How To Peel Tomatoes

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)

When the sauces, and salsas, and salads, and sandwiches are made what else can you do with your tomatoes? The truth is, tomatoes are a gardeners favourite and if your gardening is seasonal, like it is where we are, their bounty is short lived unless you choose to preserve.

Tomato Title

Some recipes call for the tomato skin to be removed but how does one go about peeling a tomato? It's simple really!

  1. Wash tomatoes

  2. Cut a small X on the bottom of the fruit

  3. Bring a large pot of water to a boil

  4. Carefully submerge your tomatoes into the boiling water

    Consider using a ladle to prevent the boiling water from splashing you

  5. Boil for one (1) minute

  6. Immediately move the tomatoes from the pot into a cold water bath

  7. Once the tomatoes have cooled enough to handle, peel the skin away

Tomato BathHere is my tomato bath on the left and my first peeled tomato on the right. I am a sucker for the beauty of those gorgeous red and orange tomatoes.

Be careful not to leave the tomatoes in the boiling water for too long otherwise they will become mushy and hard to handle. While you're waiting for your tomatoes to cool you may move on to another task but don't forget them too long or you may loose some flavour in the water bath.

Cups of Tomatoes

So why was I peeling tomatoes anyway? Stay tuned for a recipe to come!

All photos in this post are original work by Mrs. Canadian Renegade. Canadian renegade Logo imgJoin Us On Discord

Thanks for reading everyone! Please upvote, follow, and resteem to support this work. As always, comments are welcome.

Sort:  

Hey hey it's been a while!

Wow those are gorgeous tomatoes. We had an early winter so the tomato plants are gone now.

You making ketchup? :D I guess I'll wait on the next post.

Hi! Oh gosh, can you tell I am out of the swing of things, I completely forgot to watch for replies. Thanks, I thought they were pretty gorgeous too. This harvest and these photos were probably back in September but I just didn't have the time to post them. Honestly, the photos were a last minute idea too but I am glad I grabbed my camera. I actually made soup and I can't wait to share the recipe. Thanks so much for dropping in. -Aimee

Uhh can you tell I'm not that active either? :D I have tons of videos and pictures I just can't sit and get a post out without someone hollering for Mooommy.

Gosh, I'm sure your little ones aren't little anymore. Our youngest is always running and looking for trouble. At the same time, she's precious and sweet.

Ha ha! Sounds like we are in the same boat.

They're definitely still little but have definitely grown so much. And with that growth comes so much trouble. They want to climb everything, literally. Today I heard, "Mama, light!" And when I turned around they were both standing on the kitchen table trying to reach the hanging light above. Talk about kick starting my heart.

Well, I am glad we touched base again. Hopefully we will again but much sooner next time. 😌

-Aimee

Congratulations @canadianrenegade! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 24000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 63754.85
ETH 3055.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85