My new hobby is getting expensive.

in #hobby5 years ago

Diecast cars don't cost the world as normally they are mass produced but the equipment to make them look like new costs a fortune.

I have been trying for a while now to find a way to paint my cars without having to spend a fortune on spray paints and there is a way.

To buy a spray gun,

I am not talking about an industrial one that they use in auto body shops, the one I need is a little one that they use on cakes and other small objects.

After searching around hobby shops the cheapest I have found is in a mates shop who told me that he has one in for £120, my mouth opened when he told me.

I have found one on the internet for £40 and I thought that this would do the trick, but my mate has told me otherwise.

He told me that the machine that I have been looking at is cheap for a reason, they are prone to breaking down and the compressor to pack up after a short amount of time.

and the spray gun can get blocked after one use which to me would be a real bummer spending £40 to use something once.

Spray paint right now cost me around £8 ago, and if a car has two colours then that is setting me back £16.

I have bought some paints that can be used in spray guns and that is where it comes cheaper, the paint only costs £1.70 and that will do a few cars before I need to buy anymore.

I did however buy some items that I thought I needed, tweezers, scalpel and super glue today while I was out, this I got from the pound shop that is close to my house.

Last night while I was out driving I had a phone call from the misses to say, how many cars do I need, a little confused I sent her a text back with a question mark, for her to message me to tell me that I have a little collection of 100 cars that over the past couple of weeks I have built up.

Today she even told me how much I had spent on everything and it is coming close to around £400 which to me is good value, but to her, Well she's not happy.

I don't know what to do about buying a spray gun, anyone have any ideas or a second hand one I could buy from you than that would be a bonus.

steem to the moon guys

@artonmysleeve

Sort:  

Any model clubs around your way? They might have some kit you can borrow or use at meetings maybe?

I never thought of that, that is something that i can look into thanks @pennsif

Hi @artonmysleeve!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.472 which ranks you at #6840 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 9 places in the last three days (old rank 6831).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 203 contributions, your post is ranked at #89.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75