2019 Pepper Season - Part 1

in #homesteaders5 years ago

Welcome to my 2019 Pepper Season

Another spring is on the horizon so that means it time for this dude to start germinating his peppers. Most super hot pepper varieties take a while to germinate and grow to maturity. I've had some orange habanero's take a month or more until they've finally sprouted out the ground. So with my short growing season here in Central Canada it's difficult to get enough time to get a decent crop out.

Peps2017.jpg


Toad Divide.png

The GreenHouse

Hut.jpg

This is a little green house i constructed a few years back. Easy to assemble and take down, it's just cardboard lined with tinfoil which i found out is not actually as reflective as I first thought it maybe(approx 70% reflection rate).

Hut1.jpg

It does the job though, I run a 1 by 2 inch length of lumber a across the top to hang my 100watt LED light bulbs. I always use daylight spectrum for the light bulbs, its especially beneficial for seedlings to get this spectrum as it promotes a healthy vascular system.

hut2.jpg


Toad Divide.png

The Species

Here are the varieties I will be starting first, as I mentioned earlier super hot varieties can take longer to germinate. I have a few more that I will start like Brazilian Starfish, Paprika, Banana Peppers, Bell and Jalapenos but not for another couple weeks yet for those ones.

Variety.jpg
Orange Habanero, Scotch Bonnet

Variety1.jpg
Jamaican Red Mushroom Peppers

Variety2.jpg
Chocolate Ghost Peppers, Carolina Reapers

Variety3.jpg
Red Safi Scotch Habaneros, Yucatan White Habaneros


Toad Divide.png

The Seedlings

So far I've had a lot of success with the Red Jamaican Mushroom Peppers. All of my seeds of that variety have sprouted and now I have 12 Seedlings growing. Unfortunately none of the others have even roots peaking out yet. Which worries me a bit since I do want to grow a variety of peppers this year. But as i mentioned before some of these species can take up to a month to germinate and it's only been a week, so I will cross my fingers that the rest come along soon.

JRM.jpg

JRM1.jpg

JRM2.jpg

Hut3.jpg


Toad Divide.png

Well wish me luck because I may need it with getting these little ones all germinated. Thanks for checking out my post and as always keep Blazin4Steem!


earth tribe.png











banner.jpg

Sort:  

upvoted 100% and resteemed! love peppers! i start mine tomorrow morning. well some of them. hope to get some more soon. would love some seeds from you. let me know and i will send you some sbd for some seeds.

Nice. Are those your colourful peppers in the thumbnail pic, from last year?
Aluminum foil does the trick for a good price. Much better than nothing!

Yep. Thats a small part of my 2017 season. Foil is ok but flat white paint is the best. 95% reflection.

Mylar is one of the only things better.

Congratulations @bluntsmasha! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 24000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62796.11
ETH 3045.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85