SteemHomework: Why Anne Frank Changed My Life

in #history6 years ago

Anne Frank. When I see this name or hear this name my emotions are immediately stirred. I am both in awe of this girl and I pity her too. Never in my life has someone’s story affected me the way Anne’s did. I first read The Story of a Young Girl as a teenager. I found this yellow-stained book in my mom’s cupboard on one of my very naughty snooping adventures, but this little bit of cheekiness humbled my life in extraordinary ways and as a youngster the tragedy of the author’s life was a rude awakening at how cruel this world can be, but also how as humans, even under the worst circumstances, we can still remain faithful and positive until the very end.

Image Source

A Bit About Anne Frank


Annelies Marie Frank was born in Germany in 1929, but as a child she moved to Amsterdam, Holland with her family, to try and remove themselves from Nazi conflict that started to stir. Their move was to no avail however since in a few years Nazi rule invaded Holland and Anne and her family were forced into hiding. It was during this time (from 1942) that 13-year-old Anne Frank started diarising her time spent hidden in an annexe with family and friends while trying to avoid being sent to concentration camps and possibly death. 

The annexe was a three-story space entered from a landing above an office where trusted employees kept the secret of their hidden guests to their sole discretion. Eight individuals lived together in this tight space for two years, without leaving once. Windows had to be kept closed at all times and food other supplies was brought to them by the office employees, their helpers. This food had to be rationed sparingly, even more so towards the end, leaving the dwellers in a constant state of hunger.

Researchers hint that Anne was a talkative person, optimistic and caring. Her optimism shines through in her diary, where she remains hopeful and determined even on the hardest of days while in hiding. 

Image Source

What Happened To Anne Frank?


Sadly, her story ends in tragedy. Despite taking drastic measure to hide from the Nazi Germans, Anne and her family and friends were discovered in the secret annexe two year later. Her and her sister were both sent to a concentration camp where it is believed they died from typhus only a short while after they were found. The only survivor of the holocaust was Anne’s father, Otto, who was release back to Amsterdam after the war. One of the annex helpers had saved the diary and gave it to Otto on his return. Otto then published the diary of his beloved little girl.

Why I Draw Inspiration From This Young Woman’s Story 


The Diary of Anne Frank is a reminder to not take what we have for granted. It is a reminder of how cruel the world can be, but that it is up to us as humans to push through, to turn the bad in to as much good as we can. Anne Frank humbled me as a teenager, she turned me into an individual who does not take life for granted, but to appreciate life for what it is, it’s life! I am living, I am breathing, I have family, I have friends, I have food, I have water, I have love – what more could I really ask for? 

For her thirteenth birthday on 12 June 1942, Frank received a book she had shown her father in a shop window a few days earlier. Although it was an autograph book, bound with red-and-white checkered cloth and with a small lock on the front, Frank decided she would use it as a diary, and she began writing in it almost immediately. In her entry dated 20 June 1942, she lists many of the restrictions placed upon the lives of the Dutch Jewish population. - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Anne_Frank  

If only this young girl knew how much of an impact her writing would have on the world…


Sort:  

But to appreciate life for what it is, it’s life! I

Great post. It’s so easy to become complacent. Anne Frank is so inspirational and reminds me to enjoy every moment and be grateful.

Glad we share the same feelings :)

The story of Anne Frank is truly profound. I learned about her in school but I don't know if I ever truly appreciated the struggle and the importance until I travelled to Holland and had the opportunity to visit the Anne Frank Museum. It was such an eye-opening experience. It still amazes me to think that these kinds of atrocities happened to people and continue to happen in some parts of the world.

Wow, what a privilege! It must have been bone-chilling being so near to her left presence, and having a deeper look into her life and experiences. Yup, you'd think the world would have learned from their past inhumane mistakes, but sadly it is not so!

I read this diary when I was about the same age Anne was when writing it. It had a profound effect on me. Now here I am some sixty years later, finding myself in the middle of a conflict that will come to an end through more bloodshed. So I have an idea what that family were going through. I admire their courage.

Where are you from @cecicastor? I was chatting to my husband today about the high crime rate we have here in South Africa, but he quickly reminded me that it is nothing compared to the bloodshed in many other parts of the world :(

I live in Nicaragua. We are in the midst of a major conflict and I would go as far to say that we are at the beginning of a revolution. A lot of bloodshed and violence here. The sad part is up until 18 months ago this was a peaceful country with little violent crime. Times can change quickly.

Yeah.. It's truly a tragic story. It brought me to tears, when the first time I read her story.

I read the play version of her diary while I was in High School. I can still picture it in my mind. It has always stayed with me. It was probably what motivated me to document everything in a diary just like she had. I didn't know that her father had survived, so thank you for that.

I actually feel for the father more than anyone, imagine being a survivor after all of that, losing everyone who you as the head of the household had tried to protect. But he really honored his daughter by publishing her words for the world to hear.

I'm sure that must be extremely heart breaking. You're right though, he did the most beautiful thing by honouring his daughter as he did.

Amazing story! The sad and tragic fate of this girl. It teaches us a lot. We really need to appreciate and love what we have. Sometimes it is very fragile and it is likely to lose everything in a moment. We should enjoy every minute of our lives. Thank you for telling me about Anna.

My pleasure, I am glad we share the same sentiments.

Resteemed by @resteembot! Good Luck!
Check @resteembot's introduction post or the other great posts I already resteemed.

This is a great post. I've been wanting to read it for years and you've inspired me to do so.

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77