Homemade Hand Lotion Thnx To @thefarmerswife Recipe & Video

Last week I came across a fellow steemian, homesteader and lady I find an exceptional value with in her mothering skills, steemit posts and all together a FABULOUS person. She had a Dtube video about making your own hand lotion.

@thefarmerswife has some of the best posts sharing her life as a... yes, it's true, a farmer's wife, mother to many, a homeschooling mom and her life in general with so many crazy and hectic days. If you aren't following her yet... do it now! You will NOT be sorry.

lotion4.jpg

Aloe Vera, Coconut Oil & Oatmeal Hand Lotion


I took the basic recipe from @thefarmerswife's video and added a few additional personalized ingredients to the recipe.

I have been growing Aloe Vera through the winter inside and it has grown to a tremendous size (which I will be transplanting to a larger container hopefully this week) and I had been looking for recipes online on how to utilize some of the gel. LOW & BEHOLD- I see the video last week using about two large stems of the plant. EXACTLY what I had been seeking!





Recipe


  • 1 1/2 cups Coconut oil
  • 3 large Aloe Vera stems (scrape out gel inside)
  • 4 Vitamin E capsules
  • 1 tbls Tea Tree Oil
  • 2 tbls uncooked oatmeal (powdered through food processor)
  • 1 tsp powdered & dehydrated cucumber skin
  • Essential oil - 20 drops ( I used Bergamot)

Mix all together in a food processor until smooth and the coconut oil is completely blended with other ingredients. Spoon into glass jars. Ready to use. EXTREMELY oily for dry skin. This lotion is so creamy and decadent!



When I decided to customize the recipe, I added the oatmeal, cucumber skin, Vitamin E and Tea Tree Oil because I was mainly making this for my mother who suffers from extremely dry skin and dermatitis. It was given as a gift for Mother's Day, as well as two bars of my Goat's Milk & Oatmeal homemade soap for her.





Join Link: https://discord.gg/VKCrWsS
Community Link: http://homesteaders-online.com

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

This is something I would love to do so have bookmarked it, thanks.

I make my own natural loose incense and think I should do a how to post on it - so much better than shop bought stuff; as I imagine this lotion is.

(I now have 6 seedlings haha.)

xox

AWESOME about the six seedlings!!! Can't wait to see the flowers blooming for you this year!!

Loose incense? OH please- YES! do a post! I would love to see how you make that!

Your incense sounds amazing can you share that?

What’s a fabulous post. So inspiring . Good work sista! Aloe and coconut oil are two of my favourite things. Coconut oil is plentiful here in Costa Rica but mynaloe is slower to grow but coming along slowly but surely. I just have to hold back on using it which is hard 😉

That looks so amazing. I would love to try it too. Content like this inspires me a lot. I love all home made products. Thank you sharing your recipe.

You're welcome!
I have to admit, steemit and all the homesteaders I follow constantly inspire me to do more; from making more homemade chemical-free health and beauty aids to recipes and gardening and preserving... steemit truly is an inspiration for me.

Rosemary Gladstar, if I am remembering correctly, uses aloe in at least one of her lotion recipes. She just cautioned that the aloe will go bad fast in hot climates.

Maybe the tea tree oil helps keep the buggies away??

Thanks for sharing @goldendawne!

It probably was Gladstar- she is a wealth of information.

Luckily I don't live in a tropical place and in the summer we usually have the AC on.

howdy @goldendawne! this was a great post. I didn't know that you could make your own high quality hand lotion but it has to be far superior to store bought products. Thanks for sharing!

I hate all the chemicals in store-bought health and beauty aids so I try to make as many more natural ones myself.
I haven't bought deodorant in years... make my own too. Plus so many other items

oh my gosh, I didn't know that you could make your own deodorant! and it works?
aren't there health and beauty products without the chemicals since organic and clean
is all the rage now? do you have a post about the deodorant? thanks so much and for
such practical information that you are providing, this platform amazes me,I'm 17 days
old, and thanks for the reco on @thefarmerswife. I lived in KY for 4 yrs, one of the best
places ever, loved the people! thanks you are one of the very best!

I have learned so many new skills and made so many new home products from reading others' posts on this platform- plus it REALLY motivates me... here is my link to my deodorant- it's from six months ago but it's the one I use
https://steemit.com/homesteading/@goldendawne/mmmmm-what-s-that-smell-homemade-ylang-ylang-deodorant

thanks so much for the link and for getting back to me @goldendawne!
God bless you and yours!

I bet that also smells really nice, especially with the tea tree oil mixed in. Are there other ways of blending it? I would think that those scents might stick in the food processor.

I have one food processor I use for making lotions and other things; plus a second one for cooking.

I imagine you could do it by hand; once the coconut oil gets warmed up it blends pretty easy.

Cool! Ive made lots of homemade lotion, but never with oatmeal. Ill have to give it a try! ♥

My mom's doctor said for her to buy an oatmeal and lanolin-like based lotion and the one he recommended was almost $10 for a medium sized bottle. Both my parents are retired and on a fixed income... so I told her to wait last week and made this homemade recipe instead.

Homemade with fresh ingredients is unbeatable for quality and effectiveness 💛💚

Oh absolutely! I am steering further and further away from store bought items.

Great, I bet she loved it! And there are no toxic chemicals in there either, just natural goodness. ♥

She's been using it every day so far... I told her to give it at least a week or so to see an improvement.

Wow!! That sounds like a spa lotion! Thank you for such kind words!! Those are amazing compliments from one of the best steemit ladies I know!

You're welcome!! I always enjoy reading (and watching the videos in) your posts!
It's just so weird that you made that video with recipe when I was in a quandary about how to use up some Aloe I had.

Very cool lotion recipe! I don't usually use a lot of coconut oil in my recipes as it dries me out. I tend to go with shea butter :)
And I've never used cucumber or oatmeal either... always learning new things to try!

Oh I imagine you can use shea butter too! I had some shea butter but not quite enough to use, maybe I can use it another time to change up the recipe.

Ooh nice! Looking forward to see more of your new hand lotion receipe!

I'm hoping to make some more, as this recipe only made four jelly jar sized containers. I was experimenting with this batch.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64555.14
ETH 3086.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85