Acceptance of Buddhism in Shilla Dynasty and Martyrdom of Yi Cha Don

in #history6 years ago

The acceptance of Buddhism in Shilla Dynasty was latest among countries, Back Jae ,Gogyryeo and Shilla.

As I had posted several times, people seemed to have resisted to accept Buddhism.

King wanted to accept Buddhism to enforce his political power.

In Korean history, the acceptance of Buddhism was a turning point from the chiefdom to the kingdom.

Shilla accepted Buddhism in 527 AD and there was a legend in acceptance of Buddhism.

In the center of the museum hall, there was a monument of pillar style.

P2040212.JPG

P2040219.JPG

The monument was a record of martyrdom of Yi Cha Don for accepting Buddhism.

I heard this story when I was a middle school student. My history teacher explained the martyrdom of Yi Cha Don.

At that time everybody had resisted on acceptance of Buddhism.
People had refused to abandon their local faith.

King ordered Yi Cha Don to build a Buddhist temple. But the novels accused Yi Cha Don of building the temple. At that time king had not strong political power. King could not ignore the resistance of the novels and people.

Yi Cha Don at the age of 22 insisted to execute himself to prove the acceptance of Buddhism is right. So if there happened a miracle, Shilla would accept Buddhism as national religion.

When his head was cut off, the white milk like blood bursted out to the sky and the flower fell from the sky.

As looking at this miracle, it was said that the novels had agreed to accept Buddhism.

I saw this story in this monument

The head of Yi Cha Don

P2040214.JPG

The while milk like blood.

P2040213.JPG

The record was carved on the other side of the monument.

P2040218.JPG

It was first time for me to look at this monument. It was awesome to look at this monument with my eyes. This monument reminded me of my middle school teacher. She was really nice teacher.
She had always praised me in class.

Her care and love made me interest in history.

Thank you my dear teacher.

Sort:  

what a beautiful and well written article about the acceptance of buddhism in shilla dynasty including the martyrdom of Yichadon. The pics tells all the story and shows what humans have gone through. Thanks for sharing with us and have a blessed weekend.

Thank you so much for reading

very good !!!

My history teacher is a handsome guy who just graduated from collegue. But he is really Good at teaching with fun.

FFF (Fight For Fun)
trump.jpgFi

People say, miniatures are children's games. To me, a miniature is like a diamond, 12+ Best miniature toys of the year, you have it? #SoCool #SaveTrumph XD

Wow this looks amazing!

I wonder how much the story has changed over centuries.

South korea where this place .inchon or seoul city

Gyeongju city, south east of Korea

Oh i live in inchon juan of south korea

Incheon... Nah People say, miniatures are children's games. To me, a miniature is like a diamond, 12+ Best miniature toys of the year, you have it? #SoCool #SaveTrumph XD

That's wonderful monument. It keeps the history well

I am a Korean, but it is an artifact that I have never seen before.

Umm, You need to visit Gyeongju with me. Hahaha

I wrote in error because I was in a hurry to write in English. I'm sorry. Thank you for your always great advertisement, and thank you for the improvement in Korea's status.

Very interesting as always, thank you!

Did you ever go to a holocaust museum? I think it might be really interesting to see and to post about

I've never been to the holocaust museum. I'd like to visit there someday

A fact that lags behind in recent history is now present in the post you share. this makes real historical evidence so that historical evidence remains behind, good job brother @slowwalker

The thing, the human mind is built to resist change. It like to cling to its old way and frown to new ideas...after all isn't every path created and owned by God? whatever religion one chooses to thread is as good as the other as long as we are happy where we are. God has allowed these varieties of path simply to accommodate the diverse levels of consciousness. good post there @slowwalker #resteemed

I love your interpretation.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66761.99
ETH 3256.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27