How many seeds in a pomegranate?

in #history5 years ago

There is a legend or a theory that each pomegranate fruit has 613 seeds.

I have heard it on my trip to Israel 2 years ago. Madam who was our guide in Jerusalem told us how their family tried to prove or disprove this assumption couple of times. They bought a fruit, splited and de-seeded it and then counted all seeds. And guess what? 9 times of 10 there were 613 seeds.

So, why 613? As always, Jews have an answer to this question. The number of 613 corresponds to the number of good deeds for jews supposed to do. Because in addition to of 10 Commandments given by God to Moses on Mount Sinai, jews got total 613 laws in Levitian Laws or in the Torah.

The fruit of the photo is splited by my husband not for research or counting, but for enjoying its taste. It looks luke a rose, what do you think?😁😉🧙‍♂️

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Interesting legend, however the fruit is very nice and packed with vitamins.
It looks like flower on your photo.

Thank you for a visit, @nelinoeva! Nice to see you again :)
The seller of pomegranates tought my husband to "open" it so that it looks like a flower

Posted using Partiko Android

Some good information here. Well done

Thank you for a visit, @hananali 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

My pleasure, it was good coming over here

A great shot and thats something I never knew, almost makes me want to buy one crack it open and count the seeds but just almost it sounds like a lot of work to do that lOL

Hahaha )))) When I wrote the post I found 2 funny things. There where a student in some university (fogot details) so enthusiastic that he made a real research. In total, he deseeded 205 pomagranates (!!!!!) and counted their seeds. And he claimed every one had 613 seeds. Unfortunately, the weblink to his website doesn't work ))

The second thing - there are hints and methods how to deseed a pomegranate )) Thus, I think it means there are a lot of interested slackers in the world ))

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol those are fun things you found I know I will be intrigued but probably never count the seeds in one 😂

Never say never.... )))))

LOL but you just said it twice LOL

:D I should be more attentive

Sorry I just could not resist saying that
😂😎

I like your sense of humour ;o)

Тепер мені хочеться купити гранат і порахувати зернятка 😆🤣🤣🤣

Posted using Partiko Android

Карочє! Якшо шо, є спеціальна методика, гранат розділяють у воді, так типу легше, і зернята розкладають по маленьких формочках, щоб легше рахувати :) Але я його так люблю, що як бачу отак розкритий, то зразу їм разом із зернятами, можу ні зернини не лишити )) До речі, наші (азербайджанські) гранати все ж таки смачніші, як на мене, за єгипетські і т.д.

Завтра куплю, порахую 😂😂😂. Тепер мені то спокою давати не буде, поки не перевірю.

Ну-ну, обережно, а то ще доведеться потім виповнити всі 613 добрих справ згідно з Писанням )))

Дякую за цікаву історію та гарне фото!

Дякую, що завітали!

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy tonight zirochka! It is beautiful! And it's super healthy. Do you guys eat the seeds, it's been so long since I've had one that I don't remember if you eat the seeds or not. lol.

Happy Friday, @janton

Yes, I eat whole seeds. The skin it not eatable
Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy again zirochka! oh, and happy Friday. What is the agenda this weekend?
I mean, what are you guys going to do?

Hey you are going to keep growing your account here right? I read something yesterday
which was very encouraging. This was written by a businessman who was calculating
how much could we be earning in a few years.

He ran the numbers with an account size of 20,000 sp. I know that sounds unreachable
at this point but it isn't for a few years down the road. Your account grows faster the more
sp you have.

So in 3 years if you have 20,000sp and the price of steem is $20. which everyone thinks is
every reasonable and attainable, then that account would be earning $6,400 per month!
And even if the price was at $8, which is the highest it's gotten so far, that would still earn
you $2,560 per month.

so the key is to keep building your account and it will grow faster as it gets bigger.
Are you using esteem yet?

Hey, janton! That sounds very interesting. Numbers are impressive, and I do hope I can make it. Thank you for your support and a hope 😊

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy again zirochka! well, you can make it if you keep on what you are doing now, no problem!
At this point we just have to think long-term.

Hello again, janton. Ok, I have been thinking about your words and those numbers. What do you mean earn $2000 in a month?
That fact I have big SP means that my vote will cost much for those who's post I will upvote. So, my SP will bring reward for my friends and more SP for me as a curator.
Where are $2000 for me here? Having a big SP doesn't mean that my posts will have much reward unless I upvote myself. 🤔🙄
Ah?

Posted using Partiko Android

Howdy zirochka! Well I haven't tried to figure out exactly the numbers because I'm not good with numbers and the way steemit works starts to confuse me because I don't completely understand it.

But the way this businessman explained it was if you have a holding of 20,000 Steem, then you can make 80 steem a week from curating. "At $20 each and 320 in a month,(80steemx4) worth a whopping $6400 per month from curation only. Hypothetical yes,but even Steem at it's all time high of $8 would give you a curation return of $2560."

Pretty shocking numbers but I think that is a very reasonable and reachable estimation IF we can get our accounts to that size. AND, if they don't change the structure of the system. lol.

Do what you ought to, come what may :)

Yes, sometimes esteem, sometimes partico. I like esteem for it can keep several drafts. Due to my work I am not always able to write a post from start to end at 1 time. So it is very good to have drafts. I can start my post at home and continue at work etc. I use it ver for Windows, Linux... But its Android version is awful...

Partico have less number of bugs in Android ver, but keeps only 1 draft and as I know, have no thick client for PC

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70733.96
ETH 3563.16
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.76