Today's lesson : Don't throw bird seeds on the lawn

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

A few months ago I decided to feed the birds some seeds. At first I fed them on the deck, then it got too crazy with 10 plus cockatoos chewing everything and making a racket so I moved them to the lawn and then it rained and long story short this happened.

image

I was hoping it was corn @gohba.handrcrafts said it was nut grass and to pull it out. Fast forward months later I'm finally getting to it.

Right to the end I was hoping it was corn, but it's been on my mind and thought I'd dig one up to see if it was corn.

I mean when I pull it out it should be a corn kernel at the end if it's corn right?

image

It's not corn 😭🤬

🤬🤬 Gohba was right... 🙈

As bad as it looks it really wasn't that big a deal. Especially when you wet the soil before you start digging. I found this makes it easier to dig the soil and pull the weeds out.

image

Before you know it. She's all done!

The lawn might be a bit patchy over here but it's patchy everywhere and the whole lot will need to be levelled out anyway. At last this way I know I got every single one of those out and I hope that's that ~ I did throw a lot of seeds out that way.

image

Ahhh much much better.

That's it for my housework today and now it's time to unwind. I hope you're all having a great weekend so far!

❤ Arly

Sort:  

Hi @bearone. A good lesson, Thank you for sharing the learning and the advice. Great weekend!

eh many of you humans are very silly with your obessesion of narrow band spectrum of beauty including your yards.....

Eh.. many of you morons think they know whats going on and its ok to write these idiotic comments. Get off your high horse and go away.

a mistakes and learned from it.. that's a clever story mom's... so what is that plant or crop? or just an ordinary grass..

It was a weed! 😭

Can't believe they didn't snatch 'em all up. I love me some seed.
Maybe if you have any spare you can just leave them on the couch for me :)

I cant believe it either. They were very picky!
Lol how about I put it in a bowl for ya and you can sit down and have dinner with us.

Hi @bearone Excellent your post. It’s a common occurrence.

While bird feeders are designed to beautify your yard by bringing in ebullient birds, spilled bird seed can be destroy your lawn and make the place look like a mess. Fortunately, the solutions for stopping a lot of bird seed from spilling out of the bird feeder onto your lawn are easy.

Believe it or not, the main reason so much bird seed falls out of feeder is because birds are naturally messy eaters. It’s hard to blame them considering they don’t have any hands or a real jaw. So, in order to stop the birds from making a mess, employ the same tactic you would when trying to prevent a baby from getting food on its clothes, create a buffer. You can do this by attaching a bird-seed catcher to your feeder, which does exactly what its name implies; it catches the bird seed before it hits the ground. Depending on the type of catcher you get, sometimes birds will even eat off of that.

Have a wonderful Sunday
A hug

Great advice and thank you!

We dont have a bird feeder and I basically put the seeds in a bowl on the lawn and thats how all this started :D

I havent fed them seeds in a long time but were in the process of turning the yard into a food forest and the birds help themselves to the organic veggie garden and fruits now so no need for the bird feeder.

Hi @bearone Thank you very much. We all wish you the very best in the future.

You have worked hard on your garden and it looks lovely. My advice would be to keep it simple with regards to the feeding and maximise the opportunities for birds to use your garden for shelter, after all, food is just one of their essential needs.

Food forests are a proven concept. Yes, they’re up and running around the world, and they even work in urban areas. In terms of function, being a living ecosystem gives it properties and attributes that are not present in agricultural systems and many gardens.

Nature is referred to as ‘Mother Nature’ for a reason, it’s what mothered us; that is fed, clothed and sheltered us for most of our relatively short existence on this planet. Somewhere along the line, we lost our reverence for Nature, our belief in the connection to all living things, and our sense of harmony with our surroundings.

A food forest my not necessarily have all seven layers, but it does have multiple layers, and even more importantly, it is a virtually self-sustaining living ecosystem.

Have a happy day
A big hug

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62062.59
ETH 3002.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77