2 Minutes with the Farmer: Broken on the Farm!!!

in #homesteading6 years ago


Today on 2 Minutes with the Farmer we are talking about broken things here on the farm. We had the bushhog break today which is a very bad thing for us on the farm. Instead of taking 3 minutes to cut the weeds in a small pen with the bushhog, we had to cut it by hand. Needles to say it took longer than 3 minutes.

Thank you for spending 2 minutes with me!
@bowentroyer


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

We don't realize how much we depend on some of our machinery until it is broken and can't be used. We use weed whackers here because we don't have a big enough area to maneuver a tractor around (lots of trees). When our weed whackers are out of commission use the old standby, the trusty old machete. It gets the job done, just takes forever in a day!

Machete now that is work;)

Oh, that is not good :0 Time to bust out the welder.
Look on the bright side, at least you where not trying to bale hay ;)
Could you disconnect the driveshaft, fold that one wing up, and finish with just the two blades?

That is a good idea wish I would of thought of that.

Glad I could help.
Oh I meant to ask how do you like that saw blade on your weed-wacker?

Hope you fix it soon. Lots of grass is waiting to be cut. 😊

Always nice when dtube works...but sorry to hear about the hog!!! Hopefully it will be under warranty!

So first I’m thinking, what’s a bushhog? Then I saw it. We have one like that. We just call it a mower. Is bushhog the brand name?
I’ve never seen a weedwacker like that before! I’ve only seen ones with string. Hey, could be worse. You could be using a scythe. Although, I think it’d be pretty handy to have one of them.

Bush hogging is a brand but here in KY everyone calls a tractor mower a bush hog. Yes it could be a lot worse.

ha! oh that's not funny is it? cause now you gotta do it almost by hand. haha! almost like Green Acres.
what if the bush hog ain't under warranty? try to have it welded or replace that whole deck?

Think we will have to replace while deck. Hope it for under warranty

yes sir me too, although why I care I don't know! lol. that's just what your posts do, they get people involved.
hey can you unhook the broken one and still use the others like hhayweaver suggested?

Yes we could just unhook the one side. The dealer is supposed to pick it up soon. So we will see

Oh no, that doesn't look good, hopefully its an easy fix? (I know it probably isn't, they never seem to be when we need something fixed here. :D) LOL. :D
You're right though, things just happen like that sometimes, you got roll with it and figure a way around it, thankfully you seem to have that ability. :D
God bless you and your wonderful family. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

You're most welcome my friend! :D

What a shame about your bush hog!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63851.10
ETH 3059.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85