a few years now.

Yesterday's post

In the last post Hermann was persuaded by General Mackenzie and Quanah Parker to make the trip down to Central Texas where his family was.

The agreement with Quanah was that if he didn't find real family there then he could come back to live with Quanah in his village.

Today's story

Hermann did NOT want to go to Texas at all. He wasn't sure what he'd do but felt forced into it. The detachment guarding him was only four soldiers so he was confident that he could escape if he wanted to.

He had time to think though because it would take a couple of weeks to arrive. He wore full Comanche clothing and refused to dress like the hated white man.

Here's their route from Fort Sill, Oklahoma to Fort Griffin, Texas which is B, then on down to Fredericksburg:

2019-06-03 (2).pngsource

They were traveling in an ambulance and I have no idea why that would be, maybe they wanted protection from the weather or maybe the seating in the ambulance was better for 5 people on a long trip.

Here's what an ambulance looked like in the 1870's. lol..a far cry from what we have today:

download.jpg
source

The ambulance they had was drawn by four mules though, not one horse.

They made about 20 miles the first day. My estimation of 30 miles each day would take them 13 days because it was a 400 mile trip so that's even slower than I thought.

They sure weren't in a hurry though, I think the soldiers were enjoying the leisurely pace and were probably milking the easy assignment. Hermann couldn't speak English and of course the soldiers couldn't speak Comanche so they communicated with signs and gestures.

The first four days was desert-like terrain but after that they got into an area with game in it. One of the soldiers handed Hermann a rifle and made signs for him to go kill an antelope. Of course Hermann was anxious to oblige them.

Central Texas country:

untitled-148.jpgsource

It's interesting that they totally trusted him with a gun to go into the country and come back with dinner! Like he said, it would be easy for him to escape.

He did plan an escape(and murder)

On the fifth day he planned on that very thing. In fact, one of the soldiers accompanied him and when they got out of sight from the wagon he planned on killing the soldier and running off.

It would be easy for him to do but then he started thinking ahead and wondering where he could go. The plains had thousands of soldiers pouring in, rounding up the last of the Indians, and settlements and Texas Rangers were everywhere. And his people, the Comanche, were at the fort.

A better plan

So instead of killing the soldier he decided to play a trick on him and scare the life out of him. I guess the soldier was supposed to be keeping an eye out but he easily got the drop on him and the soldier froze in place. Hermann motioned for him to lay down his gun.

He sure didn't want to but Hermann made it clear that he was serious and the soldier laid it down on the ground and stood back up with his hands in the air. Hermann pointed toward the ambulance and shouted "Vamos!" The soldier understood that and took off running with Hermann behind him.

When the other soldiers saw that they all burst out laughing and gave the soldier a hard time for letting an Indian boy take his gun away from him! Apparently they thought it was just a joke and didn't know their friend almost died.

I don't know about you all but this mindset is hard for me to comprehend. Here we had Hermann who could kill the soldier in an instant with no second thoughts about it, then he turns around and jokes with him and has fun.

One thing we know is that he didn't value the life of an enemy much because he could easily kill the man with no regrets. He was so used to killing that it didn't matter to him.

He said he played pranks on them during the whole trip so he must have been in pretty high spirits and been enjoying himself. And he said they "took it all good natured, and enjoyed the fun."

a0esw215rr.png

Hermann's story and journey "home" continues on the next post.

Thanks for reading folks, God bless you all!
-jonboy
Texas

l1xgphrt5d.png

uvsylyennv.png

iawathlh1b.png

Sort:  

I love the quote in that photo at the end of your post. Silence/ meditation is something monks and other people still practice today. When I substitute in classes, especially 5th and 6th grade classes, I remind them that they aren’t learning anything if they are just talking and talking... some of the students just look at me like “oh who cares?” Our president of our country would do well to do a lot more listening and thinking and stop with the tweeting. Oh and for that matter both parties in DC could use some silent times to really think about how to help our country and world! I can hardly watch the news these days for hearing all the stupid stuff coming out of “educated” men and women’s mouths!

lol! howdy violetmed! I'm laughing at that last sentence because it's so funny but it's so true at the same time! What an insane mess we have in Washington where everything is political instead of acting on principles to help the country. Like act to solve the crises at the border!

I agree, the quote is a great one and it would be nice if the president would think before spouting off constantly and causing so much strife and division, it's tough enough without pouring gas on the fire. The many good things being accomplished go un-noticed because of his constant fanning of the flames.

I hate politics but unfortunately it's the only way to get things done or make changes that need to be made, but wow, you have to have the patience of a saint and a strong stomach and thick skin!

Howdy Janton! I wish we would have photo of Hermann dressed in his Comanche clothing. These soldiers had quite an experience with him that later they were telling their grandchildren.

Anyway, I cant wait to see the reaction of his mother seeing her son as an Indian. But I am sure she loves him no mater what!!! The bigger problem is how he will adopt!

Howdy again Miss Lena! yes, they really should have gone to the trouble of taking photos of him in his Indian clothes and paint, that would have been amazing! I have a photo of him as an old man is all.
He finally arrives home in today's post.

Yes, I wish they would, but I am curious to see him at least as an old guy.

lol. he looks like an old white guy trying to look like an Indian. lol.

It does seem odd that they were traveling with that ambulance. The roads could not have been very good. But I guess if covered wagons could maneuver the trail so could that ambulance. Funny too that Hermann does not speak any English. Did he block all memories of home? I wonder if they spoke German in his childhood home and if he could remember that language.

they spoke German and I don't even think he knew English at the time of his capture but he had forgotten everything, including the language, it was as if he was born Indian!

All of the trauma he lived through as a child after being kidnapped would be enough to make him forget. He was in survival mode.

I agree Melinda, that's exactly right. How's your day been? It's almost bedtime!

It is bedtime! I was just chatting with my daughter-in-law, who told me I was the best mother in law that she could ever hope for, and I told her she was the best daughter-in-law ever. A mutual admiration society!

howdy today Melinda! that is so wonderful. Way too many mother and daughter in laws don't get along, as you know so that is such a blessing!

It is a wonderful thing and I am so lucky!

Hi janton, the choice of transport obviously kept Hermann contained. Comanches were well known and skilful with horses. And Hermann is a true blue Comanche!

yes Ma'am he sure was. He probably could have killed all of them as they slept if he wanted to.

Yes, but he didn't janton which says a lot.

Well he probably would have if he'd had a place to escape to so lucky for them he was out of options.

I missed the first few He-man posts. I was out of the country for a few days 😉. And I thought to myself. This won't go on for that long. Il pick up when @janton starts a new saga. But the fucker is still going strong. I would of thought a couple of Indians would have him went knocked off at this stage?? This guy is like a cat with nine lives!!

hahaha! faked you out sir blanchy! Yes, this is a very longass post I must admit. But the guy had so many crazy things happening to him that they could make several years worth of movies or tv series of his life. He barely survived time and time again! At least 10 times he should have been killed and usually people he was with got killed but he came through without a scratch.
Where did you go, that big convention thing and then on another vacation right? How many vacations do you take anyways? what are they paying you for over there? Is your company TJ Maxx? if it is, that's Mrs. J's favorite store.

That ambulance is pretty horrifying. Must have been a terrible place to be when really injured, although better than nothing.

Howdy ginnyannette! The ambulance is horrifying? Because it's just a box? lol..no modern equipment or anything, and it's not even fast! I must admit I laughed when I saw it. I don't know what I was expecting of an ambulance from the 1870's!

Yeah, a box. Hopefully it came equipped with people at least medically trained in some way.

I doubt it. lol. I think they were just short of regular wagons but who knows. lol.

and I wonder how things going on with the property renovations... How things going?

Howdy blacklux! well it's been raining most of the last 2 weeks and I'm supposed to work inside on finishing walls, painting..stuff like that but instead I threw myself into researching cryptos and blockchains and the coming revolution, looking for investment opportunities that are cheap right now since I missed out on bitcoin when it was cheap. I like dirt cheap! lol. how's it going there?
Well that's okay, I'll go over and see what's going on. on your blog I mean, not in person lol. I wish I could go there and experience the island life..in the cooler weather though. we have enough heat here.

Cooler weather?! Its hell, HELL! So hot in here!

lol! I know but you have a cooler season so I'd go then. lol.

Awesome 1st photo with the painted horse. Hermann on his way home. I’m Looking forward to when he greets his mother.

Howdy tonight redheadpei! Yes it's quite the celebration, is it getting hot up there yet? We're hitting the 35's C this weekend so for the next 3 months it will be highs in the 35's to 44's.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 7 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 180 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Howdy there trufflepig and thanks for the upvote and information!

Hi, @janton!

You just got a 6.61% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Howdy steem-plus and thank you for the upvote!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 61618.64
ETH 3009.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78