Customized Sports Figurines - Two Football playing Brothers from a Montana High School

in #hobby6 years ago (edited)

It has been a while since I have posted an article about my sports figurine customizing hobby so I finished a pair for two brothers from Helena Capital High School in Montana for their high school graduation. Actually they are half brothers and the mother of one ordered the figurines for them when they graduated this past weekend.

034.JPG

As always I work with the customer to pick the poses they like. The two boys played line, one was a center and the other a defensive end. I showed the mom a number of poses and luckily for me she chose two that required minimal work to achieve the final pose. The two poses are shown below, a Kevin Mawea for the center and a Ray Lewis celebration pose for the DE.

29666104_10156352642309444_1970539667_n.jpg51WEE9ZB83L._SX466_.jpg

I had to redo the left arm of the center pose as she wanted his arm out from the body and with a bare fist, replace the gloved right hand, add the leggings and a different helmet. I had to replace Ray Lewis' bare hands with gloved hands and same with the helmet, needed to replace it and the head, add leg pads and tape the ankles.
Here are the two figures in parts after being taken apart.
IMG-4125.JPG

Here is the new left arm and replacement hands for the center pose. I also had to sand off the elbow sleeve on the right arm and a play sleeve on the new left arm which came from a QB Pose.
IMG-4163.JPG

A picture of all the parts on the center pose, the hands have been added. The brass rod is for attaching the left arm to the body. I had to do a little putty work to make the fit work, plus a lot of fittings as I had to be careful the arm didn't run into the leg once the body was put back together. In the picture below I had not sanded off the tall socks or make the leggings. I made the leggings with teflon plumbers tape. The wrists were later taped also using 1/8" pinstriping tape.
32482927_10156463281484444_3478661336366317568_n.jpg

For the Lewis pose I had to sand off socks and add the ankle tape. Note the gray primer I use after doing sanding and other alterations. It allows you to spot imperfections so they can be fixed prior to final priming and painting.
IMG-4161.JPG

In the pictures below, I have added the leg pads using sculpting putty. Notice the use of an engineers scale to help create the leg stripe decals. I also added some length to the right leg pant as it seemed too short to me with relation to the left leg. This required that I add the right leg and glue it in place, as I had to sculpt over part of it. You can barely see the leg in the second photo.
IMG-4172.JPG
IMG-4171.JPG

Skipping a number of steps ahead, the helmets both had a lot of little "pride" stickers, a skull and cross bones and a bears head (team mascot are the Bruins). Here is one of the actual helmets.
24257669_10213533922735172_999906616_n.jpg

The little stickers are made with clear decal paper so once printed I cut them out, sometimes in patterns and sometimes as singles, and apply them. The singles are very tiny so it becomes very time consuming to apply a lot of them.
33661700_10156491457704444_2424436569608814592_n.jpg

And skipping a few more steps, here are the final pieces:
001.JPG
003.JPG
005.JPG
007.JPG

018.JPG
020.JPG
022.JPG
024.JPG

And here are the boys after they received their figurines at their graduation party. This is the best part, looking at the people who get these.
34276628_10214927459372717_2867075177580068864_n.jpg

Thanks for checking out my blog on my custom sport figurine hobby. Please feel free to comment, I love to read comments from people.
@bigskycustoms

Sort:  

Amazing work man. Love the little details you did on the helmet.

Hi bigskycustoms,

Your post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Keep creating awesome stuff! Have a great day :)

LEARN MORE: Join Curie on Discord chat and check the pinned notes (pushpin icon, upper right) for Curie Whitepaper, FAQ and most recent guidelines.

well you really really enjoy the american football, and your toys destroyed and rebuild by yourself were very hard work.
have a nice day.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-06-06T02:32:15
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 376.25/200.00
Total Photos: 61
Total comments: 3
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.40 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Did you recommend my post?

Yeah. Last night. When I first woke up this morning it still had not been approved and I was worried that it didn't go through, but it was accepted shortly after that.

awesome! Thanks. Couldn't have come at a better time, I was getting a bit down on my lack of upvotes on my past week of posts. You saved me from abandoning Steemit.

That's what we're here for. Haha. Glad your sticking around.

This is awesome stuff @bigskycustoms! So much detail, this takes real talent and patience. Great work dude!

Thanks Jeff, this is my hobby but I don't crank them out very often so my posts on here are only occasionally. Luckily for me a Curie sponsor spotted it and gave me their blessing.

Hi! This is jlk.news intelligent bot. I just upvoted your post based on my criteria for quality. Keep on writing nice posts on Steemit and follow me @jlkreiss to get premium world news updates round the clock! If you like, just upvote my comment! 🦄🦄🦄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87