[ENG/中文/日本語] The HK-JP-SG cultural challenge – Japanese Etiquette and Izakaya/日本禮儀與居酒屋/日本のエチケットと居酒屋

in #hkjpsg6 years ago (edited)

Hi Everyone! This is my entry to the HKJPSG cross-community culture challenge! As I don’t know much about Singapore, I have chosen Japan as my topic and am introducing one of my experiences in Japan that may represent the culture of Japan to you!

I was thinking a lot about what cultural topic that best represents the country when doing this write-up. To me, Japan is a really great country with endless cultural topics to write about. Its innovation and industralisation are among the best of the best in the world. Its technologies are always at the forefront. The country produces some wonderful vehicles that are affordable and reliable. Japanese comics are much loved by fans all over the world (I am one of the super fans of One Piece!). And, the AV industry, a men’s paradise. The list goes on and on and it’s quite hard to choose a topic from the list. Finally, I have chosen ‘etiquette’ for my entry. It gave me a great impression and a big impact when I visited Japan last year. I guess the Izakaya culture has something to do with etiquette in Japan. How they are probably interconnected? I want to share my view with you and hope to hear from you.

禮.png

I visited Tokyo September last year. I felt great about the city’s tidiness and etiquette. When I arrived at the International airport at 5am, I didn't know where to take train heading for the city centre. I turned to a customer services staff for help and she was patient and courteous enough to explain everything to me. During my stay in Tokyo, I felt that good manners were alive in every shop and restaurant I went to. Staff of those shops and restaurants were really friendly, helpful and courteous. It’s something you hardly find in Hong Kong and Hong Kong can never catch up with. But then I found out something quite strange. On the four-day trip, I saw some people laid drunk on the street of Shibuya. And all people just stay outside until the last train. To me as an outsider, that is not quite a good thing to do in Japan if one has to maintain etiquette. One question came straight to my mind: why some Japanese people may do something in public that may not be in tune with etiquette? After the trip, I kept searching for a possible answer reading a number of articles. I found a conclusion that I would like to share it here. I have no intention to be offense and rude to anyone. What I am going to say has no hidden or offensive meanings. And I hope my Japanese friends will give me some feedback and tell me what Japanese may think about this.

DQmaf1cXgEE7fJNeYVQ1cA4aKYxHrkUrQA9FHyxajuJUt8g.png
I took the photo at Shibuya

Here is my conclusion:

Japan is a very ceremonial country and is probably the most ceremonial country in the world. Although China is called the "state of etiquette," I believe Japan outperforms China in many aspects. How ceremonial it can be? Let me give you an example: Japanese don’t talk on the mobile phone on subway as they find it to be disturbing to other passengers. They don’t do make up or eat in the carriage to respect self and others. I don’t think there is another country like that where people can be that considerate.

That said, a substantial amount of etiquette may have mounted some pressure on Japanese who seem to need to pay attention to every part of etiquette: Directly rejecting others can be a taboo; people may have to use evasive tones to make people feel comfortable. Table manner is another etiquette territory. While in the workplace, employees must be polite to superiors and respect them, thereby can’t have personal opinions. At home, even mothers may garnish lunch boxes for their kids to the possibly highest degree. Lunchbox making may be an extended territory of etiquette where beautifully garnished lunch boxes may let kids feel proud in front of the class. The pressure may have driven Japanese to do everything the best.

20160223-115650_U5217_M131053_d6c5.png
(photo source: http://www.storm.mg/lifestyle/82865)

This uptight atmosphere may have given Japanese a lot of pressure. To loosen up, some people seldom go home earlier right after work. Instead, they go to the izakaya and unleash pressure by alcohol. I saw many izakaya bars in Tokyo that offered an ‘all-you-can-drink’ drink list. Patrons at the izakaya seemed to be at ease and completely unwind: drinking, laughing and untucked clothing. These people were completely different from what I had thought and experienced about etiquette. To me, izakayas are a hideaway for many people to be true to themselves and stay away from etiquette for a little while.

Is etiquette just limited to Japanese themselves? One time I was riding the Tokyo subway and whatappsing with my colleague about work. Suddenly my phone rang and it was the colleague calling me. I was afraid it’s something urgent and picked up the phone and talked for a few minutes. When I hung up, I remembered that I cannot talk on the phone on the train! But when I looked at people around me, no one cared. Was it because it’s impolite for them to stop me? Or they just knew that I am a foreigner so they didn’t mind?

Etiquette seems to have created a boundary where rituals seem to be exactly followed. Rules are here and there from table, home, make-up, dressing, to even workplace manner. I remember that if someone cannot pick up the phone within three seconds, the person has to say “Sorry for keeping you waiting so long”. Another scenario I remember well is one must strictly goes after a house rule on where to take off shoes once entering a house! All these things may have mounted pressure on Japanese and may have fuelled the scene of izakaya in Japan.

To be honest but not offensive, foreigners may somewhat feel the Japanese culture to be somewhat perverted (please don't mind me saying this, I hope everyone can be open minded. If my Japanese friends are not feeling comfortable with this, I’m sorry about this). The AV culture may be an outlet for some Japanese to dump pressure, the more perverted it is, the more effective the outlet may be. So we can see men going nude and flashing in front of females on the street; erotic role-play games at brothels in AVs, as well as Nyotaimori, crazy games in mid-night adult TV shows, all of these are, probably, unique in Japan. I believe, all these are the by-products of etiquette pressure in Japan.

6-18.jpg
(photo source: https://www.naukrinama.com/stressbuster/nyotaimori-the-weird-dinner-where-food-is-served-on-naked-models/5/)

I have never lived in Japan. What I can understand the culture is to have read articles and relied on personal experiences in Japan as an outsiders. I don’t know if it’s true or not. So I want to take the chance to ask my Japanese friends how they feel about etiquette in Japan. Thanks for reading!


中文版本

大家好!這是我參加HK JP SG三地文化挑戰的文章!由於我未有去過新加坡,對新加坡的認識沒有那麼深,所以這次我選了日本為題,介紹日本的文化。

當我在想介紹日本哪個文化時,想了很多,對我來說,日本是很厲害的國家,他的創意、工業都位於世界前列,它的漫畫遍佈全球(我是One Piece的忠實粉絲)、它的設計首屈一指、它的汽車是全球最受歡迎之一,還有它的創新科技,往往打破常人局限,當然還有香港男生最喜愛,經蒼井、歷吉澤的AV文化。但最後,我決定了選擇這個主題,這是我上一次去日本感受最深的,日本的禮儀與居酒屋,兩者如何能拉上關係?讓我一一道來。

禮.png

上一年的九月,我第一次到日本東京旅遊,日本一直給我的感覺就是乾淨、有禮貌!果不其然,我記得我剛到東京時是早上五點,我完全不懂坐鐵路,但是機場的職員有耐心的為我解答。然後我每去一家店,每到一家餐廳,店員的禮儀是香港完全不能及的。不過後來,我發現了一些問題,在短短的四天旅程,我見到了涉谷街頭醉倒在地的人,所有人都像在外等到最後一班列車來了才願回家,我在想,他們的壓力來自哪裡?從很多的文章中,我很出了一些想法,我希望在這裡分享一下,我希望這些分享不會冒犯了日本的朋友,也希望日本朋友對我這些想法作出一些回應,讓我了解真正的日本是如何的。

DQmaf1cXgEE7fJNeYVQ1cA4aKYxHrkUrQA9FHyxajuJUt8g.png
我在涉谷拍的

我的想法如下:

日本是一個很重禮儀的國家,我想應該是全世界之最吧,雖說中國「禮儀之邦」,但我想這名用在日本更為貼切。如何禮儀?讓我舉個例子:日本人在地鐵是不會講電話的,因為這樣會打擾其他的乘客,他們也不會在車廂裡化妝或飲食,我想在世界其他地方應該看不見吧!

但就是這樣的禮儀,讓日本人造成很大的壓力。日本人在很多的細節,都要講究禮儀:不能直接拒絕別人,要用婉轉的語氣讓人家自己體會;如何吃完一頓飯都要禮儀;作為員工,日本人要對上司保持有禮,不能有太多的意見;就連母親為孩子準備午餐盒,都要用盡創意,才能讓孩子不會失禮;當然,就是要把每一件事情都做得最好。

20160223-115650_U5217_M131053_d6c5.png
(photo source: http://www.storm.mg/lifestyle/82865)

就是這樣的環境,讓日本人充滿壓力,日本人下班往往都不會回家,而是走到居酒屋喝酒減壓,我在日本看見很多任飲的居酒屋,走進去的時候,他們給我的感覺完全不同,開懷大笑,衣服都隨意打開了,跟我印象中的日本人完全不同,我想,這個時候才是他們做回自己的時候吧。

我記得有一次,我在東京坐地鐵,同時和公司同事用訊息討論工作,突然他打電話來了,我以為是重要的事情,就不自覺的在地鐵裡談了幾分鐘的電話。當掛起電話時,我才想起在日本的地鐵是不能講電話的!但當我看向身邊的人時,他們竟然是連看都沒有看我,是因為禮儀的關係不敢跟我說,還是知道我是外國人所以不介意?我不知道。

這樣的禮儀,讓日本人做什麼事情都有規矩遵守,吃飯有規矩,仔細到筷子的擺法;衣著有規矩,不化妝是不能接受的事;職場有規矩,就連電話響多過三次才接聽也要說一句讓你久等了,就連進門如何放鞋子也有規矩。這些種種,讓日本人充滿壓力,也讓解壓的居酒屋應運而生。

在禮儀的同時,日本也有很多讓外國人覺得變態的事情(請不要介意我這樣說,我希望大家能以客觀的心態看待這件事,如果日本的朋友認為這是冒犯了,讓我在這裡說一聲抱歉)。日本的AV文化舉世聞名,還有在街上向女生裸露、風月場所的角色扮演、還有女體盛、深夜的變態綜藝節目等,都是日本所獨有。可能,這都是日本人的壓力造成的吧。

6-18.jpg
(photo source: https://www.naukrinama.com/stressbuster/nyotaimori-the-weird-dinner-where-food-is-served-on-naked-models/5/)

我從沒有在日本生活過,故只能從文章和幾天在日本的體驗嘗試了解日本這一項文化,我不知道自己了解的是對是錯,故我希望借著這次挑戰,從日本朋友的口中,了解到真正日本人對於這一種禮儀的態度,謝謝各位觀看!


日本語版(Google Tranlateで翻訳)

皆さんこんにちは!これはHKJPSGの異文化間文化チャレンジへの私の入り口です!シンガポールについてよくわからないので、私は日本を私のテーマとして選び、日本の文化を代表する私の経験をあなたに紹介しています!

私は、この記事を書いているときに、その国を代表する文化的な話題についてたくさん考えていました。私にとっては、日本は、終わりのない文化的な話題を持つ本当にすばらしい国です。その革新と産業化は、世界最高の最高のものです。その技術は常に最前線にあります。手頃な価格で信頼できる素晴らしい車をいくつか生産しています。日本の漫画は世界中のファンに大いに愛されています(私はワンピースのスーパーファンの一人です!)。そして、AV産業、男性の楽園。リストは頻繁に続き、リストからトピックを選択するのは非常に難しいです。最後に、私は自分のエントリーに「エチケット」を選んだ。去年日本を訪れたとき、私は大きな印象と大きなインパクトを与えました。私は、居酒屋の文化は日本のエチケットと関係があると思います。彼らはおそらくどのように相互接続されていますか?私はあなたと私の意見を共有し、あなたから聞いてほしいと思っています。

禮.png

私は昨年9月に東京を訪れました。私は街の整頓と礼儀について素晴らしい気がした。私が午前5時に国際空港に到着したとき、私は市内中心部へ向かう列車に乗る場所を知らなかった。私は顧客サービスのスタッフに助けを求めてくれました。彼女は私にすべてを説明するほど忍耐強く丁重でした。私が東京に滞在している間、私が行ったすべてのお店やレストランで良いマナーが生きていると感じました。それらの店やレストランのスタッフは本当にフレンドリーで親切で丁寧でした。それはあなたがほとんど香港で見つけることができないと香港は追いつくことはできません。しかし、その後私はかなり奇妙なものを見つけました。 4日間の旅行で、渋谷の通りに酔っ払った人がいるのを見た。そして最後の列車まではすべての人が外にいます。アウトサイダーとして私には、それはエチケットを維持する必要がある場合、それは日本で行うことはかなり良いことではありません。一つの疑問が私の心にまっすぐに浮かび上がった。なぜ日本の人々の中には、礼儀に似合わないかもしれない何かを公にすることができるのだろうか?旅行の後、私はいくつかの記事を読む可能性のある答えを探し続けました。私はここでそれを共有したいという結論を見つけました。私は誰にも犯罪でなくて失礼であるという意図はありません。私が言うことは、隠された、または攻撃的な意味がないことです。日本人の友人からフィードバックがあり、日本人がこれについてどう思うか教えてくれることを願っています。

DQmaf1cXgEE7fJNeYVQ1cA4aKYxHrkUrQA9FHyxajuJUt8g.png
私は渋谷で写真を撮った

ここに私の結論があります:

日本は非常に儀式的な国であり、おそらく世界で最も儀式的な国です。中国は「礼儀の状態」と呼ばれていますが、日本は多くの点で中国を上回ると信じています。どのように儀式ができますか?私はあなたに例を挙げてみましょう:日本人は地下鉄の携帯電話で他の乗客に邪魔していると感じるので話しません。彼らは自分自身や他人を尊重するために貨物を補うか食事をしません。私は、人々がそんな思いをすることができるような国があるとは思わない。

それは、かなりの量のエチケットが、エチケットのすべての部分に注意を払う必要があると思われる日本人にいくらかのプレッシャーをかけているかもしれない、ということです。人々は避けやすい音を使って人々に快適感を与えなければならないかもしれません。テーブルのやり方はもう一つのエチケットです。仕事場では、従業員は上司に丁寧で尊敬しなければならないため、個人的な意見はありません。自宅では、母親でさえ、子供のためのランチボックスをおそらく最高級に飾ることがあります。ランチボックスの作成は、美しく装飾されたランチボックスが子供たちにクラスの前で誇りを感じさせるような、エチケットの延長領域になる可能性があります。圧力は、すべてのことを最善を尽くすように日本人を促したかもしれない。

20160223-115650_U5217_M131053_d6c5.png
(写真提供元:http://www.storm.mg/lifestyle/82865)

この気高い雰囲気が日本に大きな圧力を与えたかもしれない。ゆるくするために、仕事の直後に早く家に帰ることはほとんどありません。代わりに、彼らは居酒屋に行ってアルコールで圧力を解き放つ。東京では、「飲み放題」の飲み物を提供する居酒屋がたくさんありました。飲んだり、笑ったり、服を脱がせたりした居酒屋では、居心地が良かった。これらの人々は私がエチケットについて考えて経験したものとはまったく異なっていました。私にとって、izakayasは、多くの人が自分自身に真実であり、しばらくの間、礼儀から離れているための隠れ家です。

エチケットは日本人だけに限定されていますか?私は東京の地下鉄に乗っていて、同僚と仕事をしていました。突然私の電話が鳴った、それは私を呼んでいる同僚だった。私はそれが緊急の何かであり、電話をピックアップして数分間話したことが恐れられました。私が電話を切ったとき、電車で電話で話すことができないことを思い出しました!しかし、私の周りの人を見ると、誰も気にしませんでした。彼らが私を止めることは無礼なのだろうか?それとも、彼らは私が外国人であることを知っていたので、彼らは気にしませんでしたか?

エチケットは、儀式が正確に続くように見える境界を作り出したようです。テーブル、家、メーキャップ、ドレッシング、職場でさえも規則があります。 3秒以内に誰かが電話を受けられない場合、その人は「すごく待っているのを残して申し訳ありません」と言わなければならないことを覚えています。私がよく覚えている別のシナリオは、一度家に入ると靴を脱いでどこで家のルールを厳守しなければならないかということです!これらのことはすべて日本人に圧力をかけるかもしれないし、日本の居酒屋の場面に燃料を供給したかもしれない。

正直ではあるが攻撃的ではないように、外国人は日本文化をやや妙に感じるかもしれません(私はこれを言っても大丈夫です。これにつきましては申し訳ございません)。 AV文化は、一部の日本人が圧力を逃がすための出口であるかもしれません、それが変わるほど、出口がより効果的になります。だから、私たちは、男性が街頭の女性の前で裸で、点滅しているのを見ることができます。エロティックなロールプレイングゲーム、AVの売春宿、Nyotaimori、深夜の大人のテレビ番組での狂ったゲームなど、これらはすべておそらく日本固有のものです。私はこれらがすべて日本のエチケットの圧力の副産物だと信じています。

6-18.jpg
(写真提供:https://www.naukrinama.com/stressbuster/nyotaimori-the-weird-dinner-where-food-is-served-on-naked-models/5/)

私は日本には一度も住んでいません。私が文化を理解することができるのは、記事を読んで、日本人の個人的な経験を外部者として信頼することです。私はそれが本当であるかどうかわからない。日本の友達に日本のエチケット感を尋ねる機会を与えたいと思います。読んでくれてありがとう!


Thanks for spending your time to read my articles. I like to share stories of Hong Kong. I wish you may support me and I will keep going!
謝謝你能抽空閱讀這篇文章,我平日喜歡分享香港的故事,希望大家多多支持,我會繼續努力!

follow_aaronli.gif

Sort:  

Upvoted on behalf of the dropahead Curation Team!

Thanks for following the rules. Your post will be Resteemed by @dropahead!

DISCLAIMER: dropahead Curation Team does not necessarily share opinions expressed in this article, but find author's effort and/or contribution deserves better reward and visibility.

Help us giving you bigger upvotes by:

Upvote this comment!
Upvote the latest dropahead Daily Report!
Join the dropahead Curation Trail
to maximize your curation rewards!
Vote dropahead Witness with SteemConnect
Proxy vote dropahead Witness
with SteemConnect
Donate STEEM POWER to @dropahead
12.5SP, 25SP, 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP
Do the above and we'll have more STEEM POWER to give YOU bigger rewards next time!

News from dropahead: How to give back to the dropahead Project in 15 seconds or less

I think there's many extremes in every culture, in Japan as well. I do know that if they want to do something, they will do it very well, almost to perfection.
For example like cleaning, I would say its the best in the world.
In film, anime, they're also the top. So also for the AV industry, and Otaku side, they are also at the extreme ends of 100%. That's my personal feel ahaha.

Yes Yes I agree with you! It's so called the 匠人! I really appreciate!

I observed that Japanese are very discipline !!
Hospitable and they love their country than themselves.

yes really discipline! I can't think of another country like that!

You are right!

Last picture is so creepy.... I have never seen this like that at where I live but I guess Tokyo is different! Many strange things there!

haha. So only seldom places have the last photo?

I love this post, a really awesome writeup.

I love this user too, a really awesome man

One of the etiquette is don't be busy body. So when you make mistakes that is your problem...

how can they not be busy haha. Always work and work and work

So when you make mistakes they are not free to advise you.

It's good! I can keep making mistake in JP~~XDD

Nice to meet you! My name is Yotaro in Japan! !
I found a post from the tag of # hkjpsg!

It was a very interesting post!

Hi Yotaro nice to meet!
I have followed you!

Thanks for your reply! Do you have any comment about my post?

Thank you for your reply!
For comments, this post will be the first time! !

I dont think there is a law forbidding the use of mobile phone in the trains. Japanese usually think of others first before themselves so they refrain from talking on the phone. Usually they will move to a corner and speak softly.
One think I like is that you can eat in the trains and no one will leave any garbage behind.
In cafe, fast food restaurants and food court, patrons are also expected to return their trays and all of them do so automatically. Some shops even have disposable wet towels for us to wipe the tables, hence reducing the need for cleaners.
Oh by the way, in Singapore, you can also eat in the trains. Just prepare $500.

Your last few words are sooooo brilliant😂

Really? I never saw people eating in train before haha. I just found they even talk very quietly

During the time when the tsunami hit, they were queuing for their aid to be distributed. I am not sure if there are many countries in the world that will do that.

from I know, they already have training about it when they are kids

partly because of the earthquake training

Haha, @aaronli you know about real Jpn very well... I was an office worker for a long time and I should have catch a phone call within 3 times. Over 3 times, I needed to say "Excuse me I kept you waiting". I really didn't like working as a general worker, so I quit. lol
And yeah... I often feel more freedom when I live in overseas because... our society feels a bit narrow minded. I think we have some great culture like food, Manga, traditional thing... but you know, Japan is island. so not only a few people think "we have great things" and not trying to see or experience more beautiful, exciting things in all over the world.

I love the culture with "character" , so I really enjoyed staying China(Sichuan and Hunan) and Korea, and other countries because I felt like there's their "own culture" and feels more dynamic... But anyway, thank you very much for sharing with us your awesome post, and Thank you very much again for your Japanese translation. This is excellent! resteemed.

From what I know, people in Japan treat "freelancer" as no job. Is it true?

Yeah... kind of... but I think there is a position as "freelancer" more than... maybe 3-5 years ago. But still Jpns companies prefer to work with people who are belonging to some company or NPO(Nonprofit Organization) or... something like that. In my opinion, that's also why we, Jpns don't need to think about Encryption currency because we just use cash from company to company... very delayed from the overseas.

But I know that there are many crypto exchange right now, even there is TV AD!
in HK, many banks just ban crypto haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05