Growing food from scraps update July 8th: Yukon Gold Potatoes and Blueberries harvestedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homestead5 years ago

The potateos that formed eyes in our kitchen were cut up and calloused and used to grow more potatoes. Besides taking the chunks out we would otherwise throw away these potatoes.

I placed them in the ground and many months later I had three foot tall flowering potato plants.

Once the flowers started dying off it was time to dig up the spuds. And we got two to three times what we placed in the ground.

Some were real small, the size of raddish. But others were a nice size. These in the photos are all Yukon Gold potatoes. We also harvested an Irish potato plant and it produced a few large spuds.

There was a sweet potato chunk placed in the middle of the raised beds. I checked on it while pulling up the Yukon Gold potatoes but they were not ready yet. So hoping in a few months I'll have a sweet potato or two to harvest.

Blueberries were harvested as well. It's still producing more but I think it's at peak production right now. Probably going to make a pie out of it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

very cool!
Love this

and I will definitely look at some new techniques fro growing
Also, thanks for presenting on #pypt @pypt

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT



Hi bluefinstudios the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

@bluefinstudios nice.. if you come up with any good ideas let me know. I may try too. No worries glad you liked it.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @solominer!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.666 which ranks you at #5310 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 1058 places in the last three days (old rank 6368).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 193 contributions, your post is ranked at #30.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thank you so much for participating in the Partiko Delegation Plan Round 1! We really appreciate your support! As part of the delegation benefits, we just gave you a 3.00% upvote! Together, let’s change the world!

keep growing
its good

@o4wx yeah we were talking about starting a second crop since its only half way through our growing season right now.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @solominer! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 53000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 54000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hi, @solominer!

You just got a 3.95% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Good job,, send me some potatoes...lol♥

Posted using Partiko Android

@nevlu123 Haha the potatoes might be a little old and beat up by the time they get to you. But when I eat them I'll think of you.

@solomimer hahhha.....ok bro wait for that...

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations on your harvest! My blueberries are still a couple of weeks away from being ripe. I hope you get some sweet potatoes. I've never tried to grow those; just regular potatoes. Let me know if you figure out what to do with the tiny spuds. I've never come up with anything!

@goat-girlz thanks so much, this is the biggest potato harvest I've had. Last year we planted a single large potato but learned you can cut them up so we got many more this year.

Aww well I bet they will be delicious when they are ready.

We will probably roast the little spuds whole.. and cut up the bigger ones.. I wonder if those little ones means I harvested some plants too soon. Though most of the plants had betwee 1 and 4 spuds growing on the plant.

Posted using Partiko Android

I always get the tiny ones too. I don't harvest until the plants have died. The potatoes tend to be bigger that way. There's nothing like a homegrown potato!

Posted using Partiko Android

@goat-girlz oh okay.. we waited until the flowers were dying. Maybe next time I'll wait until the plant dies off. I may go for a second round of growing potatoes this year, I think I can harvest before November when the frosts show up. Yeah they sure are good.

@solominer same here.. I started another batch of red potateos. I think we can get another crop out of them before the warm days end.

Posted using Partiko Android

Love how you're growing food and experimenting with different methods of growing. Glad I saw this on PYPT.

!SHADE 1
Thanks for engaging with posts presented on PYPT



Hi katrina-ariel the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

@katrina-ariel nice, makes me happy that others are seeing this and have interest in it. Thanks for checking it out.

Posted using Partiko Android

Loading...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63547.08
ETH 3070.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83