My Homesteading Bucket List Includes Legacy, Rare Breeds and House-Building. What about yours?

in #homesteading7 years ago


Inspired by @kiaraantonviche and the #homesteadingchallenge, I've spent a few hours today thinking about my 'bucket list'. You know...that list of things, wishes, you'd like to achieve before you meet your maker. To be fair, if I was asked to roll off a few hopes and dreams, MOST would probably be something to do with homesteading anyway. But here, I'm going to really focus on that smallholding life and share a few aspirations I have before I'm wrapped in a shroud, rolled into the ground and have a tree popped over the top of me.

1. COWS

077.JPG

Oh, how I love cows. I've never owned a cow. I've never really handled a cow other than stroking them at agricultural shows (that counts as handling experience, right?) But I just adore them. The way they stand chewing the cud. Their inquisitive nature. The statuesque figures and size. From dinky Dexters and milk-laden Holsteins to meaty Limousins and hairy Highlands, I love them all.

I'm likely to acquire a large variety of animals over the years for my homestead, but at the top of the list is cows. Plans are already whirring in my mind - get two suckling calf heifers, rear them for 18 months to get experience, inseminate and then...we're off! I would love to have a pure breed, show stock line of cows some day.

2. BUILD A HOUSE

This old barn is the only remaining building on the land passed down to me by my granddad. It is, therefore, the perfect site on which to build a farmhouse.

IMG_10254.JPG

Currently, if I were to keep livestock on the land (which I intend to start doing in the next few years) I'd have to rent or buy a house within commuting distance. But, honestly, not only is that tiring for everyone, but can put livestock at risk as you're not on-site.

So, the dream is to build a house. It's fair to say I'm pretty much obsessed with homebuild shows - Grand Designs, Homes for 100K, Amazing Spaces: I watch them all. I've even got rough architectural plans sketched up. But to build my own house on my own patch of Earth would be heaven.

3. RESTORE ANCIENT FARMLAND

The 40 acres of land coming my way is not in the best state. My granddad worked it until he died in his 80s. You can imagine that it was too much for him by then. Over the past two decades, though we have a tenant farmer, the land has suffered, and so it's become a dream to restore it for several purposes.

  • To become a working farm
    At the moment the land isn't in a sufficient state to be farmed. It needs trees felling, hedgerows laying, fertility put back into the soil and ditches to be cleared. To have this land worked and farmed once again would not only continue by grandparents legacy, but offer new life for the area.


    Grandad & Gtgrandad Gilbert2.JPG
    Carry on the work of my ancestors by restoring and working the land.


  • Conservation
    I'm big into conservation. Many of the farms around us have ripped out hedgerows, filled in ponds and are now just arable wastelands. To me, that's pretty sacrilegious. I've planted a wildflower meadow, put up owl boxes, started a new English bluebell wood from scratch and am currently restoring some ancient ponds, and I want that work to continue.
  • Community
    Much of farming is about the community and I want to add to that with community events such as a yearly scything competition (for the wildflower meadow), a farm shop and participating in other local goings on.

4. Working with Rare Breeds
Many agricultural breeds have come and gone as large-scale commercial enterprises have started up and effectively wiped out specific breeds of sheep, cattle, chickens etc that weren't deemed efficient enough. One of my dreams is to put time and effort into helping some of these rare breeds; two in particular.

  • Ixworth Chickens
    Ixworth chickens are a dual purpose breed from Ixworth, Suffolk. They were put under pressure when the commercial industry favoured meat or egg birds instead of dual types. I've already started my small flock of Ixworth's in my back garden, with a quartet of rare breed chickens.
    019.jpg
    Eddie, my Ixworth cockerel
  • Red Poll Cattle
    Red Polls are another dual purpose breed put under pressure by local commercial firms trying to get the most efficiency possible from beasts. A cross resulting from a Norfolk and a Suffolk cow, these are beautiful, medium sized cattle with a gorgeous red hue. I'd love to develop a purebreed, show quality line of Red Polls, breeding top quality bulls and heifers to diversify the current gene pool.

071.JPG

5. Leaving a Legacy

Finally (and I could go on but I've tried to group smaller bucket list items into larger, longer goals), I'd like to leave a legacy to those in the community, and further afield, about the importance of supporting local farmers and knowing where your food comes from. Of kids (and many adults) having increased knowledge about self-sufficiency and reducing carbon footprints. Of the importance of conservation; not just of those big five like lions and giraffes abroad, but smaller species closer to home that are not only beautiful in their own right, but vital to the ecosystem.

If I can just encourage a few people to change their ways of thinking before I pop my clogs, I'll be a happy man!!

So that's my Homesteading Bucket List. Just a few things to work towards, eh?! What's yours?



THANKS FOR READING - PLEASE CONSIDER UPVOTING, RESTEEMING AND REPLYING BELOW

You can find me on YouTube, Facebook, Twitter and Patreon

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @brimwoodfarm to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To nominate this post for the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!

One day i want to have a working team of white yaks. They sre extremely rare but id love yo have exactly that! I dream of having them pull a wagon as we go into town for feed and supplies.

WOW! I haven't even heard of them - going to straight to Google. I would LOVE to see that dream come true; you'll be the talk of the town!

there is only one breeder in North America who sales them and run over 3k each! Maybe one day?

Wow! That's some investment. But, you know, when you have them there'll be TWO breeders. :D

Lol so true! But i think thats a few years off!

upvoted

Excellent article, I really enjoyed reading it! You have been entered into the competition! Thank you!

Thanks for the inspiration @kiaraantonoviche. It was fun to sit down, think about and write. :D

great list

Those are some interesting goals and good ideas. My favorite, besides "legacy," is the rare breeds. Many kinds of livestock have gone extinct in the past 100 years because of so many people eating the commercial varieties instead. Without small farms and homesteads raising heritage breeds, many of them will go extinct. Solid post!

Exactly. And for the small farmer or homesteader, those dual purpose breeds are actually better. Otherwise you've got to have a dairy cow and some steers, for example. There's also the argument that we're selective breeding things so much and taking it to the extreme that if something goes horribly wrong, there'd be no other heritage breeds to fall back on.

Thanks for reading :)

What a lovely post and you should be lauded for your dreams. Don't let it be a bucket list, let it be reality! Best wishes.

Thanks! I'm working towards it; started the conservation and restoring land aspect, and the rare breed chickens too. I'm not a very patient person, but I'll get there!

We used to say "Patience is a virtue, virtue is a Grace, Grace is a little girl who never washed her face." You're miles ahead! Good luck. JV

What a fantastic bucket list you have drafted! My grandfather ran 100 head of cows, so I have had plenty of experience in that realm, and as long as you don't mind being smashed occasionally and covered with manure, then you are good to go. Honestly though, I love cattle, they have the cutest noses!

I hope to read about all of your farm reclamation adventures on your blog! Over the last fifteen years my husband and I have done something similar here in Idaho. We bought a neglected homestead, rejuvenated it, experimented with a ton of different farm things from pastured poultry to lavender production, and built a house. It was a ton of work, but we love it, and I look forward to reading more of your excellent posts on the topic!

And those Ixworth Chickens are amazing! Dual-purpose, heritage breeds are amazing and totally worth saving! Thanks for sharing!

Wow! Your story sounds amazing and SO similar to my dreams. Gonna head on over to your blog too and have a read. I find it so rewarding to work on the land and bring it back into condition - whether that's for farming, conservation etc. I'm all up for hard work too, so that'll help :D

That hard work thing will definitely get you everywhere!

I am so looking forward to reading about your adventures of dream achievement.😊

Some very relatable goals! I hope you can move forward with them. The house build would be a great one, but probably very stressful!

Yes, I can imagine the house build being SUPER stressful, especially as we plan to live on site in a caravan whilst it's taking place so we can get the smallholding business started. Hopefully just being on the land (and maybe having some cows) will reduce my stress levels a little.

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowpond on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond

Congratulations @brimwoodfarm, this post is the third most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 2440 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $558.27. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.35
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70557.88
ETH 3560.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.75