The Old School Hand Saw - Better Than A Power Saw?

in #homesteading6 years ago

I have to admit. I like short cuts when it comes to tools. Power tools are my go to for everything! I don't even have a collection of old style hand tools to speak of. Sure I admire the classic work bench with all the wood working tools in perfect order. That's a dream. My style, right now in this stage of life is more "just get-r-done". It's too crazy busy all around me all the time to have that orderly collection of classic tools.

However! This time... with this project, I was reminded that the old school tools are important to have around because they may be just the right tool to get something some simply and quickly.

Two of the 6x6 fence posts on my horse fence were too tall once installed. I marked the line to cut them down and ran my circular saw all the way around the post, BUT it wouldn't go deep enough.

The post was hanging on by just a little bit!

Yes I could have used a power reciprocating saw, but all my tools are in transition right now (I don't have a proper shop) so I couldn't find it. In this case I knew the simple hand saw was the right tool. Luckily for me my dad lives nearby and has one that I can borrow.

The hand saw did this job swiftly and perfectly!

Once I get a proper shop with a proper place for tools I do intend to start collecting old school type tools. Slowing down and learning to appreciate a simpler quieter method of living is a dream and a goal.

I would love to see your collection of old (style) tools!


Show pictures of your workbench and tool collection in the comments :)


My 5 Most Recent Posts

*for your upvoting pleasure*

daddykirbs blogHomesteading Selfie Challenge! - A Contest to GAIN FOLLOWERS!
daddykirbs blogOH DEER! - The Cutest Baby Deer Costume EVER!
daddykirbs blogGirl Scouts Visit the Daddykirbs Farm - a farm tour
daddykirbs blog🔴 Daddykirbs Live - An Indoor Edition (Brrr Outside!)
daddykirbs blogFree Mulch for the Homestead? - When Power Lines are Trimmed


Steemit-Homesteaders-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Gardeners-daddykirbs-small.pngsteemit-dads-daddykirbs-small.pngbeekeepers of steemit

If you want a badge (Homesteading, Gardening, Beekeepers, Woodworkers, Dads, Moms, Food Preservers) please submit $1SBD to @daddykirbs with a memo stating what it is for :)


Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Sort:  

This handsaw worked very precisely. You have great hands on it @daddykirbs

Sometimes there is just a little bump to make us slow down for just a minute. I love the old school woodworking tools.

The problem with the handsaw approach is that it's very hard to cut straight with it. Looks like you got the job done though!

an old carpenter I knew growing up showed me a trick to getting a straight cut. Mark your spot, start the cut then look at the reflection of the board in the blade. when the reflection is perfectly straight and looks like an extension of the board your cut will be perfectly straight.......Works every time

I love the old tools and they work when the power is out also!

Been Slowly Acquiring a New Tool with Every New Job it Seems and It's So Nice to Come to Do a Job and Realize How Efficiently it all Went Just Because we Happened to Have Everything Needed! Look Forward to Seeing the Finished Work @daddykirbs :)

Hand tools are definitely nice to have and once you get proficient not as slow as some people might think. This looks like it was the perfect application for a hand saw. A reciprocating saw would have been overkill.

Congratulations, your post received one of the top 10 most powerful upvotes in the last 12 hours. You received an upvote from @blocktrades valued at 67.22 SBD, based on the pending payout at the time the data was extracted.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, reply with the word "stop".

Over the last year I started switching back to real power tools where the power is generated by the user. Ripping long boards, cutting down trees, and building furniture, all done with an old timey handsaw and I'm loving it. No more worries about dead batteries or expensive tools to buy. I'm getting cleaner cuts both on the wood and my physical appearance. I feel better when I sweat to build something awesome!

I actually have a fair amount of hand tools scattered around the basement and greenhouse. I think I have 3 standard crosscut hand saws, and a rip tooth handsaw that I bought last spring at a flea market. I either need to find someone who sharpens saws, or learn how to do it myself. I also have a midsize miter box saw that gets a lot of use because it's still sharp.

Yes the manual tools gives a nice output but requires more time and energy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70744.80
ETH 3561.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.80