2 Minutes with the Farmer: Building Fence to Save Money!!!

in #homesteading5 years ago


Today on 2 Minutes with the Farmer join me as I build some fence and save some money. Here on our farm in central Kentucky every day we can graze our cattle on grass and not feed them hay going into the winter is a day we save money. It cost about $70 a day to feed hay to our cattle herd. Today we fenced in some low land down by the creek to gain about 4 more grazing days in the year.

Thank you for spending 2 minutes with me!
@bowentroyer


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

It’s a simple fence, but still you probably need some time to build it. If building fence can you save money, you should build more. Don’t you think so?

It takes some time. I just need more land to build more fences on. Thank you for watching!!!

howdy Farmer! why won't it be 4 more grazing days this year?
hey those fence posts are slick! wire goes right through the hole in the fence, wow, never saw that design before, no need for insulators. huge time saver, money saver and efficient.

I wondered how much your hay cost you.

Some years are cheaper than other

Great job on your fence line. :D Our grass didn't grow as well as we were expecting it to this spring/summer/fall and hay seems to be scarce already, so we're a bit worried about out herd getting enough feed, we may have to sell off or butcher a couple of them if we don't find a reliable hay supply for the winter. That will make my handsome husband sad so I'm hoping we find a good supply soon. :D
God bless you and your wonderful family. :D Have an awesome day my fabulous friend! :D

I hope you can find some good hay as well. Some years it can be tricky getting good hay.

Thank you my friend. :D Yes some years its very hard, I'm always nervous when we have difficulty finding hay this early, that bodes poorly for our winter supply, but we're still hopeful. :D

That's some good looking grass!

Using the electric fence I see. Does the sycamore post hold up pretty well? We buy used green treat for the most part.

The post are black locust. They hold up really well and the price is right free;)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 62441.28
ETH 3020.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79