A day in the Life! Imaginative play and a Turkey Soup RecipesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homestead5 years ago

IMG_8222 2.jpg

Today was cold! Like pretty cold. Now, I don't like winter, so when I say cold, it was probably 40 F... So of course we made a hearty soup. Then once we were all warm, we decided to take a stroll and see more of what our property had to offer. Farm Boy decided we were explorers finding a new land, and Farm Girl spotted a Sapphire Bird that was being hunted by poachers. It turned into a very fun game using our imaginations, climbing over fallen logs and crawling under thorny bushes. Even though I'm an adult, I love me a good game of "The ground is lava!"

IMG_8252.jpg

After we were finished exploring it was time to get back to work. I needed to take care of the chickens. This means feeding them, scooping poop, refreshing their waters (I do this 2-3 times a day because the geese like to sit in the water bowls even though they have a pool), and being followed everywhere I go.

IMG_8217.jpg

So I'll let y'all in on a secret.... I am a pretty decent cook. My best meals are ones that I make up as I go. I am not a recipe user and often I don't keep track of what I did. And this recipe is truly no different. So if you make it, just change anything to what you want, flavor, spices, ingredients. Its really a guideline to end up with a tasty soup.

IMG_8239.jpg

Chunky Turkey Soup

2 cups chopped turkey or chicken
1 onion, diced
2-3 stalks celery diced
1-2 carrots diced
Minced garlic
2 small potatoes peeled and diced
1 cup corn kernels
4 cups stock
1/4 brick of cream cheese diced
1/4 cup shredded parmesan
Tarragon(or oregano), garlic powder, white pepper, salt

Saute onions, carrots, celery, and garlic. Add turkey, stock, spices, and potatoes. Let simmer until the potatoes are tender. Add your cheese and stir and stir and stir until they are fully melted. Ring the dinner bell and you are done! We ate ours with crackers and home grown salad. It was very soul warming and delicious. Let me know if you make it!

Sort:  

Congratulations @andiekins! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 10 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemWhales has officially moved to SteemitBoard Ranking
SteemitBoard - Witness Update

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

ok!!!

  1. girl after my own heart. I hate winter - 60 is cold to me. who am i kidding??? 70 is cold to me.

  2. have you ever said "Farm boy, fetch me that pitcher?" if you know what that's from... then i truly love you.

and 3. i'm the same way - my kids love my recipes on the fly! they're always like - you're the only person who can take random things from the cupboard and make deliciousness ehehehe

loved this post andie :)

  1. I wear sweaters when its 90 out.... Can never be too warm :)
  2. Its inconceivable that someone wouldn't know where that is from!
  3. So glad someone else gets it!!!! I need to be creative people.

LADY!!!!!!!

I'm in love with you! Hahahahaha

I live in Cali. It was 75 degrees and I wore Ugg boots and a winter coat. Seriously!!! What's wrong with everyone else!?!?!

Inconceivable? You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means! Lol

And yayyyyyyyyyy. We just became steemie friends!!!!! 😍

And I just realized my numbering system was wacky on my first comment hahahaha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63594.33
ETH 3039.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10