Making your own fermented tea, because Kombutcha is a great source on probiotics!

in #homestead5 years ago

When I started studying homesteading, These were the second video producers I found. I am still watching and learning from these wonderful people! I have stopped following several sites, because they were making big mistakes, but I have found none here! She is also 100% right on pure, not tap, water, and letting it cool; a SCOBY does NOT like to be cooked! Come to think of it, I dpn't like it too much either, LOL!

Here is a how to on fermenting tea, called Kombutcha:

I agree with her on this fluoride scare. There is enough History on tea, both fermented and not; that shows real health benefits for me to worry about this. I think they look for ANYTHING they can use to slow healthy diets down. On one hand they tell me that fluoride is dangerous in teas, and on the other hand they tell me that the fluoride they add to the drinking water is perfectly safe...why should I believe them about anything without investigating it first?

She is very talented at this. The best way to start is to buy some refrigerated Kombutcha from a health food store, and make your tea (NO TAP WATER!) with sugar, and pour in an ounce of the purchased Kombutcha. The white SCOBY will form in a few days to a week. Taste it, and when it tastes good remove the SCOBY, and bottle and refrigerate the Kombutcha.

Other uses for Kombutcha, if it gets too strong:

If it is too vinegar tasting, here are other uses for the Kombutcha. I like the salad dressing use. It is always better, if you make it fresh! It doesn't get any fresher than this. :)

Using it in salad dressing:

Here you still get the benefits of the probiotics. This is a great way to use the excess, and make some custom salad dressing, and it can be used for a marinade for grilling too.

I trust these people, they are a great source of information for homesteading use!

Konbucha is an acquired taste, so try several different types, until you find one that tastes good to you. I find that black tea with lemonaid is my favorite. I am trying some Oolong tea right now, I will let you know. I figure I like the tea taste, so I might like the kombucha from it.

I have seen two tablespoons to one quarter cup of sugar for a quart for the fermentation to work on. I currently use about a third of a cup here. The bottom line is use that tastes best for you.

Some people add sugar after a week for a second fermentation to add carbonation to their tea. I am thinking about trying that myself. I got some organic tea in from Kenya that is a LOT stronger that I will try soon too.

Sort:  

yeah yeah yeah..bully for you. I'll stick with my Mountain Dew.

Not very good for the gut, but I like mountain dew myself. Expanding your input types is important to keep healthy. Go to a health food store and buy some, you might (heaven forbid) like it, LOL!

The refrigerated pickles are a good buy, because they are good, and crunchy. Refrigerated saurkraut is great, as long as you do not boil it to death!

So get some ferment, it will make you healthier, and youcan blog more, ROFLOL....

:)>

lol...yeah I haven't had Mountain Dew in years, I was just teasing. We make sure we get fermented food quite regularly.

That is good to hear; fermentation is good eats anyway, LOL!

Have you started on your First Aid Kit yet?

:)>

your brain is fermented.
I passed the request on to Mrs. J and she's thinking about approving it..I think she will.
No one is tighter than she is when it comes to money.

I can only hope it stays that way, LOL!

First Aid kits are critical to have, well supplied of course!

I may be a close second on the careful money things, LOL!

:)>

Curated for #informationwar (by @wakeupnd)

Ways you can help the @informationwar!

@wakeupnd, thank you for thhe curation! It looks like you lost the Troll, congratulations! I am thrilled, and @informationwar is still my favorite tag on steemit!

Have you considered weku, for expansion?

:)>

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64742.01
ETH 3172.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.10