I made it back into the gym!

in #holofit5 years ago

Yesterday I ventured back into the gym, now that my piriformis muscle has somewhat recovered from the excessive amount of overtime that I had subjected myself to over the last month and a half.

It was the same gym as always, and I've noticed that there was a huge drop in my general cardio-vascular fitness - evidenced by the fact that it took me a whole 12 minutes to cover 2 kilometers on the treadmill, something that I had until recently been doing in about eleven minutes consistently.

That's a pretty significant degradation if you're talking about percentages.

Weights, on the other land (literally) felt really good. I don't feel as though I've lost any strength through my back or legs, and managed to power through multiple, heavy exercises without too much difficulty.

Today, as a result, I have some soreness in my forearms, suggesting that my grip strength had weakened a little bit, or at the very least, I had to managed to successfully isolate enough to get some destruction of muscle tissue through that area.

In any case, I feel good.

I will be continuing to work on my core at least two sessions a week, which will be coupled with cardio. The remaining three days of training will be strength based, and I will be doing 5x5, which is 5 sets of 5 exercises, each day, three days a week to build strength through compound movements and slowly increase the weight.

Then, after Christmas, I'll return to a functional style of training.

At least that's the plan. I've just got to be consistent now.

Sort:  

Go get is Holoz0r! Cardio is boring but a healthy heart and lungs, plus the energy boost is always worth it. Loves me the compound lifts! good luck with your 5x5 linear gains..

That does sound like some great workout plans you got there to get back on track!
Soreness always feels good in my books :)
We certainly hope to see some Actifit reports from you!

rulersig2.jpg
@mcfarhat - @Actifit Founder
Vote for Actifit as a Witness
Delegate to Actifit 10SP| 20SP| 50SP| 100SP| 250SP| 500SP|
1000SP| 5000SP| 10000SP| 20000SP| Custom Amount
Chat with us on discord | Visit our website
Download on playstore | Download on app store
FAQs | Text Tutorial | Video Tutorial

I've got the app, but the lack of integration with the FitBit really stops me from tracking my activity accurately!

I've been intermittently reporting my activity on my alternate account, @holozaps - but I've been very lazy.

Yea it is on the hot list as one of the most requested items now. Good news is that wearables and Fitbit are a next major milestone we are working towards :)
Yea just saw those few reports, I guess you took the first step of fighting lazy by going back to gym. Awesome!
If you have the android version, we made posting friendlier with the latest update, you might want to check the latest version.
We're aiming high to keep our progress quite fast, we even launched our own witness last week.

Hi @holoz0r!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 4.979 which ranks you at #1095 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 41 places in the last three days (old rank 1054).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 348 contributions, your post is ranked at #60.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Some people are already following you, keep going!
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63901.15
ETH 3133.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.05