Sea Spikebush and Overwintered Plants

thornsI knew sea buckthorn had thorns but these are ridiculous!

As is my style lately, during the middle of last week I suddenly remembered that I had just over a dozen potted plants sitting in the ground out at my parents place that needed me to tend to them. The weather finally warmed up here in Alberta and the snow has been gone for about two weeks now. When these plants came to mind, I became worried that they may be too wet or too dry and I was eager to pull them out and make sure everything was ok.

Overwintering trees and shrubs by burying their pots in the ground is something I have been experimenting with for a couple of years now. So far, the results have been good. I had heard of people using this method before but with our extremely harsh winters I was skeptical with how well it would work. Sure, it works some places but would it work here?

This last winter was one of the longest coldest winters ever in Edmonton with 167 consecutive nights with temperatures falling below freezing. When people "joke" about 6 months of winter in Alberta they aren't really joking! So with that in mind, I was definitely eager to see how well these plants faired.

Anyway, I decided to head out to my parents place on the weekend for a brief stop to check on my potted plants and to see how the test plot was doing as well; I was curious if it had sustained anymore animal damage. The test plot has been plagued with animal related damage since it's inception. Whether it was the constant browsing by curious deer looking for a midnight snack or rampaging young steers completely leveling it, there always seems to be something setting back it's progress.

cattleThese young steers trampled the crap out of the test plot a couple of summers ago.

At first glance, the plot looked pretty normal with nothing major amiss. The comfrey, which is usually one of the first herbaceous plants to emerge in the spring, was starting to come up . The Saskatoon's and sea buckthorn were just starting to leaf out.

comfreyLeft: comfrey / Right: Saskatoon just starting to bud out.

That is when this extremely spikey sea buckthorn plant caught my eye. They are supposed to have thorns but this plant is down right ridiculous! It is covered top to bottom with massive thorns anywhere from one to four inches long! The crazy thing is that this plant wasn't always like this.

browseTypical browsing damage on my sea buckthorn plants.

This particular sea buckthorn is on the corner of the test plot and has been browsed more than the others. It appears as though, after getting eaten over and over and over again that it finally had enough and decided to ramp up it's defense mechanism by growing massive thorns. You know what, it worked! I did not observe any fresh browsing damage on this plant. I am now toying with the idea of cloning this freak plant to make a wall of thorns to keep animals and people out of parts of our new property! Haha...

thornstwoAnother look at the spikey sea buckthorn.

With the gawking out of the way, now was the time to check out the potted plants. I had three elms that I started from seed, five buffalo berry, five hardy grapes, and a willow that had rooted in a gutter that I decided to throw in a pot. From my observations, they had done well and the ground was neither saturated or dried out so they were likely at a good moisture content.

groundLeft: Potted plants tucked in for the winter. / Right: How they looked in the spring.

Upon further examination everything except the willow seems to have survived through the winter! This was a little surprising because I would have thought that the willow would be the most hardy, but maybe it didn't get a chance to put down an adequate root system before it got cold?

elmThese three elm trees were started from seed two years ago.

grapes and buffaloNot the best picture but you can see the buffalo berries in the top row and hardy grape vines on the bottom.

I am no expert at grapes, last year was the first year I tried growing them and I ended up leaving them in pots but it appears that they all survived and were just getting ready to leaf out. Time will tell how well they did. Hopefully I will be able to find a suitable location for them this year but if not they can always go back in the ground for one more winter. I suspect there will be a progress report on them sometime later this year. Last year, I even got three whole grapes off of one of the vines even though they were only a year old!


logo


Thanks for reading everyone! Please upvote, follow, and resteem to support this work. As always, comments are welcome.

Sort:  

planting trees in winter is not something I can imagine, I am amazed at you, the weather does not affect your activity

I was only able to put them in the ground because it was early winter and the ground was not yet frozen. But yeah we tough it out.

hopefully your plants can grow perfectly

winter is very scary so I imagine it, we are here if the cold air is very difficult to move,
but this is the gift of god to mankind

Winter isn't that scary. More of an annoyance! Haha...

Pas facile des hivets ausdi rudes !
J'espère que tout vos plant vont bien redémarrer !

Me too, I think most of them will be fine.

Those are wicked thorns!
I will have to talk to the hubby about this technic with berry bushes. Thanks!

I am not 100% sure if the deer pressure is the cause of the super thorns but it is the only thing I can think of. I guess it could be an experiment for you. Were you planning on planting sea buckthorn?

I was more thinking of raspberries and blueberries.
Does the sea buckthorn produce berries?

It does! I have an article on it. It might work for you. I think some of the varieties are good down to zone 2. What growing zone are you in?

Notice in the picture below the lack of massive thorns!
berries

Work There is an amazing, interacting with the plant has its own impression, as I always do in pamalo plantations, thank you, hopefully you are happy today

I am tired but otherwise happy. Thanks for stopping by.

Nice to see you grow more and more, but keep away the thorns from the gate :D. I grow more things the past week too.

I will remember that and try not to put them near where I drive or have to walk close by.

hahaha...you are always blessed with growing things. wish you all the best @canadianrenegade

I already have Sea Buckthorne seeds, but I am a little worried now, LOL. They look like a great way to grow vitamin C in colder climates. Placement has now become more important, thanks! I planted comfrey already, but as soon as it comes up, the deer eat it. Maybe I need the buckthorne around the comfrey?

Deer are suck a pain in the ass they seem to have the habit of munching on anything that is unusual at a much higher rate. Honestly I am not sure if using the sea buckthorn as a deterrent would work. So far it is just the one plant of mine that went crazy.

They are a PAIN! Depredation can put them in the crock pot.... :)

on steemit, anericanhomestead said that putting white grocery sacks that are tied on one end to blow around, immitates the "danger tail" signal enough to run them off!

I will try this before the crock pot, LOL!

I an fascinated by the sea buckthorne bush, I intend to have some; post more on it, please!

That is an interesting idea I may try it also. I will have to come up with something.

If you are interested in sea buckthorn you may want to check out this older post of mine then:

https://steemit.com/permaculture/@canadianrenegade/cold-climate-permaculture-plants-sea-buckthorn

Thanks, I will. I intend to have a patch on the new land! How much shade can they tolerate? I have a lot of oak trees to deal with out there.

You are in Oklahoma? These plants tolerate cold more then they do heat I think. You would probably want them in partial shade just to help keep them cool. One source I came across also said they need minimum 300 chill hours.

I don't think they would do well in full shade though.

The land is by a large lake, so it runs about 10 degrees cooler in the summer. Sandy soil and Keystone lake has a high salt concentration, but it is good fishing.

Partial shade is mostly what I have, the oak tree by the house is four feet in diameter. The land is about 50% trees and is dotted with oak and black walnut.

I think we are BOTH in trouble, the name "buckthorn" probably means that deer are partial to the berries! :(

The canto plant is good.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87