Nature At Our Doorstep - Learning At Our Fingertips

in #homeschooling5 years ago

F9F98722-E9E2-429F-B404-92F53A2C9678.jpeg


I walked by the patio door and did a double take. I was hoping I really didn’t see it but there it was, nicely stretched out on it’s web. I began making noises of terror and did my over dramatic breathing while holding my heart. I walked slowly away from the door holding my breath as I went to tell the kids what I saw. My daughter says calmly,

We already know mom.

I said why didn’t anyone tell me this massive spider was out there? Then my daughter replies,

Because we knew you would react this way.

😏


My kids know me well. I talk a big talk about wanting to garden and build a homestead but I’m not sure if I would survive the creatures I come in contact with. I am so terrified of bugs and insects that can do harm.

This spider is quite the looker though. You notice the bright yellow spots and the two toned legs at first glance. Although it seemed to be minding its own and not worried about all the clatter we were making, I needed to check if it was poisonous. This led us to another nature lesson right outside our door.

EF061DCA-F040-46EB-994D-65A1466548B5.jpeg

Yellow Garden Spider

4ECE30F1-7A7A-4A31-A4B3-AA0B6E3C9FFA.jpeg


The spider species Argiope aurantia has several names; yellow garden spider, black and yellow garden spider, golden garden spider, writing spider, zigzag spider, hay spider, corn spider, or McKinley spider. These spiders produce venom that is harmless to humans, but helps to immobilize prey. They are not aggressive and will only bite if they feel threatened. Their bite feels equivalent to a bumblebee’s sting.

When you see one of these spiders you will notice a distinctive zig zag pattern in the center of the web like the one in the above photo. This zig zag serves a few purposes:

1. It helps conceal the spider from other predators.
2. It allows birds in flight to see the web before they fly straight into it and mess up all that hard work the spider did.
3. It is a false target for insects to land on. They may think it’s another stem or twig in the meadow.

They keep their webs clean and free of debris. In a nightly ritual, the spider consumes the circular interior part of the web and then rebuilds it each morning with fresh new silk. The fine threads that she consumes appear to have tiny particles of what may be minuscule insects and organic matter that may contain nutrition. That sounds like a sophisticated spider to me. 😁

One of their favorite foods to feast on are grasshoppers because they make a pretty hefty meal. If the spider is disturbed she will quickly drop to the ground and hide or she will oscillate her web vigorously while remaining firmly attached in the center. This makes it more difficult to see her and may make her appear larger than she really is.

Notice how I am referring to this spider as a she. The female spiders make these massive webs while the male spiders make smaller webs next to the female or even within her web. When you see one alone in a web it’s most likely a female. Also, the males are smaller and less striking in appearance with brownish legs and less yellow coloration on their abdomens.

Now this next part was funny to me. The males court the females by plucking on her web but they are smart in doing so. Just in case the female attacks him, he already has a drop line ready to get away. 😄 Smart fella! Especially since these female spiders can range up to three times larger than males.

The sad part we learned was after mating the male dies and is sometimes eaten by the female. My kids did not like this part and talked about how unfair that was. I explained that every species is different and has it’s own way of life. Even though this situation seems unfortunate everything was created and designed for a reason and has a particular purpose.

D9DD40A7-67F4-4CB9-BD5F-4CD543534571.jpeg

Thank you for joining our nature lesson today! I hope you enjoyed and learned something new!

Adventure and Learning is all around us. All we have to do is look at nature to be enlightened and amazed.


@crosheille ~

All photos are my own and were taken with our Cannon EOS Rebel T6.

source 1

source 2

9857245E-4AD9-4B29-8B75-7E60098C91BD.png

NWM Discord LInk.jpg

2AD2DF16-A855-4E8F-849F-AC4E1C759CAD.png

8BAAE613-5DAE-4D06-81BC-1D4D042CF6DA.gif

3ABFB6B9-C625-4DD3-848A-6A5E788BB3AA.png

D74216FC-504A-4DF5-BD00-E0E05EBEB717.png

B397566E-2439-4214-90B9-79E28BA30D25.png

20180516_002249_0001.png

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

60068819-057B-4483-A075-C8DCF5443E8C.gif

36C3CA27-C416-4EF9-A971-1E7949BE1909.png

E8BD8D29-F7AC-4E6C-B93E-E9D18058F150.gif

C2E37979-7545-4AAF-B61F-F27E75482934.jpeg

526C421F-0293-4B68-8ECE-574CE43B8DC3.jpeg

765675CB-72C5-4F23-807D-BB7FBF8150DE.jpeg

14F5AECF-9480-4C13-BA92-20E6671ED5C1.jpeg

D01813C2-2DB8-4E9A-98F4-449EB7932AC2.jpeg

Logo/Banner created by @rigaronib!

Sort:  

I really enjoyed that post. Of course, your kids are funny, like most kids. They grow up to patronize us :)
Your explanation for the zigzag pattern was especially interesting. This is really one mean-looking spider--nice to know most humans (who aren't sensitive to spider venom) would not be harmed. Poor crickets...what a way to go.
I look forward to reading more of your posts.

Thank you so much for reading and glad to know you enjoyed it :)

Haha don’t they though? They crack me up! It’s so hilarious how they do us.

Yes the zigzag was one of the most interesting things we learned. I am so relieved to know the venom won’t harm us.

Thanks for your visit ~

So your kids were just waiting quietly for you to react, Kids will be kids i guess, it does look beautiful and big

thanks for all the info on it

!trdo

Congratulations @tattoodjay, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @crosheille!
@crosheille got 0.37791000 TRDO & @tattoodjay got 0.25194000 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site

Lol yes they were just waiting for the moment I saw the spider! 😄

Thanks for reading and for the trdo tokens!

MOst welcome and kids love tormenting adults but I should not be surprised I am sure I was the same when young LOL

Have a great day

LOL yes they do! I know for sure I loved doing that to my parents back then.



This post has been voted on by the SteemSTEM curation team and voting trail. It is elligible for support from @curie and @minnowbooster.

If you appreciate the work we are doing, then consider supporting our witness @stem.witness. Additional witness support to the curie witness would be appreciated as well.

For additional information please join us on the SteemSTEM discord and to get to know the rest of the community!

Please consider using the steemstem.io app and/or including @steemstem in the list of beneficiaries of this post. This could yield a stronger support from SteemSTEM.

Thank you so much for your support @steemstem!

I call myself the girl of nature but I will never ever be friend with spiders, lol

Hahaha that’s so funny! I used to be outside all the time growing up and loved nature. I guess the more I understood and knew the more terrified I became lol. I agree, spiders and I can’t be friends. 😄

We are letting her hang around though, she’s fun to look at...well at least for the kids. They are learning a lot just by watching her in action :)

That's really interesting and cool for the children's knowledge :)

I have only ever seen one spider similar to that where I live, it was in forest area so only photographed it's beautiful web with it inside and left again.

Spiders do insect control so best to leave them alone, lovely photography and great information thanks @crosheille

Yes they are very beautiful spiders and I enjoyed photographing this one. I’m glad you liked the photos, thank you :)

Yes we are letting her be and keeping our distance. The kids love watching and learning about her.

What a wicked female spider she is! Nature is quite amazing not so! I'm not so afraid of spiders, but I'm petrified of snakes even if they're not poisonous. We do see them in our garden although not often, thank goodness, probably because they're more scared of us!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh yes nature is so amazing! Oh gosh I’m not too fond of snakes myself. Lol yes I’m sure they are just as scared!

Thanks so much for the visit ~

This post is supported by @tipU upvote funded by @cardboard :)
@tipU voting service + profit sharing tokens | For investors.

!tipuvote 3 :)

Thank you so much for the generous tip!

I can imagine how surprised you must have been. She is actually a very beneficial spider to have in the gardens and around the home. She is a great predator. I have a few that hang around my flower gardens and they do a good job of keeping other insects under control.

Oh yes I was very surprised! That’s great to know! I found it quite amazing learning the females are the dominant ones in their species. I can imagine how much she keeps away from your plants.

Thanks for the resteem :)

You are most welcome!

If it's any consolation or help, you do become better at coping with the bugs when you're coming into contact with them so often in the garden. I guess its also a choice; If you really want to garden, you find ways to deal with them. Gloves help!
I can now touch things with bare hands which would previously have freaked me out. Spiders I still handle with care, however. This is Australia, after all! Lol! I had a huntsman (tarantula family) bite me once and I could feel the pressure of its bite through the thick rubber of my gloves!!

That is good to know, I just can’t ever see myself that comfortable lol! But hey anything is possible. 😄

Oh absolutely, I plan on purchasing the thickest gardening gloves ever! Oh gosh that’s scary. Did you have any marks of the bite on you or did the gloves take most of it? Yikes! 😳

I don't think we ever get entirely comfortable with these things, but learn to compartmentalise.

No marks, thankfully the gloves took it all. I just felt the pressure, which surprised me. The back of the gloves is actually just cotton, so I'm glad it didn't bite down there! Usually if you touch a leg it moves away and I was trying to get it into the dustpan to move it. I touched the leg and it grabbed my finger with all legs and chomped down, making me jump. My daughter ran squealing across the garden! Glad I was wearing the gloves, but I may not have been so brave without them anyway.

Oh my goodness I just visualized what happened and I probably would have fainted. I can’t imagine seeing a spider grabbing me with all eight legs...yikes! I’m so glad you had on those gloves.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02