Guilty Pleasures- Homestead style!

in #homesteading6 years ago

This was brought to me by @borrowedearth!!

Howdy Homesteaders/Off-Gridders/ Alternative Aventurers of Steemit!

I want to chat for a minute about Guilty Pleasures!

Many of us Homesteading and choosing more Alternative lives have traded in what most people consider necessities for the chance of a different kind of life.

This trade-off trickles down into many of the details of our daily lives. Priorities shift.

I challenge my fellow Steemians to post about something that you consider to be a Guilty Pleasure... Especially if it is something that didn't used to bring about that "guilty" feeling.

Here's Mine!

source

It is the one thing that I feel so spoiled doing! Because I am off grid, I dont have the generator capacity to have a full size washing machine. Blankets and sheets are a chore. Yes i have tried many hand made machines, but ringing the water out of your clothes at -45°c is really hard on the hands. In the summer I can at least wring the sheets out on a tree.

Needless to say, a laundrymat is a huge blessing. Even when I have to arrange the ride there, pay for the use of the machines, and of course the gas to get there. Ahhhhh the guilty pleasure!!

This is what I use most of the time:

20180109_184816.png

Its Your Turn!!
What is your Guilty Pleasure?
What makes life on the homestead or wherever you are calling home manageable by keeping you sane, yet causes that bit of guilt to creep up along with the pleasure?

@carey-page would love to hear yours!!

Sort:  

Whoop whoop!! So excited to hear about your guilty pleasure.

I think the Laundromat is number two on my list! I have always loved laundry!

I have a little vacuum stick that i can run on solar, but when i get to bring or the dirt devil.... whoohooo!! Lol this was fun... will check out the other blogs!

Getting a ride anywhere is a luxury to me, because I've never owned a car. Likewise, eating out, because it's expensive (and often requires a car to get someplace you like). I think driving and eating out are pretty common American things.
I might also say "disposable menstrual products," because though I prefer a lot of things about using cloth pads, the washing them can feel like a smelly chore. I usually keep a few disposables on hand for emergencies, and one month Just Could Not Be Bothered, and I felt kinda guilty about it but was happy I didn't have to do the washing. 😂

There is a cup that you can use. You just rinse it out! I used to soak mine in salt water. Like I used to do the diapers.
Its amazing what we find as guilty pleasures!

I don't live on the land like you folks. Just out in the country a bit. The property I now am on was overgrown with weeds. My favorite tool is now the weed whacker.

But on a different note: I was thinking the other day how absolutely devastating it would be for all of us "moderns" if the power grid went down...permanently. I wonder how many would jump off of the nearest bridge because they no longer have cell phones. Millions I imagine.

I got a weed whacker this year!! Lucy! She eats everything! Even the trees! Lol

I was just having this same conversation with a very good friend of mine yesterday. In the summer they will die from heat stroke.. no air conditioning and winter.. freeze to death no heat. And starve to death with no water. It's kind of scary in a way.

Very scary... Many folks half joke we are the disaster plan!

Indeed! US congressional hearings estimated that if we were hit with a major X class solar flare, or with an EMP that 90% of the US population would perish within the first 12 months. And 90% of those deaths would occur within the first 2 months. Grim. Weather would be a big factor but even if it was nice moderate weather the biggest problems would be food, water, waste, disease and violence, in that order. Of course those dependent upon meds would be the first to go. But the biggest concern would be that I could no longer comment on posts and there would be great suffering throughout the world.

Hopefully we will all be telepathic by then!! Teleportation would be nice too! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.36
TRX 0.12
JST 0.040
BTC 70446.49
ETH 3571.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.73