Wild Grown Bitter Melon

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)

20190709_083524.jpg

Nothing is better than foraging wild-grown delicious food, especially in your own garden.

They grow wild on their own with no energy input from you. Mother Nature takes care of them!

Wild grown bitter melon is such food for me! They started showing up voluntarily in my garden after I converted my yard from a grass lawn to a food forest. In the summer, I can harvest them every single day.

I eat them raw and they taste great, much less bitter flavor than those cultivated ones bought in stores. They have also been associated with several impressive health benefits, such as reducing blood sugar, having cancer-fighting properties, decreasing cholesterol levels, and aiding weight loss.

I picked these 7 today for lunch.

Sort:  

Wow! They look beautiful and i have never seen them here in UK.
You are definitely lucky to have them! Enjoy!

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

I've never encountered bitter melon before. I always imagined it to be much larger. That's interesting that it isn't as bitter when wild grown. I wonder if that's down to picking only at its ripest or due to a better, natural soil profile.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

*follow: @homesteaderscoop

Thank you @minismallholding!

Those cultivated bitter melon varieties are much larger because of genetic selection over the span of many generations just like wild wheat and wild corns were cultivated to become their much larger cousins today.

About the flavor, as you have observed, picking only at its ripest and a better, natural soil profile would definitely help!

Of course, like wild and cultivated blueberries. I like both, but I feel like the wild ones have probably got better nutrition levels.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28