What is wrong with my hen? - moulting

I do feel that my second only post on Steemit should be introducing myself in a little more detail than in my first ever #introduceyourself post. However I have received several emails today from new chicken owners via my webpage Bellecross Hens asking the same question -"What is wrong with my hen? "
4625265.jpg

Moulting - it's that time of year again when the poultry houses are covered in feathers and the birds are wandering around 'oven ready'

MOULTING:

All birds go through an annual moult. A time when old feathers are lost and new feathers re grow. To see it for the first time can be quite alarming.

The first sign your birds are beginning to moult is usually a drop in egg production as they will need all their energy and reserves to grow new feathers, especially protein. So despite the lack of eggs ensure you feed your birds a good quality feed of at least 16% protein at this time.

You will also notice their combs turn pale and shrink, however during the moult your birds should behave normally so if they look hunched up, quiet and out of sorts they may well have other health issues.
The replacement feathers will be full of blood as they grow, so if you keep your birds in a fairly confined area be aware of possible feather pecking. Also for them handling at this time can be quite uncomfortable

The most obvious sign, of course, is feather loss. For some birds this appears to be minimal (even though all birds loose the same amount of feathers, in the same order of loss) for others it is quite dramatic and they can wander around for what seems like forever looking 'oven ready'. Most birds however lie somewhere between the two. Before long they will all look a picture of health again and once the days grow longer they will come back into lay.
4825543.jpg

Sort:  

My gorgeous Black Copper Marans looks horrible right now! I keep saying in my videos, no we didn't have a predator attack, lol!

I've just bought 3 French Black Copper Maran pullets and a cockerel - really looking forward to their eggs and hopefully chicks next year

Congratulations @bellecrosshens, this post is the seventh most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 3806 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1020.74. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Awesome! This seems like a brand new account so I'm sending you my support. Have one upvote on the house and maybe upvote some of my stuff too!
Getting those big upvotes on a new account can be a daunting task, believe me, so my advice would be to give @MinnowPowerUp a go as you can earn up to 30% more steem power than just powering up! It's a subscription based daily upvote bot that draws its power from a delegation pool. I made this post to explain the system in more depth and show how I earn over $1 a day in upvotes.

We've certainly heard that question asked before!

Wow I didn't even know they molt!
I guess that in a way proves they have a common ancestor with lizards. Chickens are the dinosaurs of our time 😀

They really are so like mini dinosaurs

Congratulations @bellecrosshens! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I was always raking up the feathers during moulting season and trying to figure out what to do with them.

They compost ok, but Ive found that by running them through my biochar rig, they make wonderful char for gardening.

Hello, welcome to Steemit. Heartily welcome to you.
We will learn and grow together.
I am new here and I know the fact that it is very tough for a new user to get upvotes. So let's support each other and make Steemit a better place.

Please follow me @arnav1216
and
upvote my introduction-
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@arnav1216/helllo-steemians-my-little-introduction

Thank you,

Yeah, some of my girls look like feather dusters right now. And I had another who tended to moulted all one time, so you'd let her out in the morning, she run into the yard, shake and BAM cloud of feathers!

It always makes me smile when they shake leaving a cloud of feathers in their wake

very nice post! i love the pictures! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14