Hooray, hens are working. The first eggs

in #homesteading5 years ago

You can congratulate me on a great start. My hens laid the first eggs.

1.jpg

But before that, they made me a little nervous. After the move they had a little stress and they sat huddled in the corner of the chicken coop. The next day, they began to examine the coop, but they did not climb into the nest.

I made it upstairs and even personally prepared the nests, but for some reason the chickens did not want to go there. And one of the hens laid an egg right where she went.

2.jpg

I decided that they did not like the nest or they were afraid. Therefore, urgently decided to knock out another house and attach it to the chicken coop.

3.jpg

But when the house was ready, it turned out that I was in vain worried.

4.jpg

First, one of the hens climbed into the nest and settled there, then the second, and now they sleep there three together and lay eggs in the same place.

On the advice of my readers, I organized a small courtyard for "free" walking of chickens. So far I have made everything from scrap materials, but this is temporary.

5.jpg

In the near future I will organize a full-fledged bird yard. Hens looks quite happy now, because a week ago they even had no place to pinch grass.

Sort:  

Having a few hens to lay eggs is always enjoyable. I'm glad your hens decided to use the nest boxes, that certainly makes it easier to gather the eggs every day.

Yes, it's really enjoyable. While I was writing this post they laid one more egg.

Always lovely to see hens scratching in the grass... and it gives you such healthy, yummier eggs too. Congrats on the henhouse! Looking good.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70753.86
ETH 3589.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75