Hitchhiker's Guide To Actuality | The Prospect & The Challenge - Foreword

in #hitchhiking5 years ago (edited)

A decade ago I never thought of hitchhiking as a real viable option for traveling around different places or even countries, especially considering the far-out prospects that come with it.

The logical mind often has great difficulty grasping the viability of this mode of travel before the first sucessful hitchhike - how am I ever going to reach my destination with so many unknown factors, an undefined travel schedule, and a lack of foresight into the specifics of the travel process?

In our day and age we have gotten really accustomed to traveling on time - when we book flights we do know the exact time and date when we will leave and when we will arrive, we pre-book a place to stay the night after the travel, we largely choose our experience beforehand and everything seems perfectly logical and expected.

In this manner, our conventional modes of travel are reminiscent of going on vacation in another country, only to spend most of our time in a secluded hotel with pool that has very little to do with the actual place or culture we traveled to. It's sterile, it's fake. In a way, one can spend an entire month in another country without ever getting in contact with people who actually live there, maybe except for the barkeeper and hotel roomservice personnel.

Hitchhiking is quite the opposite: It comes with a multitude of challenges, a load of uncertainty and - ultimately - great opportunities to not only meet other people in a more personal way than through conventional modes of travel, but also to meet oneself, through the ups and downs that this way of traveling can provide for those who dare to make the jump into the unknown.

road.jpg


So you want to hitchhike, huh?


Before we dive into any specifics in this series that you need to know let me say that - despite all the negativity, the fear and the "good-intentioned" warnings society generally dishes out to aspiring hitchhikers - it really is a pristine opportunity to grow and learn to become self-reliant. Hitchhiking - despite its uncertainty-characteristics - must be one of those things that has given me the most security in my life, because you learn how to handle yourself, how to deal with the unknown and how to face unexpected changes and hardships in the cosmic flow of life.

Ever since my first successful hitchhikes I know I can do it, I know I am able to travel to the other end of the continent on a budget of zero and that there is always hope even if I were to lose everything I had from one day to the next. With only a few experiences my rational mind has gathered all the proof it needed to realize that we are always connected and taken care of and that most of our fears surrounding the unknown are born out of societal conditioning that keeps the system running as it is, where people choose to pay for a false sense of security that will lead to little if any growth in the long run, more dependency on impersonal ways of dealing with other people and ultimately - keeping the fear of change and challenge alive in the subconscious to a point that we become rigid and stagnant in our rational mind.

dude.jpg


Meeting yourself before you meet anyone else


Through the incredible ups and downs of a hitchhike journey you will learn to become truly free. Granted, it never becomes this automatic thing where you elevate to a new level and never fall back again - even after sucessful hitchhikes we may start doubting our next trip if it's been a while. But then we can easily recall the "improbable series of events" that happened last time and we continue to grow as we gather our courage and sense of capability when we are getting ready to depart to our next journey.

It won't take an hour until you already start recognizing certain things about yourself that you may have never been faced with consciously. Long before the first car stops for you while your mind goes "wow, is this really happening?!" you will see lots of people and cars driving by that won't stop.

You will start to wonder whether the sign you made is appropriate for what you are trying to do. You will start to wrestle with yourself wondering whether you are insane or just very naive in doing this thing that most people regard as crazy. You will start hating on those that drive by with a look of belittlement in their eyes. There will be people laughing at you, there will be little kids in the passenger seat staring at you and waving, there will be people shrugging helplessly as they take the exit to the highway with several cars behind them and no place to stop for you.

It might start to rain, your feet might be getting cold as you stand there longer than expected on your first attempt and there is always this tiny voice in the back of your mind asking you to just abort the mission, bail and walk back home.

BUT, as gruesome as it sounds, this is precisely what you need in order to get into the flow and to break through all the doubts in the way of the process unfolding.

It's like standing on a surfboard the first time in your life, being thrown off by the waves time after time, while all you can think of is how elegantly and effortlessly people on TV you have watched in the past ride the waves like it was nothing. Being a beginner can really suck - but then, everyone starts out a beginner. And as you get this idea trying to encourage yourself you have already taken the first step to a new mindset - the choice to have faith in yourself and your mission in light of the seemingly insurmountable resistance exerted on you by the environment.

And funnily enough, when I look back to my first hitchhiking travels - this realization of "everyone starts out a beginner" and "it will be alright somehow" is usually the moment the first driver stops for you with a big smile as if he were just hoping to find you standing there, gesturing you to hop in :)

driverstops.jpg


To be continued...


Image sources:

unsplash.com
unsplash.com
unsplash.com


Thanks for stopping by <3

Sort:  

I have done it many years ago and didn't enjoy it really. It was out of need and I had no choice at the time. Each time I had many surprises on the way and I think it takes a certain type of person to do it. Good to know your thoughts though.

aye, the experiences can vary for sure and i still opt to not always do it these days as it never becomes totally easy, it's more like a constant retackling of deep-seated self-doubts and disbelief that it actually works, even after great experiences.
thanks for sharing your thoughts <3

Der Weg ist das Ziel ;) - I love hitchhiking - traveled all over Europe this way...and I met so many kind and interesting people. I've never started hating on those that drive by with a look of belittlement as I know they are all heading somewhere which is fixed in their daily routine and I'm standing here free to go wherever it takes me and even enjoying the time just standing there and watching my surroundings ;)

I agree completely. Sometimes they carry a certain way of surprise and even jealousy about them as well and after a while it becomes easy to wish them well regardless ;)
Thanks for dropping by psio

I hitchhiked the first time last year when I went to Steemfest 3 and around Europe after.

What you describe here is really accurate; the way you are faced to deal with uncertainty can teach a lot about oneself. It's an uncomfortable feeling, but no wonder, as it's an effort to edge further from order, to the border of order and chaos. A place that can be frightening to explore, but one that can also come with unexpected reward: the people, the stories, the perspectives you meet along the way, and the self-discovery. And of course, the series of unexpected events that takes you to places you didn't even foresee going.

Posted using Partiko Android

Totally spoken from experience, I wholeheartedly agree!

I've only hitchhiked once in my life and wasn't alone. I knew I was protected. I'm very happy to read your post because I've never thought about what's going on in a hitchhiker's mind while standing at the side of the road waiting for a car to stop. It's a lot actually.
Excellent writing, keep it up and I'm looking forward to the next part.

I am by no means a pro considering the people I have met on my travels, but I do have a few long and tough experiences in experience that I still draw strength from to this day.
Thanks for dropping your thoughts @erikah, will get to the actual series within the next week

I know, some people make a lifestyle out of it and they are doing great. I guess it takes a lot of courage and depends on which country you are in. Some countries are considered safe or pretty safe, and people are friendly while other countries are very dangerous. In any case, I'm wishing you luck and safe journey, may your dreams come true and please continue writing.

I have merely hitchhiked around europe, so anything regarding the other countries and palceso nEarth I hear from other people.
As I will write in this guide, it's mostly dependent upon energetics. I know people who have hitchhiked south america without any issue or moment of threat, i also know people who have had the most horrible experiences right in the heart of europe, hitchhiking major cities in short distances.
Thanks again for all your lovely feedback, I think I've been holding back on these stories for way too long and it does help me self-reflect to hear your passionate response. Will get to it this week as soon as there is some space for it, much love!

I guess it depends on luck as well among other things.
Please write about these things if you feel like it, it can be very helpful for other people. I'd love to read more. Much love to you too :)

This post has been selected for curation by @msp-curation by @clayboyn and has been upvoted and will be featured in the weekly philosophy curation post. It will also be considered for the official @minnowsupport curation post and if selected will be resteemed from the main account. Feel free to join us on Discord!

Thank you so much <3

I'm looking forward to reading the next part :) You have a hitchhiker soul. From your words I can see that you love hitchhiking. You sound very passionate.

I've only hitchhiked once in my life. I think it was about 15 years ago. I still remember how my heart rate was going up, the insecurity, thinking if I will get there the same day and I also remember that I hated those drivers who wouldn't stop :) Fortunately, it didn't take too long for a car to spot and take us but I must say that I didn't really enjoy the process. I think hitchhiking is not for everyone. I admire souls like you who love to do it though :)

Thank you for sharing and have a great weekend!

Thank you for the kind words <3 willdefinitely do this topic justice in this series, I think I have gatehred a lot of self-reflection through the process, especially considering rh specific stories which I want to link during and after the series is finished.
much love!

Wooaw.... Stunning writing you have in there. You have really come this far in hiking and knows a lot. Great piece of knowledge poured out to the world, especially the very few who gets the chance to read it like I have.
Thanks a lot and hope to read more about your adventures

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much @ferrate, I feel honored for your lovely feedback. Aye, next parts will follow this week and a few offshoots with the specific stories apart from the "general guide"
<3 <3

Wooo... I can't wait to see them then. XD
You are welcome by the way

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi paradigmprospect,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

You guys are such a blessing, thank you <3 <3 <3


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much for your support <3

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63134.74
ETH 3052.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81