Aloe

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

7c47b051-1e55-4366-9b80-ee788e82ea49.jpeg


This is me with my Aloe Vera plants - my thorny, stinky, sleazy saviors!

Everyday I use Aloe Vera from my garden to make a simple and effective face and body moisturizer. Luckily I have so many Aloe planted that I'm not in danger of running out of them any time soon.

My routine is simple - every mourning after washing my face or after any shower, instead of using chemical moisturizing products, I only use 3 ingredients - Aloe Vera gel (fresh from a leaf), Vitamin E Oil and Raw Shea Butter. I mix equal portions of each and apply the mixture all over myself... This can be especially useful for people with a light skin who like being in the sun a lot - all you outdoorsy, homesteady and sailing people out there - like myself.

The Benefits:

  • Aloe has regenerative properties and can repair damaged skin cells and heal burns. However, some damages are settle and take a long time to show... So by using Aloe on a regular basis, I help my skin restore itself, even when it seems OK anyway.

  • Vitamin E is an antioxidant that helps neutralize free radicals, which damage skin cells and cause it to age. Also it helps keep Aloe from drying and forming a thin film on your skin that can feel irritating after a while. So I always use some oil when I apply Aloe.

  • Raw Shea Butter pretty much locks moisture onto the skin, keeping skin cells moist and elastic - which helps reduce wrinkles and blemishes.

I also do this exact routine after exfoliating my skin with another home-made mixture: Coffee/Brown sugar/Coconut Oil Scrub.

And in general, I try to not apply cosmetic products or makeup, even the ones that say "organic" and even "vegan". That is of courser my personal preference and I can't speak for anyone but myself. I know there are different skin types out there, and what works for me might not work for others... But, I thought I'd share with you my own approach, since there bound to be readers that have the same completion as me, who can benefit from these skincare tips.


Sourced from Pixabay

Of course Aloe benefits don't stop there, you can add it to your diet, and use it in hair masks, etc. So consider planting this miracle plant where you live and see it grow fast! When I finally live-aboard a sailboat, I will try to bring some potted Aloe with me - they seem to thrive in most conditions.

much aLOe VE!


Helpienaut post banner 02-01a.png

^^ http://steemit.com/@helpie ^^

^^ http://steemit.com/@knot ^^


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web

Sort:  

I can use aloe topic on my skin but I am allergic if I drink it, I like their flowers too.

Thank you for bringing that up @yidneth, i actually forgot to mention that Aloe can be an allergenic too.
Luckily you can still use it for the skin, which i think is where you can see most benefits from the plant anyway - there are a lot of beneficial things that we can eat, bot not a lot of them can be applied topically.

I cannot touch for example the skin of zuchinni my skin peels bit I love to eat them. Aloe have not tried pure, on cosmetics I feel fine, but once I drank juice as recommended by my father and yes, try first. Lol we should with everything anyway.

We have a local drink thats made using aloe... it cleanses toxins from your body.. Any kind of stomach related problems solution.. i know i sound like a snakeoil salesman..but its very true..

Trader Joe's sells a very good tasting Aloe Vera juice in gallon containers. Unlike some other Aloe drinks I have tried, it is really refreshing to drink. I find it quickly alleviates any intestinal issues I may have, as well as making stiff joints less creaky. I also swish it around in my teeth before swallowing, as it has anti- bacterial qualities.

that's interesting, I didn't know that aloe has such positive effect on bones. Thank you for sharing!

LOL, that's why you always have to state, that it works for you, but may not work for others. 😉
but i don't think its a secret that Aloe has some incredible health properties... it's just that most people forget about it even existing.
Thank you for your comment :)

Hey!!Not everything works for everyone.. thats not my fault.. but true though.. aloes properties help if you turn it into a habit..

love following your blog.. cheers

useful information for facial care, I have a lot of aloe vera plant at home, I usually use it for hair growth and to blacken it, I am impressed @ankapolo, success is always for you @ankapolo,visit my account.

˙ʞɹoʍ ʇuoʍ ʇᴉ ɹo sᴉɥʇ oʇuᴉ ʇɹoɟɟǝ ǝɹoɯ ʇnd ˙ɹǝʇʇǝq op uɐɔ noʎ

Oh yes, very good for hair! but it also need to be used with some oils to prevent Aloe from drying and causing breakage to the hair shaft. Thank you for your comment! Wishing you also the best.

I know that english is not your first language, so I really appreciate that you made an effort to reach out, and I will visit your account, but I also read your other comments and want to recommend that you don't say "visit my account" so often (or so mechanically), because then it become too obvious that your real reason to commenting is to ask people to follow you. This is of course what we all want, but we also want to make genuine, LASTING connections, not just accumulate numbers in our 'following' stats. Trust me, it will help you grow better on Steemit. Best!

The sabila, so called in my country, venezuela, we also use it for many things, believe me for too many, we apply it in shampoos, aloe bath soaps, until we eat the transparent part in fasting, as they say it is good for digestion of the day.

nice! thank you for sharing, i learned a new word too!

take a quarter of the leaf.. peel the skin. take a blender and then blend it with water.. but at first it will be very tough for you.. it has a very strong bitter taste.. we use molasses to dull taste..

yeah, good call, a blender can really make Aloe easier to mix with other stuff.

Sure!
Take 1 table-spoon of Vitamin E,
1 table-spoon of Shea butter,
and Aloe jelly scraped from the leaf (with the same spoon 😁).
Mix all the ingredients together thoroughly and massage into your skin (face and body).

You really made it easier for me.. As i saw a post with a picture of aloe and your name @ankapolo i thought i can add a comment that adds value..( not for the upvote.. i promise not for the upvote 'sigh') but then this guy asked for the recipe.. i mean what do i know about how to make Aloevera drinks.. i just pay for it.. and then god sent you.. thank you..😁😁😁

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord
If you would like to opt out of receiving comments reply with STOP

I love aloe vera juice. The pulp is my favorite. Great info.
Joy

thanks sweetjoy, 🌱

Hi. Beautiful picture. I saw that you managed to have the pictures separated from you written content on steemit. May i ask you how you do it?

Very nice shot! I really like it. I saw that you managed to separate your pictures from you content on steemit. May I ask you how you do post on steepshot but not automatically on steemit? Your answer would be very helpful to me.

Thank you! yes i sometimes use Steepshot to post, when i just have a picture to share... but in this case, after i posted the photo, i thought i should write about the Aloe, so I went and edited it through Steemit - where i added all the text, and more imagery.

When you use Steepshot you can only upload one image per post. But when you go to that post on Steemit or some of the other platforms, you can edit and add more stuff.

I hope this helps :)

Thank you. Did you find a way to only post to steepshot without posting it to steemit?
I would love to use the steepshot profile only for pictures and the steemit profile for written content.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64104.40
ETH 3148.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25