Homestead update. Hens and chicken coop

in #homesteading5 years ago

Even though I've been a homesteader for 4 years (I lived in the city before), I didn't had any pets, except for the dog.

So my wife and I decided to have chickens. From an economic point of view, it is not very profitable action, because according to our calculations, one chicken at the current cost of eggs and feed in stores will pay off no earlier than a year later, but we still decided to take the risk.

As I said, I have no experience in this case at all, but that rarely stops me. Having estimated our needs, we decided to buy no more than 3 chickens for start. It is desirable that at least one of them has laid eggs. Budget - no more than $5 per chicken (which is very cheap in our area)

While my wife began to study the ads for the sale of chickens, I took up the chicken coop.

1.jpg

I decided to stop on a small A-frame option. As a material , as usual, garbage.

2.jpg

Because the material was quite heterogeneous and not the best quality, it turned out a little crooked, but for the chicken coop will go.

4.jpg

I haven't had time to paint the frame as ....

3.jpg

Voila and we already have 3 hens

5.jpg

I think for now I became a real homesteader :) Four kids, three hens, two ponds, two houses, one wife, one dog and one acre of land. Not much, but it's just a beginning :)

Sort:  

Congratulations @astrizak! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 7000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 8000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64664.11
ETH 3166.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11