I received a parcel post package from @papa-pepper!

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

34345998_789930937868277_8884450974911954944_n.jpg

Not too long ago, @papa-pepper passed through our area in the Ozarks and we made a great trade. I had a good sized flock of Coturnix Quail that I wanted to trade out for another animal on the homestead. @papa-pepper gave me a ring and said that he had some rabbits to trade, and had been wanting to add quail to his homestead, so a deal was made!

Yesterday, when checking the mail, I noticed I had a package from @papa-pepper. I had been expecting a package from him based on a conversation we had about caring for the rabbits, and he had just the thing to help make caring for them easier:

33995323_789930834534954_9157574529449459712_n.jpg

Watering Nipples!!

He gave a great piece of advice that having a watering system set up for them will make things easier for me, and I couldn't agree more. Since we got them, we have been filling basic water bottles up almost every day. They aren't the best water bottles either, and leak often from their spout. These watering nipples will provide a much better solution to their water setup. I also ordered some watering cups for my quail, so I could set up their own water system as well.

34089693_789930827868288_4285725462681878528_n.jpg

Now that I have a means to provide them water, I am going to need a container to hold a bulk amount of water. Something that isnt too big (water gets heavy!) yet can hold enough water to care for all the quail and rabbits in one go. Luckily, I have great neighbors, the yeti from @freedompoint and his kick-@$$ wife Stacie D with @freedomtowrite. While they were living the high life and rubbing elbows with the elite at a Steemit meetup in Nashville recently, they had asked me to care for their chickens while they were away. I was always glad to help out and I knew that they would appreciate it. When they got back from their trip, they left a surprise for me on my porch while I was at work one day:

34112585_789931201201584_7893595182136819712_n.jpg

A 15 gallon barrel with a lid!!

I had been needing something like this! I had a few small barrels, but they only had a small opening, and no way for me to get inside to attach a bulkhead fitting for a watering system. With this baby, I have a way to do it and can seal it up tight to keep out debris!

I truly feel blessed to have met such great friends and neighbors since moving to the Ozarks. We care for each other and in turn receive care ourselves. It's a great way to live your life and build a community of great people around you. Homesteading depends on helping each other more than anything else. Homesteads succeed because of their community and devotion to each others success. I cant thank @freedompoint, @freedomtowrite, and @papa-pepper enough for their gifts. I have everything I need to build this watering system, and with the help of @borrowedearth's husband, we will be building a Quail and Rabbit barn for this to be installed. I am truly humbled to have such great friends and neighbors. Thank you all so much!

Have a great day, thank you for stopping by and Steem on Steemians!!

http://www.homesteaders-online.com/

SB-Marvel-Family.gif

Sort:  

I am loving how supportive our Local Ozark homesteading community is!

I can't wait to see your dreams become reality... Its been fun in the planning so far.

I agree! Thank you and your family for all youve helped and taught!

Gotta get your mail out this week!

Ahhhh! I just saw this! So glad it was on my feed. I'm so happy you have new things all over the place to help make things happen!

Thank you for sharing your content with #theluvbug :)

This post has received a 100% upvote and a resteem. Be sure to share the news of @theluvbug with your blogging buddies - and remember to keep a look out for our daily posts where you can share your links :)

I AM

header.jpg

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of INSPIRING, MOTIVATIONAL & POSITIVE Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

......

FOLLOW ME ON TWITTER

WHAT a great barter you both got!
I saw papapepper's post the other day about pickled quail eggs... now I know where they came from

Yep! Those are the ones! He and his family really seem to be enjoying them. It was too many eggs for just my wife and I, but it seems perfect for his clan! I love the value of trade!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66579.21
ETH 3282.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.30