Better late than never!!!

We've been working alot of hours at our day jobs, and hasn't left much time to work on the homestead. But we got some thing planted.....finally 😂!!

20190608_103430.jpg

A few herbs, some strawberries, and cantelope in some repurposed barrels. Just a few holes in the bottom for drainage and you're set! My dear wife even got me a dwarf orange tree, I've always wanted to have my own citrus trees!

20190608_103329.jpg

When we first moved here, we got a couple truck beds of sawdust, coffee grounds from a local shop, our animal bedding, and "liquid gold" from our diverting compost toilet to male a massive pile of compost. After letting it sit for about 2 years, we used it for the garden beds, and while digging, we found some baby hickory saplings growing in the pile. We know the compost is doing its job!! 😁

20190608_103531.jpg

It was a very productive day, and more will be planted this week. I feel great having done this much so far, and can't wait for my first harvests. Be well steemians!!

TIBLogo

Sort:  

Someday I will do this. I would love to have this in my house so I will save some money.

Posted using Partiko Android

the orange tree looking great!
that's been aa great struggle for us, we have tried for years growing lemon and lime. seems we will get a tree to around 3 years old then for one reason or the other it dies. this spring the lime kicked the bucket, and its always heartbreaking but we never give up !!
I want some homemade lemons for my vodka dammit !!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.39
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70118.22
ETH 3546.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.89