A Small Batch Of Pear/Apple Butter

in #homesteading5 years ago

yummmmm, the house smells SO GOOD while cooking this delicious treat.

My trees didn't produce well this year but there was a small harvest. I ended up with about 8 usable pears from my trees, then my mom gave me a couple that she didn't use. They were all soft and needed to be used.

This small batch of "Pear / Apple Butter" will do just fine.

Ingredients:

8 medium pears
2 small apples
2 cups water
2 tablespoons lemon juice
1 tablespoon brown sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon ginger powder
1/2 teaspoon nutmeg

Process:

Cook all ingredients together at a low temperature to avoid scorching. Use stick blender to puree once fruit is soft, or transfer to a blender to puree, then return to the pot. Cook low and slow until the mixture is reduced to a velvety smooth buttery texture.

This can be served warm or cold on toast, in oatmeal, mixed into waffle batter or on top of ice cream. Enjoy some warm right after cooking to take pleasure in your efforts. Put the rest in the refrigerator to enjoy later. If your batch is too much to eat in a few weeks, then you can enjoy it throughout the year by canning it.



Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!



Sort:  

Greetings from Venezuela, friend @daddykirbs. I hope times and spirits have improved. This recipe looks delicious and I can already imagine the aromas that permeate the house. At some point I can get these fruits in my country I will make this recipe. Greetings, a hug.

I make pear sauce as I can't eat apples. I never sweeten it, but do added cinnamon, allspice, and vanilla. And you are right! The house smells delicious the whole time!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64271.38
ETH 3157.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.25