ASK - A Gathering For Self Directed Learners - Logo Design and Presentation!

in #homeschooling6 years ago (edited)

ASK04.jpg

ASK will be held for the first time in 2019! It is a gathering for families and individuals who are or are considering to unschool, worldschool or homeschool, and individuals who are generally interested in self-directed learning. The festival will take place the 6th of June - 9th of June 2019 on the Danish island Bornholm.
It is an all volunteer event, a space for meeting like minded individuals, exchanging experiences and knowledge, laugh, dance, walk, talk, play and sing together.

That's what my dear friends who are arranging this gathering wrote in the introduction post for ASK.

ASK01.jpg

The name "ASK" has a double meaning - first the english meaning to ask which goes well with the philosophy of self directed learning, where the child is encouraged to ask about their interests and the things they want to learn. To actively dive into the learning journey, taking it the direction they wish, driven by their natural curiosity.

Secondly in Danish Ask means Ash (tree). It refers to Ask Yggdrasil which is the Tree of Life in the Northern Mythology - the foundation for Scandinavian Culture and history.

So when I had to do the logo design for this gathering, I naturally thought of a tree.

DSCF0875.JPG
first sketch - I already liked the first sketch that came out, so it turned directly into the actual outline

DSCF0876.JPG

I actually planned to do the coloring digitally in illustrator, and started to do so, but I'm not the digital kind of artist, and it was a long time since I used illustrator for anything else than turning my drawings into simple vectors and I had to use my partner's macbook (since I didn't have illustrator installed on my new laptop - which is windows, as I'm used to, since I cannot afford mac..!) - So, mildly said I had some troubles and before I threw my partners macbook through the room to get even more troubles - I decided to color it by hand! It looks so much nicer anyway! ( at least when it's me making it..!)

BUT, I started coloring, and got reminded that I used a non-waterproof pen for the outline..! (and I wanted to color with watercolors! basta!)

DSCF0903.JPG
as you see the black floating out in the watercolors - no go!

So I had to trace the design onto a nice piece of aquarelle paper (good thing in the end, since the paper is nicer and it looks better without the black outline!

DSCF0875.JPG

And on to the colors

DSCF0883.JPG

DSCF0885.JPG
office view.. :)

DSCF0886.JPG
Leaves - okay, big goof, I should of course have drawn ash tree leaves! I don't know why I didn't think about that when I was drawing, but for some reason just generic leaves came out.. well.. If I hadn't told I'm sure no one would have noticed.. :S

And finally the two finished logos - I'd still keep the black and white design for simple uses, when the logo just have to be simple and readable, and the colorful one for posters and banners and stuff :)

DSCF0902.JPG

I also made a white version of the black and white one, which looks good on a colored background.

If you want to know more about this Super exciting festival (I'm definitely gonna go, and really stoked about it!), check out the webiste , facebook page or facebook group

Thank you for stopping by! <3


@frejafri

20180516_002249_0001.png

Join Us On Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

SteemArtistsBanner_72dpi.png

Sort:  

The colouring is beautiful :) I remember colouring in Illustrator being ridiculously hard, so am not surprised you had dramas XD Back when I used Adobe products and did lineart (so about a hundred million years ago XD) I used to do lineart in Illustrator because the vectors gave the nice smooth lines and then coloured in Photoshop because that was so much easier.

I had to look up what ash tree leaves looked like and they would definitely have looked good, but I do think for purposes of a logo it reduces to the black and white version and would resize a lot better with the leaves as they are so good design choice there ;D

thank you for the constructive comment! Well yes, I guess coloring would maybe have been a better idea in photoshop, but I'm kind of happy that I got a push to color by hand :)
Thank you for the comment about the leaves! Yes you are probably right! :D

I like this! First, because the idea of self-directed learning is an interesting one. I've done it all my life despite being educated in public schools. I hope this goes well for you.

I totally love the logo, the symbol is perfect, the design is perfect, I mean the tree and A S K letters. Couldn’t be better and more appropriate. I am telling you again, you are very talented.

Good luck with your upcoming event and may many parents and kids join you.

Wow it's sooo cute. Sounds like a really interesting festival. I like the idea of ASK. Driving own learning thru curiosity can be what current educational paradigms lack.

Posted using Partiko Android

That is a very good logo. Thank for laying out both how and why you made it like that. I like it a lot.

Interesting to see the steps explained and in pictures. This makes me wanna start yet another hobby / learn to draw :-D
Good stuff, I also like the Yggdrasil theme.

Congratulations @frejafri! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Very nice @frejafri, I love how the colors blend so well together! You're a talented artist mama!

I really like this logo, @frejafri :) The design is lovely, and it conveys friendliness and growth (through asking questions) (and learning!) Very nice colours and I love the round framing <3 Well done !

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64029.44
ETH 3157.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.02