I´ll offer cacao seeds by Homesteaders co-op to make chocolates at home.steemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)

Organic cacao crops are very common near my home. Then some days ago I obtained some cacao fruitings seeds like those in pic and did some experiments on how to obtain chocolates at home.

My experiment was like this:

  1. Extracted the seeds from the fruit, and washed the pulp out with water. Before this step I decided to try the pulp of two or thre seeds, finding suprisingly that it is so sweet, it has a mangostin like taste.
  2. Next the seeds were dried using a oven at 60 degrees celsious during 12 hours, obtaining a brittle cunchy textured seeds.
  3. The skin of the seeds was removed to obtain a bunch of toasted seeds like in this pic:

    This is just the product I want to offer through Homesteaders-co-op.
  4. The seeds were ground to obtain a powder like this:
  5. Again, the cacao powder was grounded by three times with sugar, using 10 g of sugar to 100 g of cacao. After this step we obtained a moldable paste, like this:

And done... we obtained a very yummy homemade chocolate. Just by think about it, my mouth is watering.

Ohhh. was forgeting to say that is difficult to find a natural product with bigger antioxidant flavonoids content than chocolate.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.



Are you creating a store on HSCO??? That's super cool!!!

Wow, I'm impressed - homemade chocolate from ABSOLUTE scratch - @thistlerock, talk about cool!

Hi @riverfows. I do not have created the store yet, but that’s a project I have in mind. Can you please give me some advises on how to start?

Thank you!!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85