🙃HISTORY OF WOODSTOCK | GRAFFITI IN MY HOOD | CAPE TOWN 🙃

in #history6 years ago

cover working file.jpg

What is up good people? As you know, I work in a fancy antique store, here in Cape Town. What you probably don't know, is that the shop is in a pretty dodgy, up-and-coming area, as the real estate vultures call it. I'd like to share some info on the history of Woodstock, and photos I snapped of the graffiti in the area I work in.


Not all of Cape Town is pretty mountains and rolling ocean. We have some very poor areas, and some extremely dangerous areas. Woodstock is special to me, as I have worked, loved and partied hard in the hood over the last ten years. I even got married there.

Woodstock is just outside of the centre of Cape Town, and during apartheid was one of the only suburbs that stayed integrated. It actually has a super interesting history.

In the 1800's, Woodstock was marketed as a seaside resort suburb, being very close to central Cape Town, and right on the beach. In 1862, (don't forget how new South Africa is as a country compared to European and even American cities) the first railway line was built in South Africa, stopping in Woodstock. Woodstock and the neighbouring suburb, Salt River (nowadays, almost the same area) became one of the largest settlements in the Cape Colony.

beach.jpeg

The beach long, long ago. This is all train tracks and industrial factories now - Source

In the early 1900's, Woodstock became increasingly industrialised, changing the face of Woodstock forever. More on that later.

In 1937 a huge land reclamation took place, creating what is Cape Town's Foreshore area today. What does this mean? The urban planning department of the then government dredged and filled the wet areas with land, creating the southern hemisphere's largest dry dock. They physically created land where there was once water!

4497701380_638c4fd4f0_b.jpg

On the left you can see what the Foreshore looked like before 1945, and on the right, what it looks like today. I work a bit left of E. Source

2000px-Cape_Town_Foreshore_original_coastline.svg.png

It's a bit more clear here. I work just above where the maps says "ALBERT ROAD". That was all beach once upon a time! Source

view.jpeg

The construction of the Foreshore and the huge highways that take up most of it - Source

Picture3.jpg

What it looks like today. Strange to think of how many times I driven on these roads - Source

Later, during Apartheid years, the President PW Botha, wanted to turn Woodstock into a coloured area. FYI - In South African Apartheid years, Coloured was (still used today) a term for people of mixed race, normally of Cape Malay descent. Cape coloured people have one the craziest cultures ever, diverse, and so proudly South African. There was major protest at this idea, and it did not happen. Woodstock remained a racially integrated area all through out Apartheid, but was never declared as such.

A humorous look at Cape Coloured language:


AWEH MAY BRU - Source

The increased industrialisation of Woodstock continued, taking up most of the lower part of Woodstock. Factories, many, many clothing, furniture and other sorts opened, and continue to operate in the area. Woodstock became a dirty, industrial area, quite poor, and not very safe. Crack houses and prozzies were all over the place

The early 2000's brought a few advertising agencies, furniture and antique shops (mine was one) to the area. Still not safe, but getting better. Early adapters bought houses in the area, at cheap, low prices.

It all kind of changed when the Biscuit Mill opened. The Biscuit Mill is a hipstery type market, with things like artisanal bread and veggies and all that sort of crap. It also houses the Test Kitchen, one of the top rated restaurants in South Africa. Regardless of my personal feelings towards the market, it definitely brought an air of change, and for lack of a better word, gentrification.

biscuit.jpg

In my opinion, this is a natural progression. The Western Cape is the only province governed completely by the DA (Democratic Alliance - the ANC's major opposition). With that comes a naturally more progressive and developed city, and so there are thousands of people from all over the country moving to Cape Town. The city bowl is full, full, FULL, expensive AF, and it just makes sense that the surrounding areas becomes developed.

This does bring with it a lot of uprooting of poorer residents, and here in South Africa, there is just nowhere to go for the poor people who are in this situation. I don't know how I feel entirely about this, as I cannot stand to see people suffer. A prime example is the case of a poor family who have rented a house their entire lives, and when the ownership changes, they cannot afford the new rentals and must move to the poorer areas without the benefits such as parks, clinics etc.

I do however, firmly believe in Capitalism and the Free Market (I am on Steemit, right?!) This is just the way the world works. I believe that if I have the rights and means to buy a property, I should be allowed to do so. I would say that it is up to the tenants and former landlord, or person I am purchasing from, to find a new place to stay.

Anyway. That is a discussion for another day.

IMG_3165.jpg

Woodstock is still a bit dirty, definitely not safe at night, and only slightly safe during the day. I consider myself pretty street smart, and have made friends with all the neighbouring businesses and their employees, so I also consider myself safe.

Most of the buildings in my road have been sold, cleaned up and converted into retail, office or business premises. On my way to my favourite fish shop (I posted about that here) the other day, I snapped some images of graffiti in the area. It's really cool. I love walking in that area.

IMG_3167.jpg

IMG_3173.jpg

These photos may look familiar to any of you who have seen my wedding photos:

12232806_10153827706527975_4805568123044906137_o.jpg

12719594_10154135687777975_1865110758690201515_o.jpg

I really hope you have enjoyed my long look at Woodstock and it's wonderfully colourful history. I love history and surprisingly know a bit about Cape Town and it's history, so feel free to ask me anything in the comments.


footer.jpg

Please consider voting for @adsactly-witness as a witness. To read what we are all about - click here

adsaxtly-witness.gif

CLICK HERE TO JOIN OUR DISCORD

DQmd5CQG5zLjjm2z8289qcLU6eBHJpC5FmgtR3aC1eXnhsi.png

Source 1
Source 2

Sort:  

@princessmewmew hola!!! I cried a litlle bit for the story of the family you mention, that´s a phenomeno when cities grow and become a power in the economy there is always a group that wants to move to that place looking for a better life, forget that may be where they are is the right place to progress. This places increase poverty, crimes etc, it happens in Caracas, this capital was beautiful long time ago, now is full of ranchos in the hills, and too much insecurity. My son is using steemit to help people to scape from poverty, here in Venezuela the situation is really sad. he is creating a group to invite young people to incorporate and is making the contacts to have enough steempower. One of his friend was becoming mad because she didn´t have food, was becoming really poor and she thought steemit was of no help and left it, my son told her how to make money and she made changes and now she has become other person and her life is changing for better, she is learning , writing poems, stories, she is chef etc.., this people really need people to love them and to teach them to scape from that monster of misery.
My son told me of steemit and at my age i am learning a lot, still I have to grow a lot. Here in venezuela 3 steems allow me to buy food because of the change of coin and I am so happy I do not have to ask people for help, and I am occupied, I know I have to work harder to improve.
My religion ask us to pay teathing and we receive the promise that God will bless us with the things we need. In this month some friends send us three boxes fom germany and usa full of products i did not ask for, they just wanted my family were happy, and some other people send us food etc i consider that as blessings for paying tithing.
Thanks for letting us know about your town, is big and beautiful thoug all the problems it has. Please tell me how i could see the other pictures of your wedding..

that's so amazing to hear, about your son! I truly believe that Steemit and cryptocurrency c an change the world. Living in Africa, we also see the proof, just over 100 SBD is our minimum wage.

I am also so pleased at how Steemit is helping you. It might be difficult in the beginning, but I promise if you carry on trying you will get those upvotes.

Are you in any discords? I find that being part of those communities is really helpful and you meet loads of people that way. If you're not, let me know and I will help you get online

I am so happy your friends sent you those boxes. God is answering your prayers and knew that you needed help xx

What a great post !!!!!!
Ok the language.... kinda Dutch, as it's supposed to be I guess haha!
I <3 CPT reminds me of I <3 CPH which stands for Copenhagen <3 <3 <3
The wedding photooooossssssss awwwww <3 <3 <3 Loved them !!!!!!!!

What an absolutely glorious post of home. I love how you feel about your home and the people in it. It really comes out here.

Some times gentrification is a good thing, some times not so much. But in my experience, once it starts it goes to the finish. Stopping it is like trying to stop the tide.

Of course I love the name. I was a senior in High School when the music festival happened here, and the word itself has been magical ever since.

Thanks for the language lesson and the art and a really wondrous post.

thanks so much Tom. I learnt a lot when writing it. I also enjoyed that

The amount of work and jobs the gentrification is providing is a lot. I see a lot of change in the area, and I don't think it's bad.

Plesh. Glad you enjoyed

Funny how the names of laces are the same all over the world. Now I know about 3 different places called Woodstock. Yours sounds so rich in history and culture. It is so eye-opening to consider how there are places that are just not safe. I am a huge fan of graffiti and the pictures you share here are great. I teach a graffiti unit in my art class each year. It is so much fun.

yeah, dude. as cosmopolitan and fancy as Cape Town is, there are some hectic places. Gun fights and gangsters and all that. South Africa is in some places really dangerous, and in others, perfectly safe.

ahhww GUUURRRLLLL!! What an amazing post! And of course I love your wedding pics, I sometimes wish you would marry again so we could have that day all over again! I also miss that lil coffee shop you had, I loved sitting there with Mork and just hanging out- did I even work back then?

haha! me too. I would have drank a little more, and ordered bigger shoes! lol.

Princess, I have heard people talk about a place called World Of Rustic Frames, I believe its in that area as well? Am I mistaken? My one friend said everything is made from recycled wood she loves it. I was very excited to see your wedding photos because I had never seen, your dress was beautiful and that face your making ....classic...lol . You have quite the handsome beau there! Thanks for sharing.

yes! it's in my road, and next door to the coffee shop spot @pennydread is referring to up there. Did your friend visit Cape Town?

We wanted to have fun, and look back in fifty years, and be like remember when that weird guy did a handstand when we were taking photos?? (this randomly happened when we were shooting)

10648399_10153911848777975_3185881326847189086_o.jpg

That pic is so awesome gives me a vintage circus feel ....the random guy in the middle I mean...lol

Aweh my bru! Wat se jy .... I'm so happy to hear them while speaking in Cape Coloured language of them. It's so funny! Can you speak like them, my sister, @princessmewmew?

hahahah! I can speak Afrikaans, yes, but my accent is not like that. Funny, hey?

Haha.... It's really so funny language, @princessmewmew. Are they entertaining your wedding party that moment?

Oh wow, those photos are really cool! The graffiti doesn't look like bad either, I mean I'm as mad that people spray can paint into walls but I can't be mad at these ones, those were made by really good artists, many of them have different meanings but that's is a matter of another post I think.

Thank you for sharing a bit of your life with us, and the history of where you live.

I love graffiti! Obviously not the crappy kind, but I think it adds such character to a city.

thanks for popping in!!

a very interesting and informative post thanks for sharing

plesh. I really enjoyed doing the research for it

It is great to see how that place has advancement throughout the years.

The difference between the before and after picture is massive.

And the biscuit mill looks like a fun place to visit :P

Cheers @princessmewmew

thank you so much! I also think the changes are great.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63855.79
ETH 3113.00
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.04