Stories of the OLD ONES...

in #history6 years ago (edited)

Today I am going to tell you about a man named Bernie. No, not "that Bernie", this gentleman would be over 90 if he was still with us today. Bernie was a great man, raised 4 sons and finally had a daughter. Of course she was a "PRINCESS" 👸 lol

Bernie was also a generous man, a friend of the family. One Sunday, I believe it was my 12th birthday. I saw Bernie and he said "Hey Kid, I hear it's your birthday?" I said "Yes, today is my Birthday!" and he handed me a $5 Bill! This was in the 1970's so it was quite a bit of Moolah! I said "HEY! THANKS!!!" and showed my siblings 😁

Bernie was a retired Teamster, lived in a simple but comfortable house in town. His oldest son lived next door, as the parents were getting on in years. I had my brother and a female companion with me, we were helping his oldest son haul away some junk to the dump. This chick wanted to go to the dump with me, which I was like, "Well, yeah, if you really wanna go?" and Bernie said "They're CRAZY if they don't let you go, Doll!" 😁 😂 🤣 As I recall she was a pretty cute, stacked babe...

Much later, I was talking to Bernie about "guy stuff" like work, careers, money, etc. That is not strictly "guy stuff" but I wanted some input from an older, successful gentleman. He was telling about how he started out as a Bell Boy in what used to be a very fine hotel in our hometown. It was called the Terre Haute House. As you may know, Terre Haute, IN was a "safe house" location for Chicago Mobsters. There were no "interstate extraditions" in those days, and many would come from Chicago for respite from the grind. None other than AL CAPONE was a regular! He was asked by the newspapers, "Mr. Capone, why do you never rob banks in Terre Haute?" to which he replied: "Because I would be caught by a train during the getaway, and put in Jail!" This was Very True, because Terre Haute was the virtual CENTER of the United States for train traffic. Used to have a station called the BIG FOUR for the 4 largest railroads in the country. Still to this day, one can see many railroad tracks passing through the city, but most now converge on Indianapolis. THANK GOD!!! lol

photo credit: NY Daily News

Anyhow, Bernie was a "bell boy" at the Terre Haute house. Al Capone used to frequent the place, and as the story goes, there was PLENTY of "vice" in town in those days, and for a long time after. Gambling, speakeasys, whorehouses, YOU NAME IT. We had it all, in Terre Haute. TIME Magazine even labeled us "Sin City" before Vegas took over the title! I believe this was the 1950's when we got that distinction, on the cover of TIME. So my friend Bernie told me he even carried Al Capone's bags up to his room!!! So I just HAD TO ASK, "Was he a Big Tipper" Bernie VEHEMENTLY said:

NO!!!

Seems Capone was a tightwad, and sometimes stiffed the bellboys 🙄
TRUE STORY!

...........................................................................

Join the new @MBC-MEPS bot at Discord!

MBC DISCORD!



GET FREE COINS! and GET FREE AVIATION COINS!!!

Sort:  

You never know who you are going to meet in life and who those people know. Shall you trust everyone you meet? Only if they are good tippers :P

Haha am surprised capone wasn't a big tipper, Man was larger than life. Really crazy to think your uncle had so much history behind him, certainly lived a hell of a life

I was also surprised! Bernie also said that a good tip in those days was a NICKEL, and thinking about "penny candy" that would buy a good bit of that! How U doing "Eremmy"? :)
PS: he was actually my Uncle's Dad, and that uncle married my mom's sister.

Good story. I didn't know where it was going, but I enjoyed reading it. That's too bad that he didn't get a good tip, but at least he was still generous to you when it was your birthday. Hopefully you invested that in Microsoft stock when you could. ;)

Maybe I bought $5 worth of Bitcoin in 2009? :D

This is hilarious to me knowing your a union guie.

So was Bernie!

Al Capone was just an anti tipper bc you know he knew the true horrors of it....

LOL
Slimey-Limey and his anti-American diatribe,
I'm hoping that was "humor" :P

Team Good Alpaca loves this post! Nomnomnomnom!
teamgoodbanner1.png
Delegate to our project via SteemConnect:
10 SP | 20 SP | 50 SP | 100 SP | 200 SP | 500 SP | 1000 SP | 5000 SP

You got a 43.49% upvote from @luckyvotes courtesy of @minnowpond!

You got a 12.16% upvote from @joeparys! Thank you for your support of our services. To continue your support, please follow and delegate Steem power to @joeparys for daily steem and steem dollar payouts!

Nice post ! You got 37.21% upvote from @flymehigh. Earn free sbd/steem daily by delegating(renting) your SP. We share high return, click here to delegate your sp to flymehigh if you don't know, how to earn passive income by delegating your SP click here for more info Join our discord You can promote your posts. Thanks.

You got a 14.57% upvote from @minnowvotes courtesy of @minnowpond!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 69965.85
ETH 3540.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71