Jigsaw Puzzle Mania

in #hobby6 years ago



It began last winter when evenings seemed so long and dreary with practically nothing to do.

I was given 3 boxes of jigsaw puzzle and thus began my journey into quiet thrill and stress.

It feels absolutely exhilarating when a puzzle is completed and terribly frustrating when I am going nowhere with those mini pieces of cardboard. Oftentimes, large swaths are almost the same colour; inconspicuous variations of shade or pattern. I promised myself that I would go get a magnifying glass to inspect the fine details.



I recently read on www.drnewtons.com that jigsaw puzzles promote the relationship between the left and right brain. The logical left brain looks at individual parts. It is sequential, rational, analytical and objective. The left brain is stimulated by problem solving. The creative right brain sees the big picture. It thrives on randomness, is intuitive and subjective, and even likes the unfamiliar. Jigsaw puzzles satiate the needs of both the left and right brain.

In other words, solving jigsaw puzzles gives your brain a total workout.

To-date, I have done about 40 jigsaw puzzles ranging from 300 to 1000 pieces per puzzle. Here comes a serious problem. After completing each puzzle, I am torn between framing the beautiful picture or dismantling the puzzle pieces and putting them back into the box. After all the effort, it is mentally difficult to break up the puzzle and put it into that cold box again.

image

image

image

If space and budget are not a concern, I could purchase puzzle saver adhesive sheets to preserve the finished puzzles. I received a puzzle stow and go mat for a Christmas present. So thoughtful of the giver to enable me to bring along any puzzle on my travels.

Thank you for allowing me to share my hobby with you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.039
BTC 70112.96
ETH 3549.99
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.71