Lovely Things & Slowing Down (a Little)

in #homesteaderscoop5 years ago (edited)

Can you imagine a lovelier place to be born? Spring blossoms, the scent of lilacs wafting in the air, a cozy little nest. I feel such gratitude to be witness to such loveliness.

I'd like to curl up in that little nest and sleep for a day or two.

Today I am taking some time to just observe and soak up everything around me. We've been busy, too busy really and I'm fully aware that my tendency to want to get everything done leads to missing the depth of beautiful moments. I see but I don't allow myself the time to soak it in deep.

I run myself dry in process and everything loses its lustre. My brain is cloudy and everything aches right down to my toes. I don't have to work like this, but I can't help myself. Old habits die hard and I'm known for my strong work ethic and ability to push hard. I've got big visions, wonderful dreams and it almost pains me to stop and rest - but my body rages and today I'm going to be kind to myself and listen.

Instead of striking things from a long list, I'll cut some lilac blooms and arrange them in a vase and I'll resist making the twenty different lilac items that I've got marked down on my big old wish list: vinegar's, flower essences and oils will have to wait. Today I am just going to enjoy these flowers.

I'll pick spruce tips to munch on while I wander with my camera. I'll resist edging the lavender and getting those last three beds in the garden planted. I'll ignore the weeds that are trying to out compete the carrots. The laundry, the chores, the garden, it can wait. It can wait because there's beauty to soak in and a weary soul to replenish.

IMG_5645.jpg

IMG_5663.jpg

Proud member of @homesteaderscoop @naturalmedicine @tribesteemup @ecotrain

You can also find walkerland around the web

Homesteaders Co-op Shop | walkerland.ca | Facebook | Pinterest

Botany & Wildcrafting Course by Herbal Academy

naturalmedicine.jpg

image.png

Sort:  

Ahhhhhh! My second spring has arrived! :))

I work like crazy, but then my body forces me to stop and I spend the rest of the day either puttering around or enjoying what's around here. The list will be there tomorrow....

It will, the list never goes away does it? and I really try to remind myself of that but at my heart I'm a stubborn work horse :) I love how I get to peek into your garden and get inspired before mine starts!

How lovely. And so wise, to take the time to enjoy without doing. Nothing better..a better natural medicine than a panadol to ease those aches and pains, especially in the warm sunshine. I made hubby pull his sick couch by window in the sun and he is the calmest I have seen him since operation... watching parrots and sparrows and honeyeaters until he fell asleep. ~ @RIVERFLOWS

oh that is so lovely and basking in the sunshine while resting, is truly the best. I didn't actually take the time but another day soon I will. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66438.74
ETH 3268.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.39